We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arden Country House
Ranked #4 of 11 Linlithgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2010

Following our stay in 2009, my wife and I returned to Arden House for 3 nights in June 2010. Once again we were delighted with everything we found.

Our drive to Linlithgow took longer than anticipated but Beth had no problems with a later arrival and still had refreshments to welcome us on our arrival in the evening.

Beth was great at helping us out with ideas for places to see and as we intended to head into Glasgow her advice was invaluable as there is so much to see and do.

Breakfasts were excellent, our room was perfect. Arden House definitely deserves to be No1.

Will we go back? No doubt about it!

Thanks Beth - Steve & Diane

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveL58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
114
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

My husband and I first stayed at the Arden House in 2005 for the occasion of our son's wedding. We enjoyed it so much that we decided to revisit it on our last night in Scotland this past June. It was as wonderful the second time as it had been the first. The location is excellent - in our case this time it was just a short drive to our early morning flight home from Edinburgh airport. The house, while just a minute or two from town, is set in a rural area with fields and sheep seen from the upstairs rooms. The rooms are large with huge bathrooms and all are fresh with lovely decor. The breakfast is superb and the hospitality is warm and inviting. Linlithgow itself is a nice spot to visit with the castle and a Michelin starred restaurant (closed on Sundays.) You could not do better than the Arden House!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellots3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

I can see how other reviewers have raved about this place and everything they mention is correct and accurate - lovely rooms, fantastic breakfast and a very good host. However there are a few little aspects that did dampen my enthusiasm.
The first is that we were on the ground floor and you can certainly hear the people above you moving around and if they happen to get up(or come in) at odd times I wouldn't count on a good nights sleep. The other issue is the very tight advertised breakfast hours - ie from 7.45am to 8.45am(15 min later on weekends). Beth appears to accomodate some degree of lateness but for this type of establishment a later end time is needed. In short if you are an early riser and have an upstairs room dont go anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jimsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

Used trip advisor for feedback, but never actually wrote a review here until now. I had never had stayed in a BnB before and was a little skeptical in doing so since I was concerned about staying in someone elses home. Its not like that and I really enjoyed it. Beth's BnB (Arden House) was amazingly clean and in a beautiful area. The strole around her land and the area was almost something from a movie. It was beautiful. Beds were very comfortable, beds were almost sterile and the food was amazing. Full breakfast with all sorts of hot and cold items to choose from. Bacon, eggs, pancakes, all sorts of cereal and real belgium waffles that were the most amazing waffles I have ever had. All sorts of juices, and the list goes on and on. We only stayed one day and I wished we stayed there longer. During my travels thru Scotland and England for two weeks, this was by far the cleanest, most comfortable of all the BnB's we stayed in. The information that Beth provided was very helpful in getting around town as well as she was well stocked with maps and advice. She really paid close attention to little details.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tbiafore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2009

Our last night in Scotland was spent at Arden Country House near Edinburgh Airport. We were warmly welcomed by our hosts and relaxed in the beautifully decorated, spacious rooms. Since we had an early morning flight and had to depart before the breakfast hour, Beth packed us a huge breakfast basket the night before, including a cooler with chilled juices, ensuring we were well fed for our long day of travel ahead. Her husband made sure that we got to the airport in good time and gave us printed directions. The Cruickshanks were both very friendly and accommodating. Arden House is a beautiful, new home, set on a hill in the country with lovely views. Our only regret was that when we passed through Linlithgow on our way to the airport, we discovered a very charming, historic town that we did not have time to explore. For travellers needing a B & B within 30 minutes of the Edinburgh Airport that will afford them a pampered welcome to or departure from Scotland, Arden House is the place for you! And plan some time to explore Linlithgow!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaryCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2009

This was our second stay at Arden Country House. It is quite literally the best place we have ever stayed. The house and grounds are so picturesque and the entrance hall is beautiful. The rooms are spotlessly clean and spacious, the breakfasts are amazing and the owner, Beth, is extremely helpful, friendly and welcoming. Her attention to detail is fabulous and she knows everything there is to know about visiting Scotland. We would never stay anywhere else when we go to Scotland. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Arden Country House to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerbyLemurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2009

I LOVE this 'boutique' bed & breakfast, and I challenge anyone to find a better one - anywhere!

This was our second stay (our first being October 2008) and I never fail to be completely bowled over with the level of service and the standard of accomodation - there are a great many 5* hotels (if not most!) who should hang their heads in shame compared to this establishment. Beth Cruickshank is nothing short of fantastic and it will come as no surprise to anyone who has stayed there that she has won awards.

The rooms are exquisitely decorated and immaculately clean; the location is ideal for touring the area or just visting Edinburgh, with some good restaurants/pubs/coffee shops within a couple of miles; the breakfast is just wow - heaven help the diet though as it is too hard to resist!!!! and as for the afternoon tea when you arrive - tell me where else provides that as part of the price??!

I give the Arden House 5 stars - 100% - we will be back (again and again!) and I cannot recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linlithgow
1.6 mi away
West Port Hotel
West Port Hotel
#2 of 2 in Linlithgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
3.9 mi away
Champany Inn
Champany Inn
#1 of 2 in Linlithgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
5.4 mi away
Macdonald Houstoun House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Helix Hotel
Helix Hotel
#1 of 4 in Grangemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Falkirk East Hotel
15.9 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden Country House

Property: Arden Country House
Address: Belsyde, Linlithgow EH49 6QE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Linlithgow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Linlithgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Arden Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multiple award winning 5 star B&B set in peaceful, picturesque country setting yet only minutes from the historic town of Linlithgow, birth place of Mary Queen of Scotts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Arden Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arden Hotel Linlithgow
Arden Country House Linlithgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing