We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arden Country House
Ranked #3 of 11 Linlithgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Arden House is a modern country house style property set in lovely woodland gardens. The rooms are large and the decor chic throughout. The fragrance of fresh flowers greets you everywhere! We stayed at Arden House from 26th May to 4th June in the Galloway Room, and Beth's attention to every detail made our stay a truly memorable one. On arrival we were invited to sit in the garden or the guest sitting room for tea and were treated to a wonderful selection of Beth's homemade cakes, all on silver service. The breakfast selection was way beyond our expectations, fresh fruit, nuts, cereals, and on each table a menu detailing the largest selection of cooked options we have every experienced. Nothing was too much trouble for Beth. Information relating to local eateries and places of interest was available in the guest sitting room, and if there was anything we wanted to know all we had to do was ask - from the best places to eat to the daily weather forecast. The house is ideally situated, about 2 miles from the historic town of Linlithgow, and you can walk alongside the nearby canal to the town, leisurely around 45 minutes. This is exceptional luxury 5-star B & B accommodation.

Room Tip: Our room was west facing and quiet, with a large bathroom en-suite. It was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichChris2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bj61, Owner at Arden Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Thank you so much for the lovely review. I am so glad that you enjoyed celebrating your 40th Wedding Anniversary at Arden Country House and that you had so much fun touring with your vintage car around the many historic houses, especially the House of Binns.

It was a pleasure meeting you both and being part of your Scottish experience . Hope to see you at Arden House for your 50th Anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2012

Our host, Beth, was simply the best! The house was gorgeous, our room was amazing with so many little details that made it better than anywhere else. We were welcomed with tea and cakes and biscuits that were all homemade. We did not expect that much! Also, I have to say that the breakfast was so good that I almost lost my man to Beth, he was ready to stay there and live with her!

Much recommended, and when we go back to Edinburgh, we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marieh222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bj61, Manager at Arden Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Our thanks to you all of the delightful review and for the gorgeous maple syrup which was absolutely delicious . It was a pleasure meeting everyone. Thank you for sharing the gorgeous pictures of your mum's new lake side home - an ideal house for B&B if I may suggest - the views are idyllic. Don's stunt work sounds amazing and we will look forward to viewing his website and reading of his new films and thank you for sharing the pictures of your home, your country and your lovely dog.

Hopefully we will get the opportunity to visit you gorgeous country one day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

The place was spotless with attention to every tiny detail. The bed was very comfortable and there was everything we needed. Breakfast was delicious with lots to choose from. Our hostess was really sweet and very helpful. She was spot on for what she recommended to do and not to do. She accommodated us when we showed up earlier than expected. And the little bag of home made Scottish tablet she gave us on the way out was the perfect final touch. It was a convenient location to both Edinburgh and Glasgow. Linlithgow was also a really cute town.

I would highly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bj61, Owner at Arden Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Thank you so much for the wonderful review, it is so kind of you to comment on your stay

It was a pleasure having you as our house guests and to hear of your daily trips to the surrounding area. I do hope that you had a wonderful time in Inverness and that you managed a visit to Dores, to enjoy the scenery and the lovely inn.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Arden Country House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We have just returned from a 6 night stay at Arden House, the best you could stay at. Beth is the
landlady of the year for scotland and deserves the title just bestowed on her. The attention to
detail is excellent. The breakfasts are to die for and nothing is too much trouble.The rooms are
superb and spotlessly clean, but it's Beth that makes it what it is ...excellent!!!!!

Room Tip: ther are no bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albinbraunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bj61, Owner at Arden Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

Thank you so much for the delightful review, it was an absolute pleasure having you all to stay, the only complaint was that your 6 days passed by so quickly. Many thanks for the gorgeous flowers.... so kind of you .
Wishing you a wonderful summer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My husband and I stayed for 6 nights. Beth was friendly and helpful, while the house and room were the probably the best i have seen in regards to cleanliness and freshness. Breakfast was fantastic and filled us both up until dinner. The only downside was a few issues with a 'fresh' bathroom towel being damp when we placed it on the floor prior to the shower, no spoon left for an evening cup of tea (which is a bit difficult to go down to the kitchen in your dressing gown) and items in the room being moved when the room was cleaned, i.e. bags moved from chairs, and items placed in drawers that we could then not find.
With a few minor tweaks this would be a truely perfect place to stay and i would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bj61, Owner at Arden Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Many thanks for you kind comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and it was a pleasure meeting you both. Thank you for commenting on the high standard of cleanliness however in order to maintain this level, it involves daily deep cleaning and during a 6 day stay , we require to move items from the floor and furniture to clean thoroughly . My apologies if this caused you any concern or distress. Fragile items such as phone cables are unplugged and placed in/on bedside cabinets to avoid damage when vacuuming . My apologies for the missing teaspoon on that one occasion. In accordance with our green tourism policy which is noted within our bedroom information book, the towels are replace every alternate day, unless specifically requested.

My thanks to you both for so kindly sharing your photographs on Glen Coe and for your generosity in providing the details on the course. Following your recommendation I have passed on the details to guests who are planning on travelling to Glen Coe.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Arden Country House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I stayed here on business a few months ago and was blown away by the luxury and top notch hospitality so was determined to visit again with my husband.
This trip certainly did not disappoint. We arrived to home cooked baking and tea and Beth was so friendly and helpful. The room was stunning...no expense spared in decorating, and little details like fresh flowers by the bed make all the difference.

The weather was stunning so we headed to the nearby lake with a takeaway from dhillons, which was also fantastic by the way.

5/5 rating from us.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Rosie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We have just returned from an overnight stay on Saturday. Arden House is in a beautiful quiet location yet handy and the rooms are first class with all the finishing touches you would expect in a 5* hotel. Home baking and tea when we arrived was a nice treat and the breakfast was exceptional, loads of choice, well cooked and presented with specials that you have to try.

Beth is a helpful and informative host and we hope to stay again when we are in the area

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DB_Coal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linlithgow
3.9 mi away
Champany Inn
Champany Inn
#1 of 2 in Linlithgow
187 reviews
1.6 mi away
West Port Hotel
West Port Hotel
#2 of 2 in Linlithgow
247 reviews
3.7 mi away
Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club
1.9 mi away
Court Residence
Court Residence
#1 of 11 in Linlithgow
331 reviews
2.1 mi away
Star & Garter Hotel
Star & Garter Hotel
#7 of 11 in Linlithgow
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden Country House

Address: Belsyde, Linlithgow EH49 6QE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Linlithgow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Linlithgow
Price Range: £82 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Arden Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multiple award winning 5 star B&B set in peaceful, picturesque country setting yet only minutes from the historic town of Linlithgow, birth place of Mary Queen of Scotts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Arden Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arden Hotel Linlithgow
Arden Country House Linlithgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing