We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very crowded, horrible food”
Review of Knappogue Castle

Knappogue Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
US$59.32*
and up
Knappogue Castle Medieval Banquet
Ranked #38 of 162 things to do in County Clare
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Washington, United States
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Very crowded, horrible food”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

A banquet in a castle would be great under better circumstances: there were just too many people packed into the 2 rooms, the sound system was not working well, and the food was simply not good. I couldn't cut my chicken with the steak knife provided. We were so closely packed in we literally couldn't put our arms down to our sides unless the next person put their in front of them.

I wonder if they were trying to accommodate too many people as this is a popular spot?? There were at least 4 tour buses here the night we attended. Too many people to even be safe in case of a fire or other emergency.

Before making reservations suggest asking how many people will be in the audience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    25
    11
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fun evening in Medieval style”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Spent a wonderful and fun evening at a Medieval style supper and evening's entertainment. The performers and waiters, waitresses are dressed in period costume and greet you in style. As you enter the castle, you are greeted and provided with a glass of honey mead and gather in the courtyard. You have a chance to mingle with friends as everyone enters. Soon you are greeted and introduced to the performers as they sing and perform on musical instruments. Some of the people are contacted by the staff as they enter to act as King and Queen for their group and get to sit at the head table where they wear crowns and get to have a front seat for the festivities and are pampered a little. The performers put on a great show and do a lot of singing and dancing. The meal is good and there is unlimited red and white wine provided with the evening meal. The meal was hot even though they are serving many people at the same time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Cory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great entertainment”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We were thouroughly pleased with this banquet night. We were seated with fellow Australians and mingled with the rest of the table. The food was delish and the welcome mead was very 'interesting' ! The entertainment was top notch, the singing, the stories and the dancing was very professional and yet very interactive and friendly. I recommend this to anyone of any age. It was great to be taken back in time and actually feel like I was in a dining room with those of old.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Megsy0267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pa
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Nice castle and gardens”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Knappogue is an interesting visit, but all the reconstruction that has been done there since the 19th century takes some of the charm away. Nonetheless, it's a cool place to visit and has just enough to hold your interest. The gardens weren't much to look at when we were there- I've seen many better Victorian garden over the years.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travelguyPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windom, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, Great time!”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We were a little bummed that 3 weeks out, the banquet at Bunratty Castle was already booked full, but were thrilled to be able to reserve space for this banquet. We had a fabulous time and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Knappogue Castle also viewed

Sixmilebridge, County Clare
 
County Clare, Province of Munster
Bunratty, County Clare
 

Been to Knappogue Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing