We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Ground Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$643
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,713)
Filter reviews
1,713 results
Traveller rating
1,033
487
112
56
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,033
487
112
56
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstown hall restaurantthe pubpoets corner barold world charmlovely old hotelold styledining roomtraditional musicshannon airporthotel bargreat atmospheretour grouplovely townlive musictop classlast weekendscones
Filter
Updating list...
1,233 - 1,238 of 1,713 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Really disappointing!
The quality for a 4 star hotel is higher than you ever get here.
Not enough parking spaces, no swimming pool, no gym, lot of things really old or broken.
Our chairs where very very old and broken.
Bathroom was not clean.
Kit edges with mold.
And a lot more of that.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RT d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

This was our second visit to The Old Ground and once again loved it. We stayed two nights which included breakfast and one evening meal. We had dinner in the dining room on the first night. It was superb. Beautifully presented and cooked to perfection. And above all served to us with such lovely friendliness. On the second evening we had food in The Poets corner bar. This was also excellent. The breakfast each morning was also wonderful. We have stayed in many hotels in Europe, Scandinavia and USA (many 5 star) but I think The Old Ground can not be beaten for a feeling of welcoming comfort. I love the lobby and adjoining seating rooms where you can sit by the fire, read your book or newspaper or converse with other guests visiting Ireland. I would love to return for a visit at Christmas time when I imagine the place even feels more cosy. To conclude it's a real 'feel good plce to stay'

Room Tip: We stayed both times at the car park side of the hotel and had no problems
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BETTYCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Our arrival began on a sour note. The receptionist promised assistance with the baggage even though the bellman had told her, when she called him on the phone for us, that he was tied up. (She didn't tell us this.) We unloaded the bags ourselves, not a good thing as we are both getting up in years and my condition doesn't allow me to help much. Our room was, at our request, in the modern wing of the building and had air conditioning but that was mediocre. We just turned it off and enjoyed the fresh air that evening and overnight. The room was bright and airy with good lighting. Breakfast the following morning was acceptable in quality and quantity but the pace was far too hectic for us. The crowd overflowed into at least one other room and the serving staff had a hard time catching up. The receptionist, upon our checking out, asked how things were and I was candid with her. She apologized appropriately. We loaded our own bags by our choice.

Room Tip: Ask for the modern wing.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MisterBuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We fell in love with the people who worked at The Old Ground.
They were full of personality plus! We were greeted so genuinely every morning at breakfast, and always told to "take care of yeeself" when we left the dining room. We could continue to hang out either outside in the lovely garden, or inside on one of the elegantly funky couches to enjoy conversation and people watching.
The attached pub, Poet's corner, was full of personality and charm too. A young bar tender looked after us with great care. We don't drink alcohol (recovering alcoholics) so we were relieved and thrilled to feel as welcome as those who were enjoying a pint. The bartender remembered our drink of choice, a lemon soda, and we sat back to enjoy the sessions and the best pub food. The music was great with a talented locals playing each evening. We stayed there for three nights, and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

...which had nothing to do with the church, but the noise of the folks leaving the pub at 2am. We stayed here in late Aug 2012 on the last night of our great trip to Western Ireland; flew out of Shannon the next morning.
At first we thought "what an awesome room." It was a room with a round extension and seating area with a view of the Cathedral of Stes Peter and Paul (sorry we didn't remember the room number). We didn't realize that (a) it was right over the hotel/pub entrance to the parking lot along Station Road (and is where you actually get to the place, not via O'Connell Street - don't trust your GPS) and (b) there was no air conditioning. Normally in Ireland AC isn't a problem, except at 2am when your windows are open and you are awaken by drunks yelling as the spill out of the pub.
Our friend was in another wing of the hotel with a newer room. Not as big or nice, but quiet and cool.
Good stuff: The pub did have good food, but was very, very busy.
Staff were nice and helpful.
Location is good for getting to McConnell and other shopping streets.
Overall it was our least favorite hotel and city (also the largest) on our trip, but still not too bad considering everything else the week before was great.

Room Tip: Read my review on the noisy, hot room.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TN-Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews