We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, lively bar.”
Review of Cruises

Cruises
Ranked #31 of 102 Restaurants in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Wonderful atmosphere for a sing-along, and one can enjoy listening to many famous musicians nightly during the Summer. Come and enjoy a 'session' with many of Clare's well known musicians. The pub gets its name from a famous tailor who resided in the area, made famous by the song "Spancill Hill" which has the June Fair held in the locality each year.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great, lively bar.”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

really good pub. stays open late as well. loads of nooks and crannies if you want to stay away from the throngs. There was a great group on the night we were there.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    33
    10
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The service was fantastic, very nice guy, talking to us casually. The food was one of the best we have. Highly recommended!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 77Kasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palaiseau
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good city, good food”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

As we stayed in the beautiful city of Ennis, we ate in this pub that was recommended by our travel guide book. We loved the place so much that we came again the following day. The athmosphere is warm. We tasted the Irish stew, the guinness pie, the pork and cabbage and the 8oz sirloin. All this 4 traditional plates were really tasty. The waiter, Sean, is really nice and dynamic.
Nous avons diné dans ce pub lors de notre visite de la jolie ville d'Ennis, il était recommandé dans notre guide. Nus avons en effet tellement apprécié que nous sommes revenus le lendemain. L'ambiance dans ce pub est chaleureuse, le bâtiment est ancien et bien conservé. Nous avons testé l'irish stew, le guiness pie, le pork and cabbage et l'aloyau. Ces 4 plats traditionnels étaient vraiment bons. Notre serveau Sean était très gentil et efficace. A recommander !

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneClaireMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
240 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Traditional music and beer!”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Had a grand time listening to the band "Socks in the Frying Pan" while sipping a beer. Great Irish atmosphere!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worth a stop. No disappointments here.”
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Someone once told us that - while in Morocco - you can judge an establishment's skills by sampling their "harira", a classic, basic soup. Well, last night in Ennis we used the same line of thinking in the "Cruises Pub" trying their daily special, "Mushroom Soup". It was superb. We followed this with a shared "Beef and Guinness Pie". This, too, was superb. We will absolutely go back and explore more of their great menu.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Moffattsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing