We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel I've ever stayed in”
Review of The Old Ground

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old Ground
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 night's and didnt want to leave! We had one evening meal with our package and what a meal! So tasty and a big portion. We ate in the bar on the 2nd night and we weren't disappointed. Breakfast on both mornings was lovely. The staff were the friendliest and most helpful we have come across. The room was huge and comfortable. The hotel is in a perfect location. Cant wait to go back again soon. Thanks old ground hotel for a super weekend :)

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ireland82Galway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,599)
There are newer reviews for The Old Ground
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

922 - 928 of 1,599 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

We flew into Shannon to begin our 18 day drive around Ireland. A quick drive to Ennis to the hotel. We were so happy that we picked this property from our research. It was clean organized, hot showers, large comfy bed in the center of everything. Close to the Burren, Cliffs of Moher and all over the western coast. We ate 3 out of 4 nights in the pub. The Poets Corner pub was grand the servers lovely and the food great tasting and looking good. Local music and people made the pub a great end to exploring. One night we began talking to a nice young couple from Cobh and listen to music and a story teller then conversed and enjoyed pints top 4 a.m. A better intro to my greats home could not of been hoped for.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rudykazudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed at the Old Ground Hotel Ennis for a three night stay on the 11th November, to be honest I hadnt heard of the hotel before but when I had it booked anyone that I mentioned it to raved about the place and they were right. The hotel is perfectly located right in the middle of the town, we had a lovely room, bed so comfortable, modern bathroom and the hotel had noted that it was our wedding anniversary and had put a fruit basket with a lovely note on arrival. Breakfast was excellent each morning, great selection of cereals, fruit, youghurt, scones & pastries and you also have the cooked breakfast from the kitchen. We ate in the the poets corner one evening and had lunch there another day both were really nice, bar has a nice atmosphere and was very busy. We had one dinner included and we had this on our final night in the Townhall restaurant - it was outstanding. The one thing I have to mention was the staff, from the first moment we arrived we received a warm welcome from reception, staff in all areas, bar, restaurant & accommodation were all so warm friendly and helpful with any request, the Old Ground Hotel really have a wonderful team. I would recommend this hotel to anyone it is the perfect location for touring around Clare.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Browneyedgirlcork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

My partner and I stay here last week. We were in room 222. It was beautiful. The king size bed was extremely comfortable. The room was spotless and lovely and warm. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Meals in the bar were great and so was the atmosphere

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marnie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Staying for 2 nights in this fantastic hotel.We had a small issue with the room on the first night.After talk to reception the next day we were told not to worry.We went travelling for the day and on our return were upgraded to a suite.Included in our stay was a meal and like the hotel it was fantastic.Will be recomending it to family and friends.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank postlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We had a beautiful room with its own conservatory! Very luxurious bedding and nice seating area as well. The only drawback was the single elevator which was monopolized by a tour group leaving as we were trying to get down to breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

A staff member in the near by Town Hall restaurant directed us to this spot as they could not fulfil the needs of all in the party. Thank you. Stopped here to have lunch with visiting family. Food and service was of a good quality and I was happy with my choice. Seems to be a popular spot with local also.
Getting to the toilet was a bit laborious, so might be tricky for some dining guests.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank locationspy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
1.9 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
833 reviews
0.8 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
0.3 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
4.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ground

Address: Old Ground Hotel O'Connell Street, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range: £71 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ground 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Old Ground Hotel is located in the centre of Ennis town, just 20 minutes from Shannon International Airport. With 83 newly refurbished deluxe rooms, a restaurant with superb cuisine, it is within easy reach of The Wild Atlantic Way, The Cliffs of Moher and magnificent and challenging links golf courses. The Old Ground Hotel is an elegant and stylish retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Old Ground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ground Hotel Ennis
Old Ground Ennis
The Old Ground Ennis, Ireland - County Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing