We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slightly dissapointing”

Cloister Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 100 Restaurants in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$48
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated in the heart of medieval Ennis. This is a modern restaurant that serves fresh locally sourced produce. Wonderful to visit for a light bar meal during the day or more inventive cuisine in the evenings.
Perth
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Slightly dissapointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

After seeing this restaurant rated as one of the best in ennis, we had fairly high expectations. The pork belly was ok, maybe a little dry. The vegetables were just steamed with no other interest added. Service was good. A bit dissapointing.

Helpful?
3 Thank deeEl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarche, Owner at Cloister Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear deeE1

Thanks for your feedback, apologies for the pork belly being dry, its one of our best sellers so we will watch that closely. As for the veg, we do simply steam fresh local vegetables as they are a side dish to the richness of most main courses so we do like to keep it simple here.

Thanks for your comments, and please say hello next time you're in.

Dermot and all the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    75
    20
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We recently went to the Cloister to celebrate a birthday with a table of 9. Two of the guests were Vegan and wheat intolerant, Dermot and his team were so accommodating. We had advised them in advance of arriving and they had put together some delicious and interesting choices for them. The service and food was wonderful (as always) and despite the restaurant being busy we were looked after so well. It really is a pleasure to relax and eat there.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Vinaman71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarche, Manager at Cloister Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Vinaman71.

Sincere thanks for your lovely review. We were glad you enjoyed your gathering so much and it was a pleasure to have you here. Will pass on your thanks to the Kitchen team as they are the ones who make our job so much easier by being so helpful and imaginative when it comes to special requests and diets.

Thanks again

Dermot and all the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Our first visit since its re opening and we were very impressed. Staff were very attentive and knowledgeable about food and wines etc . Premises is very tastefully decorated. Very good selection of wines to cater for all tastes and budget. Excellent variety on the menu. He had steak, I had the monk fish, both excellent along with a cheese board to finish. We had a very relaxing and enjoyable evening and would certainly return and will recommend - one small gripe, the ladies bathroom was not the cleanest! Be sure to visit this restaurant if you are coming to Ennis - reservations recommended as they can be very busy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Ennis41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarche, Manager at Cloister Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Ennis41

Thank you for your review of your visit to us here at the Cloister. We're glad you enjoyed all aspects of your meal and the service you received. The toilets I apologise for but they are checked and cleaned every hour religiously ,and if they were not satisfactory on your visit I am sorry, we are of course on hand to fix any "slip up" immediately when informed.

Thanks and regards

Dermot and all the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We went to the Cloister last night Asa belated birthday treat for my husband. From the moment we walked in we were made to feel welcome. The staff were courteous and efficient. The owner personally welcomed us which was a nice touch. The food was perfectly cooked and nicely presented. The portion sizes were good and we went home full and happy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarche, Manager at Cloister Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear TaraG

Thanks very much for your positive review of your visit to us here at The Cloister. We are very glad your appreciated the welcome , service and overall experience we try to achieve every day.

Thank you

Dermot and all the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Simply Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I cant rave about this restaurant enough! We ate here as a couple in April, and were completely blown away. We booked based on the TripAdvisor reviews alone, I had never heard of the restaurant before but am no surprised that I hadn't. Everything about this restaurant impressed us both far beyond our expectations, The welcome, the decor, the service, the menu, the quality of the food... the list is endless! I cant recommend this restaurant strongly enough, If you haven't tried it I encourage you to, you wont be disappointed! I cant wait myself to visit again as it was truly an excellent dining experience!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JamieK87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarche, Manager at Cloister Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear JamieK87.

Thanks so much for your lovely post of your visit to the Cloister. You have given the whole Team a great boost with such great comments about both the food and service. Thank you.

Kind regards
Dermot and all the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cloister Restaurant also viewed

Ennis, County Clare
Ennis, County Clare
 
Ennis, County Clare
 

Been to Cloister Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing