We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun...Medieval Times in a real Castle”
Review of Knappogue Castle

Knappogue Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
US$59.27*
and up
Knappogue Castle Medieval Banquet
Ranked #37 of 162 things to do in County Clare
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hartsville, South Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
389 reviews
173 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Fun...Medieval Times in a real Castle”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I visited Knappogue Castle with a large group of coworkers. We were met at the front of the castle and given honey Wine (Apple wine). They then bring you inside and the entertainment begins. Music...dancing....and great food. It was a fun experience, glad our group went.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomasja37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    25
    11
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colonia, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Entertainment”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

The evening was very enjoyable. The staff did everything to insure that. Would recommend this banquet.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank njquintana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Medieval Feast and Fun”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My honey and I visited Knappogue Castle as a part of a tour, the start of our tour actually, for a medieval banquet. Visiting a place for dining with a tour can sometimes be a let down, but this was not the case at Knappogue. The castle is stunning, the entertainment was grand in style and even the food was much better than anticipated. Kings were annointed, honeyed mead was shared, and soup was served sans spoons so we authentically drank straight from the bowl the tomato basil offering. The dancing by an award winning male Irish dancer was high energy and his female counterparts weren't too shabby either. We didn't have the opportunity to explore the full castle or really the grounds, but it was still an experience that I found to be fun and pretty delicious. The mead was sweet, the soup was tasty and the salmon appetizer was awesome and I don't even care for salmon - it melted like butter in your mouth. Even my main dish of chicken was moist and tasty. This was an event and if I were in a family entourage, I think that kids would be fascinated by the entire production.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank MusicCityDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good castle”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Enjoyed my visit to Knappogue Castle. The castle has an interesting history. Enjoyed walking around the grounds and the castle. Was rather pleased it wasn't too touristy. Unfortunately Knappogue Castle whiskey wasn't provided at the end.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing castle”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately, we arrived late and entrance was closed already. However, this castle is gorgeous to look at from the outside and a lot more beautiful than Bunratty castle. We didn't come across a more impressive castle during our adventure through County Clare.

Helpful?
2 Thank Theo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Knappogue Castle also viewed

Sixmilebridge, County Clare
 
County Clare, Province of Munster
Bunratty, County Clare
 

Been to Knappogue Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing