We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Hotel”
Review of The Old Ground

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old Ground
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I spent a weekend recently in the Old Ground Hotel with some girl friends. (This was my second time to stay here). We could not have had a more enjoyable time-the hotel staff were very helpful and nothing ever was a problem. I asked for extra towels-they appeared within minutes! We arrived in at 3am and still received top service!!
The hotel was warm and rooms very clean and comfortable.
Food was fabulous; from the cooked to order breakfast to our dinner in the restaurant.
Overall, our experience was super. Hotel has great atmosphere and was very busy which I always take as a good sign, especially as it was a Bank Holiday weekend. I will definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Ask those at reception if you have any queries or problems with your room. They will do their utmos...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankyMeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,599)
There are newer reviews for The Old Ground
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,264 - 1,270 of 1,599 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2011

When we finally found the hotel (it was a little difficult locating it), I found the receptionist very helpful and accomodating. We were traveling with our two adult daughters and thus had reserved 2 rooms. As they hadn't reserved my room with the size bed requested, they upgraded my room. It was beautiful, very large, newly refurbished marble bathroom. Our daughters had a standard room which did need refurbishment but was clean. The breakfast was lovely. We would definitely consider a repeat visit if we ever return to Ennis.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rooms which has been refurbished.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Staff were so friendly and efficient. Bar prices reasonable, food was excellent, bedrooms spacious. Only "hitch" was when it rains the window sills outside are a metal commodity and the sound echoes through the rooms! Corridors outside rooms noist with footsteps early in the mornings!
Fire lit in the reception area gives a special welcome; needs a permanent wheelchair ramp at front door however.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a walk in shower!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RetireeOldcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

The location is perfect, staff helpful, rooms perfect. The pub and restaurant were great.

Room Tip: We had a king suite, overlooking the parking lot, recently redone and it was wonderful.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hootietigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Myself and 13 friends recently stayed in The Old Ground for my hen party. Prior to booking this hotel, himself & myself visited the hotel (we couldnt get a reservation as it was late notice & they were fully booked) to decide whether Ennis would be a welcoming town (and The Old Ground )for a hen party. After having a casual conversation with a young manager, Roisin, The Old Ground & Ennis were decided as the place to go and we were not disappointed. From Phil in reservations to Roisin in management we couldnt have been treated any better. The food in the Town Hall restaurant was beautiful, the oldy-new feel of the hotel, the rooms, the value for money...everything... was just lovely. The town of Ennis itself is a great spot for a Hen party. Everyone was so friendly & welcoming. I would like to take this opportunity to thank Phil, Roisin & all the staff for a lovely weekend & we all agreed we will be back to Ennis & will stay in The Old Ground in the not-to-distant-future.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The Old Ground Hotel originally belonged to a wealthy man living in England. When he finally visited his old home, he was warmly greeted " Welcome to the old ground, sir" and they use that greeting still, every bit as warmly now as then. The hotel is an old ivy covered building, with several working fireplaces burning peat, comfortable beds, large rooms, modern bathrooms. It is very centrally located and there are many pubs and good restaurants close by. Free parking on the property is a plus.
The Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Ailwee Caves and Bunratty Folk Park are all within easy reach and Ennis is a much cozier town than Shannon, which is nearby. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njschultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We had been staying in ennis all week (rented cottage) and decided on our last night it would be nice to be in the town. When we arrived early that morning , we decided to get a coffee and scones, which was brought out to us in a beautiful peaceful room in the reception with free wifi. It was from there that I booked our room, the receptionest was lovely very helpful and no problem to show us the room we had booked. The free upgrade was much appreciated. The hotel has a beautiful warm feel to it and the bar is just lovely , live music and lovely food. We didnt eat in the town house beside but from what we could see it was very popular. The hotel is undergoing some refurbishments and this is always a good sign especially in todays economic climate. Overall we had a lovely stay and a lovely room which was the perfect end to our fantastic stay in a beautiful part of Ireland. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
1.9 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
833 reviews
0.8 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
0.3 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
4.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ground

Address: Old Ground Hotel O'Connell Street, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range: £71 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ground 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Old Ground Hotel is located in the centre of Ennis town, just 20 minutes from Shannon International Airport. With 83 newly refurbished deluxe rooms, a restaurant with superb cuisine, it is within easy reach of The Wild Atlantic Way, The Cliffs of Moher and magnificent and challenging links golf courses. The Old Ground Hotel is an elegant and stylish retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Old Ground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ground Hotel Ennis
Old Ground Ennis
The Old Ground Ennis, Ireland - County Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing