We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dangan Lodge Cottages
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Ennis
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Dromoland Castle Hotel(Newmarket-on-Fergus)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn at Dromoland(Newmarket-on-Fergus)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Average 3/5
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (14)
    Filter reviews
    14 results
    Traveller rating
    11
    3
    0
    0
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    11
    3
    0
    0
    0
    See what travellers are saying:
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    8 - 13 of 14 reviews
    Reviewed 25 June 2013

    This is a Diamond Resort property. It is off a main road way back beside a field of cattle. It was wonderful waking up to beautiful pastures. It is within easy reach of cities on the West coast of Ireland. Make sure that you have filled your car with gas if you have an early flight from Shannon and you are staying at Dangan Cottage or anywhere in that area. I do not remember seeing any gas stations open early in the morning or late at night.
    Dangan is such a sweet little place to stay. There is a large fully equiped kitchen, livingroom with fireplace and dining room. Huge bathroom with tub and shower and a nice bedroom. In the kitchen there is a little under the counter washer/dryer. What a funny machine that is to use. I have never even seen one before but it works like a charms and that means carrying less clothes.

    Room Tip: I did not think one cottage was better than the other. There were some with 2 bedroom but we only needed one. They are all very clean and fully equipped for a great stay. The drive back to the cottage is a little scary since it is a one lane road like many roads in Ireland. Just be prepared to stop and back up when you meet someone.
    • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    6  Thank Deborah Q
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 2 May 2013

    Do not book here if you are looking for hustle & bustle right outside your door. This place is in the country in the rolling hills of County Clare. Great pubs within 10 minutes drive. Small grocery in Tulla. Management does a great job taking care of things, but not great for Americans who have not travelled abroad... do more research & do not hesitate to ask. Ger is awesome!!

    Room Tip: You MUSY+T have a car to stay here.
    • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank TIMOTHY S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 1 September 2012

    You definitely need a car here. The cottages are right out in the lovely green fields of East Clare. Very comfortable, good size and well-equipped although no wifi. We had a 2bedroom cottage with 2bathrooms and a large living room with stone fireplace. There are no other facilities onsite but that is part of the charm. A good base for exploring the west of Ireland. We had lots of days out, Limerick, Galway, the Cliffs of Moher, all within east reach. Even Connemara is reachable within a day trip. One of the local music pubs will send a minibus to take you for a good night out!

    Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    5  Thank linda19536
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 24 January 2010

    I just stayed a week at Dangan Lodge Cottages with my family. The cottage was decorated very nicely and felt very homey. We chose to go the week after christmas and the weather was very snowy and icy. The roads around the area can be quite treacherous when the ice forms. That said we took several day trips and even an overnight trip north to Belfast using the lodge as our home base.
    We had a two-bedroom unit with a generous-sized pull-out couch in the living room. The bedding and pillows were nice and comfy which was great as it was cold.
    There was coal available and you could have a fire in the small stove in the unit which warmed things up considerably.
    When we went over the the sister property to pay our electricy fees I did feel If I came again I would prefer to stay in one of the units on the main property as they all had wireless internet and the reception desk had a lending library, videos and a small store. Maybe it was the bad weather- cottages are remote and don't have "hotel-type" amenities. It was blissfully quiet and you can park right outside your front door.

    • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    10  Thank ontheroadagain800
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 15 February 2009

    In Summer 2007, my two siblings and I took our mom to Ireland for her eightieth birthday. We stayed at Dangan Lodge Cottages (in County Clare) for one week, after spending time in Dublin. We booked through RCI, and were absolutely thrilled by the charm of Dangan Lodge Cottages. We were very comfortable during our stay and the manager/staff were very helpful.

    The location is good for day excursions in southern and western Ireland. We visited Cliffs of Moher, Galway, Dingle Peninsula, Cork on separate days, coming back to Dangan each night to sleep. The Dingle trip was a long day, but was doable. To stay at Dangan, it is essential to have access to a car, because it is located in the middle of the countryside.

    Ennis is a small city with local charm, restaurants/pubs, internet cafes, and is only ~8-10 miles away. We grocery shopped in the nearby town of Tulla (~2 miles), and enjoyed breakfasts in our cottage, and also some of our lunches/dinners on bread, cheese, deli meats, and of course, the Guinness beer! We enjoyed local sightseeing in Ennis, as well as Knappogue and Craggaunowen castles, both of which were only ~5-10 minutes away.

    Our cottage had 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, and a large living area with kitchen (with washing machine and dryer). The washer/dryer helped a lot with minimizing our luggage (we only brought enough clothes to fit in a carry-on bag for each of us), but do not operate as efficiently as ours in the USA. The capacity is smallfor both the washer and the dryer, and the time to cycle through is long! So, if you are traveling light, you have to plan accordingly and start washing small loads of laundry throughout your week-long stay at Dangan.

    We loved our stay at Dangan Lodge Cottages. It was a perfect place for our family while we enjoyed the country of Ireland.

    • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check-in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    10  Thank A_Texas_Girl
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews