We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Worlde Charm set in bustling village”
Review of The Old Ground

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old Ground
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
160 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Old Worlde Charm set in bustling village”
Reviewed 20 October 2012

This hotel does not have a spa or pool but iff you are looking for old world comfort, good food, fantastic customer service and really good food, then this is the place for you. And Ennis town offers so much you wouldn't have time for the spa anyway. Spent the w/e here with group of 21, we travel away once a year and reviews across the group were that this place was fantastic. This hotel has buckets of atmosphere, the type of place that literally hugs you when you walk in the door. Old house with old world charm, great pub with live traditional music in the evening. Main restaurant is full of the charm of the hotel, excellent meals every evening here. There is also a modern cafe where you can get more contemporary food and great coffee and snacks all day also. The place also has a briliant pub, always full of people. We had lunch here and it was excellent, fresh fish, fresh vegetables and plenty of it. This hotel caters for all foodies. And when you walk out the front door you are in the thick of Ennis which is a fantastic country town with wonderful boutique shops. This place is bursting with atmosphere. Really reasonably priced and anything we asked for was no trouble. Great hotel, really well run, great staff, go visit folks.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    920
    444
    98
    49
    25
See reviews for
303
657
61
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Charming old property, but very up to date and comfortable. Rooms modern/clean/well equipped. Food excellent & well presented. Convenient location in center of town. We were sorry that we had only 1 night here-----next visit we will stay longer.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

The O'Donoghue family which originated from Inch, Glenflesk Co Kerry held their 7th Family Reunion in the Old Ground Hotel in Ennis, Co. Clare on October 13th 2012. The service provided by the hotel was excellent both in the planning and on the evening of the event. The Events Manager was very helpful in providing information and suggestions on suite selection, menu choice and entertainment. The menu was superb. It consisted of a choice of three starters, choice of five main courses which included catering for coeliac and vegetarian diets plus a selection of deserts and tea / coffee.
50 family members attended from all over the country and the UK. Many of the families stayed in the hotel for the weekend and found that from the moment they set foot in the hotel, the service was first class. The staff were very polite, curtious, friendly and helpful. The accommodation was clean, comfortable and it was evident that the hotel staff wanted to ensure that their guests were well looked after during their stay. On the evening of the party, the manager and staff were available throughout the evening to assist as necessary. The Maguire Suite was ideal for the party of 50. It was set up with 5 round tables of 10 seats per table. The tables were beautifully presented with candelabras and fresh flowers. The decor provide a very relaxed atmosphere. The hotel staff were very helpful in advising the guests who stayed in the hotel of local facilities etc. I would highly recommend this venue for anybody planning a family reunion.

Room Tip: all rooms were comfortable clean and nicely decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret49_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichtenvoorde, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Really disappointing!
The quality for a 4 star hotel is higher than you ever get here.
Not enough parking spaces, no swimming pool, no gym, lot of things really old or broken.
Our chairs where very very old and broken.
Bathroom was not clean.
Kit edges with mold.
And a lot more of that.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RT d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

This was our second visit to The Old Ground and once again loved it. We stayed two nights which included breakfast and one evening meal. We had dinner in the dining room on the first night. It was superb. Beautifully presented and cooked to perfection. And above all served to us with such lovely friendliness. On the second evening we had food in The Poets corner bar. This was also excellent. The breakfast each morning was also wonderful. We have stayed in many hotels in Europe, Scandinavia and USA (many 5 star) but I think The Old Ground can not be beaten for a feeling of welcoming comfort. I love the lobby and adjoining seating rooms where you can sit by the fire, read your book or newspaper or converse with other guests visiting Ireland. I would love to return for a visit at Christmas time when I imagine the place even feels more cosy. To conclude it's a real 'feel good plce to stay'

Room Tip: We stayed both times at the car park side of the hotel and had no problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BETTYCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
204 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Our arrival began on a sour note. The receptionist promised assistance with the baggage even though the bellman had told her, when she called him on the phone for us, that he was tied up. (She didn't tell us this.) We unloaded the bags ourselves, not a good thing as we are both getting up in years and my condition doesn't allow me to help much. Our room was, at our request, in the modern wing of the building and had air conditioning but that was mediocre. We just turned it off and enjoyed the fresh air that evening and overnight. The room was bright and airy with good lighting. Breakfast the following morning was acceptable in quality and quantity but the pace was far too hectic for us. The crowd overflowed into at least one other room and the serving staff had a hard time catching up. The receptionist, upon our checking out, asked how things were and I was candid with her. She apologized appropriately. We loaded our own bags by our choice.

Room Tip: Ask for the modern wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterBuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We fell in love with the people who worked at The Old Ground.
They were full of personality plus! We were greeted so genuinely every morning at breakfast, and always told to "take care of yeeself" when we left the dining room. We could continue to hang out either outside in the lovely garden, or inside on one of the elegantly funky couches to enjoy conversation and people watching.
The attached pub, Poet's corner, was full of personality and charm too. A young bar tender looked after us with great care. We don't drink alcohol (recovering alcoholics) so we were relieved and thrilled to feel as welcome as those who were enjoying a pint. The bartender remembered our drink of choice, a lemon soda, and we sat back to enjoy the sessions and the best pub food. The music was great with a talented locals playing each evening. We stayed there for three nights, and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
1.9 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
796 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ground

Property: The Old Ground
Address: Old Ground Hotel O'Connell Street, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ground 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Old Ground Hotel is located in the centre of Ennis town, just 20 minutes from Shannon International Airport. With 83 newly refurbished deluxe rooms, a restaurant with superb cuisine, it is within easy reach of The Wild Atlantic Way, The Cliffs of Moher and magnificent and challenging links golf courses. The Old Ground Hotel is an elegant and stylish retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Old Ground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ground Hotel Ennis
Old Ground Ennis
The Old Ground Ennis, Ireland - County Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing