We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the Old Ground”
Review of The Old Ground

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Old Ground
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
dundalk ireland
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Old Ground”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Just back from a 1 night stay in this lovely hotel. Could only stay 1 night on this occasion, however totally enjoyed the experience and hopefully next stay will be longer. Check in was friendly. Room was excellent, all you could wish for. Spotless bathroom,with plenty of towels and soaps etc, Bedroom was generous sized, and queen size bed was very comfortable with controls on central heating, slim tv and coffee and tea making facilities. There was also a single bed in the room. We had a snack in the bar before heading off to meet friends and it was good. Returned sometime before midnight and there was traditional music in the bar which was nicely packed and the atmosphere was relaxing and enjoyable.Staff catered admirably with the large number of guestS for breakfast,which was excellent. Good choice of cooked breakfasts, which were cooked to order (unlike most hotels)with a very good selection of breads etc. Overall really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and hopefully next year we will stay for longer. My only small quibble is the car park Car park is quite large and we did manage to get a spot when we noticed a car leaving but it's quite chaotic and you get the impression that not all the cars belong to hotel guests.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeysoap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    932
    451
    98
    49
    25
See reviews for
307
670
61
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
limerick
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Had a lovely time at the Old Ground Hotel Ennis last Saturday night. I was in the hotel for a class reunion and we enjoyed the lovely foyer earlier in the day, the town hall for dinner, followed by B&B. Everything was more than expected, good food, warm hotel and the staff were really lovely. Would highly recommend. I stayed on the 2nd floor overlooking the cathedral & experienced no noise whatsoever!

Room Tip: My small pink room was gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcyber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We arrived in Ennis on the eve of the National Hurling Championship, when all of County Clare was exhilarated at being in the finals. So everything was very festive and the hotel was packed. Despite that, the staff at the front desk were exceedingly helpful and were able to get us a reservation in the restaurant that was not as formal as the white tablecloth one nor as casual as the pub. We selected the 3 course menu. My starter was a fish pate on toast with watercress and a fish fritter on a bed of greens. My husband had the roasted brie. Delicious and beautifully presented. I had the sea bass main dish and my husband had pork with a mushroom sauce. On the side, they served a bread tray with a tasty variety of breads, creamed potatoes that were wonderful, and fresh cooked broccoli, carrots and green beans. Although we were stuffed, we couldn't resist the desserts of creme caramel and pear almond tart. One of the best meals we had in Ireland! Our room was large and had a twin bed in addition to the queen size bed. Our included breakfast in the morning was ample and the staff catered to special requests.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darlene51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last weekend. Parking an issue upon arrival. Check in was quick and friendly. Nice old style hotel. Room was adequate. No bottled water in room for 4 star hotel. Issue with electrical socket hanging from wall. Water in bathroom (Shower) not hot just warm. Bar was nice. Best Guinness ever and good trad music. Breakfast was very nice. All staff we encountered with friendly and helpful. Despite the minor issues I'd have no problem in staying here again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gastronomy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We had a wonderful relaxing stay at this great hotel. This has been fourth visit and it never fails to impress. The lady on reception at check in and out was such a joy she was such a pleasant person. We stayed two nights b&b and one evening meal. The food in the hotel restaurant is delicious, great choice and great food. We also had food in the bar (The poets corner). This is also outstanding and very good value for money, Irish trad music in the bar is really nice. The bedrooms as always were comfortable, very clean and cosy. The thing I like best about this hotel is the area stretching along to the right from the entrance in the lobby. Here you will find comfy sofas that you melt into. The open fire, reading material and the most relaxing ambience I have ever found in any hotel (we have stayed in many). It is a total chill out experience. Location, Location, Location, Terrific.
Make a visit, you will not be disappointed,

Room Tip: Room 519 has walk in shower and suitable for any person with mobility problems Room 220 is a very n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BETTYCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The hotel location is ideal for visiting Ennis shops and pubs as well as County Clare sights such as the Cliffs of Moher and town of Kilkee. Ennis offers a big variety of spots that serve good food and drink, and three are in the hotel, including the Poets Corner pub with traditional Irish music at night. Rooms are clean, quiet and comfortable. Some offer thermostats to regulate heating, and some do not. Bathrooms are well equipped, but shower controls require study and testing before use. Less than 30 minutes from Shannon, the hotel is popular with American coach tours. At times, most patrons in the pub will be touring Americans, often loud in herds, and they may congregate in front of the musicians, shouting to hear each other and ignoring patrons who are present for the music.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lamblf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Ideal place for a relaxing weekend. Central location. Room was luxurious & very comfortable. Restaurant was lovely. The food was to die for. I would recommend the Old Ground Hotel to anyone who is visiting Ennis.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMrsLawlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
1.9 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
807 reviews
0.8 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ground

Property: The Old Ground
Address: Old Ground Hotel O'Connell Street, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ground 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Old Ground Hotel is located in the centre of Ennis town, just 20 minutes from Shannon International Airport. With 83 newly refurbished deluxe rooms, a restaurant with superb cuisine, it is within easy reach of The Wild Atlantic Way, The Cliffs of Moher and magnificent and challenging links golf courses. The Old Ground Hotel is an elegant and stylish retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Old Ground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ground Hotel Ennis
Old Ground Ennis
The Old Ground Ennis, Ireland - County Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing