We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the "round" room with view of the church”
Review of The Old Ground

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Old Ground
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2012

...which had nothing to do with the church, but the noise of the folks leaving the pub at 2am. We stayed here in late Aug 2012 on the last night of our great trip to Western Ireland; flew out of Shannon the next morning.
At first we thought "what an awesome room." It was a room with a round extension and seating area with a view of the Cathedral of Stes Peter and Paul (sorry we didn't remember the room number). We didn't realize that (a) it was right over the hotel/pub entrance to the parking lot along Station Road (and is where you actually get to the place, not via O'Connell Street - don't trust your GPS) and (b) there was no air conditioning. Normally in Ireland AC isn't a problem, except at 2am when your windows are open and you are awaken by drunks yelling as the spill out of the pub.
Our friend was in another wing of the hotel with a newer room. Not as big or nice, but quiet and cool.
Good stuff: The pub did have good food, but was very, very busy.
Staff were nice and helpful.
Location is good for getting to McConnell and other shopping streets.
Overall it was our least favorite hotel and city (also the largest) on our trip, but still not too bad considering everything else the week before was great.

Room Tip: Read my review on the noisy, hot room.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TN-Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,597)
There are newer reviews for The Old Ground
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,126 - 1,132 of 1,597 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal at the Old Ground Hotel in Ennis, Ireland. We ordered from the Pub menu and the food was excellent, prices reasonable, decor beautiful, and service couldn't have been better! We especially liked the prawn wrapped in phillo as a starter!
We spoke with some other Americans who were staying at the hotel and they loved it. So even though we were not actually staying at the hotel itself, based on their reviews, it is a wonderful accommodation when visiting Ennis.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeannine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We stayed for 8 days to tour Ireland and the stay was perfect. The staff is 5 stars (front desk, restaurant, bar staff & cleaning staff etc). Our room was very clean & cozy. We loved spending time in the lobby space chatting & having drinks with friends. The Poets Corner & restaurant was a perfect added touch. Beautifully located in quaint Ennis, but very private hotel grounds.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eva13760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

There is so much life at this hotel. It's a destination in and of itself. To be honest, there is not much going on in Ennis, but this hotel more than makes up for it. The rooms are nice, and the service is fantastic. I honestly didn't find the food at the Poet's bar to be as good as I expected, but the breakfast the next morning was the best I had the entire trip. I love egg's benedict, and this was probably the best I've eaten anywhere ever. If I went back to Ennis, I would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed at the Old Ground for two nites this week. The hotel is old as are the furnishings but everything is clean and neat. The breakfast was from the menu. The attached pub is very nice for a pint and also good food. Somewhat hard to find due to narrow one-way streets. Ennis was not as nice as Kinsale or Killarney.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 100Radar322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

i have just spent a 3 night break at the old ground ennis and what a lovely relaxed and enjoyable stay it was. the staff in the hotel are fantastic could not fault them in any way. the hotel stands proudly on the corner of a lovely little street and it is easy to walk around the town and enjoy all ennis has to offer plus a few minutes drive and you are in the burren or cliffs of moher or bunratty castle, the hotel is old and charming with lovely little sitting rooms and meeting places, the poets bar is adorable serving great food, we had dinner in the hotel and the food was great. i have reports of other guests and they say rooms need to be updated but i found the oldness to be charming, the shower was soo powerful and the beds comfortable.
i will return again and again to this most charming hotel well done to all the staff and continued sucess to you all.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Like many Old Ground devotees, I am a returning customer... Other guests have left the details in their reviews but all I want to add is that this hotel is a terrific example of old world hospitality and dinner in the dining room with old friends on our annual trip is always a delight. Hope to return for the 2012 visit soon...

Room Tip: Just ask for whatever you need re rooms and The Old Ground staff will ensure you have it!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieM03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
1.9 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
833 reviews
0.8 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
0.3 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
4.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ground

Address: Old Ground Hotel O'Connell Street, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range: £71 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ground 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Old Ground Hotel is located in the centre of Ennis town, just 20 minutes from Shannon International Airport. With 83 newly refurbished deluxe rooms, a restaurant with superb cuisine, it is within easy reach of The Wild Atlantic Way, The Cliffs of Moher and magnificent and challenging links golf courses. The Old Ground Hotel is an elegant and stylish retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Old Ground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ground Hotel Ennis
Old Ground Ennis
The Old Ground Ennis, Ireland - County Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing