We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Westbrook House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Westbrook House
Ranked #6 of 33 Ennis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Hospitality - Well beyond my expectations!
Breakfast - Outstanding! Loved the Savory pancakes!
Price - Hard to beat!
Location - Short distance from center of Ennis. Centrally located for a number of nearby sites. We used the Westbrook as our home base for a number of day trips. Also, the Westbrook is only a short distance from the center of Ennis, a great little town.
Facilities - Some minor issues but overall very clean and comfortable!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swittyT14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    30
    8
    6
    4
See reviews for
36
47
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstown, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

you go to Ireland for the people. If I wanted to stay in a big fancy hotel I would go somwhere else. Stayed 5 nights with Sheelagh and Domhnal and I felt as if I was among friends. they simply could not do enought for you. My room was clean, the shower was hot when I needed it and the breakfasts were excellant. My hosts could not have done more for me as far as providing information about their country, food, music, and driving tips!! when affter 5 nights we left for other parts of the country my daughter actually cried because we were leaving a place that felt like home. what every true wanderer looks for in a b and b

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karenandhaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The Lynches were excellent hosts. We spent four nights at the Westbrook. At times the hot water was an issue in the shower, but not enough of a problem to even complain about. Wifi was available in the common areas, but spotty in the room. Again, not a big issue. The Lynches went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. They readily answered our questions about the area and offered suggestions of routes to take and things to see on our destinations. Domnall was a wealth of information, we enjoyed our conversations with him! This was a comfortable, convenient, place to stay and a good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Reenig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

If you're lucky enough to be headed for Ennis, be sure to stay with Donal and Sheelagh at the Westbrook House. They're a short ride from Ennis city center and you won't find better people to help you anywhere else in town. The cost is more than reasonable and it's more like being home than staying in a hotel. The evening we arrived, several of our group were hoping for a beer or a glass of wine, but the liquor store had just closed. They gave us beer from their son's fridge that we later replaced and Sheelagh was going to run to the store for us if it had been a little earlier. We spent 4 wonderful nights as their guests and just for the sheer enjoyment of spending time with Donal and Sheelagh, I strongly recommend you consider the Westbrook House. We were a group of 6 visitors to Ennis and everyone felt the same way. Be sure to check out the sessions music at Brogans in Ennis while you're there to get the total experience of your visit!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8 that had both a queen and a twin bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meeskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and it was an example of Irish hospitality at its best. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Sheilagh, shown our room and found it to be spacious and clean.
As the house isn't located on a busy street, sleeping was very quiet and comfortable.
There was a problem with the hot water, but it was fixed on the same day and repeatedly asked whether it was working now.
We loved the breakfast- it got served and maybe even prepared by the owning couple themselves and there was a lovely choice of traditional and regular things to eat. All was served fresh and hot and there was always time for a little chat.
We also got helpful information about where to dine and how to get there and both tips proved to be perfect!
Upon leaving, we were sent away with a hearty handshake and a wave and news on the weather of the area we were heading to.
So, this was a wonderful stay and there is nothing negative at all I can say, it was nice and perfect and thank you again!

Room Tip: Clean, nice, friendly, good price, wi-fi works best on the streetside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alphen aan den Rijn
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We had a lovely time in Western Ireland and a large part of that was due to the Irish hospitality of Sheelagh and Domnall. They provided a lovely breakfast each day. Domnall even got local specialties from the bakery when he found out we all know quality bread. Our two friends were hiking each day and Domnall made them tasty (and plentiful) packed lunches for quite a reasonable price. I'm a talker and they even took the time for good discussions about the area, Irish, etc.
To Americans who are new to Europe: Western Ireland is a less than wealthy part of the world and much less prosperous than Dublin. This is a family business, so please don't expect the standards you get in America for the same price. (To get those low prices our fellow Americans are often earning a pittance -- literally!) Yes the decor is a bit dated, but it wasn't shabby in either of the rooms we had. We've been in hotels that were much less clean and equally dated without the charm and useful information. Not only that, but the hotel staff were rude and/or ignorant.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DutchGallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centreville, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Sheelagh & Domhnall Lynch are phenomenal innkeepers. They made our first experience to Ireland a memorable one. They were very helpful in where to visit and what to skip! The food was superb. I would highly recommend staying here. I cannot say enough about our experience.

Angie & Bryan Holocker

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aholocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ennis hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
441 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,576 reviews
1.0 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
1.0 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
1.9 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westbrook House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westbrook House

Property: Westbrook House
Address: Old Corrovorrin Willbrook House Tulla Road, Ennis, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westbrook House is a modern purpose-built Guesthouse, situated on the N18 Ennis to Galway road on the outskirts of Ennis town. Its comfortable en-suite bedrooms are finished to a high standard and all have tea/coffee making facilities, multi channel TV, direct-dial telephone, radio alarm, and hair dryer. Free WiFi internet access is available in rooms, and guests have full use of our gym. There is also free private car-parking. The friendly atmosphere gives a "home from home" feeling and your hosts Sheelagh & Domhnall Lynch are waiting to offer you a Céad Míle Fáilte. The centre of Ennis is just 15 mins. walk away with its quaint narrow streets, shops teeming with local goods and produce, traditional pubs and superb restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Westbrook House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbrook House Ennis, Ireland - County Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing