We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific restaurant in historic setting!”

Cloister Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 107 Restaurants in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$54
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Situated in the heart of medieval Ennis. This is a modern restaurant that serves fresh locally sourced produce. Wonderful to visit for a light bar meal during the day or more inventive cuisine in the evenings.
Reviewed 26 May 2014

After a wonderful trip to the Cliffs of Moher, my husband and I worked up quite an appetite and decided to follow Trip Advisor recommendations regarding Cloister restaurant and we were so glad we did! We had a delicious lunch, starting with a scrumptious seafood chowder and then an amazing goat cheese bruschetta/salad. Our main course was the lamb shank, which was tender and succulent. We finished with a fabulous bread pudding--- (it was worth every calorie!) Our server, Barry was cheerful and efficient and the owner, Dermot was hospitable and welcoming! What an enjoyable experience. Highly recommend!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sunshine118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarche, Manager at Cloister Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Sunshine 118

Thanks so much for your lovely review of your visit to us here at the Cloister. Thanks for your mention of the Team and that you enjoyed all we had to offer so much.

Kind regards

Dermot and all the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (533)
There are newer reviews for Cloister Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

347 - 351 of 533 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

The food, drink, and service at the Cloister were all fantastic. Ennis is a great starting/ending point for a trip to the Burren/Cliffs of Moher area.

3  Thank Samuel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarche, Manager at Cloister Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear SamuelS

Thank you for your visit to the Cloister, we're glad you enjoyed all we had to offer and found the location and service to be so good.

Thank you

Dermot and all the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

One of my favourite lunch spots for a number of reasons, great staff and service, lovely venue and top quality food. Reasonably priced quality food is what the Cloister is all about.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Bannerman74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarche, Manager at Cloister Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Bannerman 74

Thanks very much for your review of the Cloister, we're glad to read your opinion regarding our quality and pricing.

Thanks again.

Dermot and all the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I have been here for family dinners with numbers ranging up to 10 to nice quiet casual night out with my girlfriend. The one thing that never changes is the quality of the food and the 5* service from all the staff but in particular Dermot who always makes the evening perfect be it his opinion on the nights specials and overall menu and his recommendations for wine. I just have loved the food and am never scared of picking something different as I know it will be a good as my last meal there.

All I can say if you want a meal that you wont forget then you must eat here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gordon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarche, Manager at Cloister Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear GordonB.

Thanks for your lovely review and many thanks for your frequent visits to the Cloister. Its great when return diners are so happy with their experience.

Many thanks

Dermot and all the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Loved the quality of food, service was amazing and atmosphere was very trendy but intimate. They have the most amazing desserts I have ever tasted. I would recommend the banoffi pie, you will never find one like it anywhere else

1  Thank lauradanaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarche, Manager at Cloister Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear lauradanagher.

Many thanks for your review, glad to read you enjoyed your visit so much.

kind regards

Dermot and all the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cloister Restaurant also viewed

Ennis, County Clare
Ennis, County Clare
 
Ennis, County Clare
 

Been to Cloister Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing