We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand old hotel”
Review of The Old Ground

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old Ground
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Grand old hotel”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Wonderful old hotel with great character and up-to-date furnishings. Lovely grounds, beautiful and large superior rooms, helpful staff. The pub food was good, breakfasts excellent. One of my favorite hotels of our Irish trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    904
    436
    95
    50
    25
See reviews for
301
640
61
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks County, PA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

While on the east side of Ireland, my husband and I decided to visit the Cliffs of Moher and spend the night in the area before returning east. Checked my guidebooks and the internet and settled on a "last minute deal" at this hotel. Our affordable package at this charming hotel included tea, bottle of wine, dinner, breakfast and a deluxe suite. Excellent, well trained staff. Had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank njanehair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kildare
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed in The Old Ground Hotel in Ennis in November and I must say it was one of the nicest hotels we have ever visited. From the very friendly woman in reception to the bar and restaurant staff you could not ask for better. Our room was spacious and luxurious with a large ensuite beautifully set out [a extra bit of light is required for shaving}
We dined in The Town Hall Bistro, which is part of the hotel where we met the lovely Manageress Mary who could not be nicer and more helpful, and the food was excellent.
Our stay was cut short because of bereavement in the family and we would have loved to stay longer as it was so warm and inviting. Hope to get back there again soon

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stationroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stayed here for a wedding over Christmas. Lovely hotel, great atmosphere and the food, especially in the Town Hall, was excellent. Staff very efficient and friendly (especially waiting staff) BUT almost every time I approached the front desk the staff answered the phone. I know this may sound picky but it literally happened every time! I understand if the staff member is already on a call, but I found it irritating that the phone was answered just as I was about to ask something. Other than this I can't praise the place enough. Would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Couldn't get wifi on 5th floor but may have been due to bad weather...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The first impression of this hotel is outdated and dreary but wait. After check in you will be taken to a very modernized room with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was fantastic. Did not need to eat all day after that one. We also ate at the associated pub on site. Very relaxed, traditional and great food.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lstravels11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Excellent meal. Good value for €35. My monkfish was superb and others commented steaks were mouthwatering. All cooked to perfection. The starters and desserts complimented the main course.
Staff were efficient and created a friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meareilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The Old Ground Hotel is the iconic Ennis hotel: large and stately but with a real cozy feeling and top notch people onsite working the front desk and restaurant / pub. The Poets Corner is a super pub full of locals (which tells you something good!) and the Town Hall Bistro is among the best restaurants on the west coast. Really a great dinner and excellent service. Best of all, they upgraded me to a small suite with a huge bathroom and sitting area. Although it was overlooking the street, there was no noise because the windows were insulated well and it was such a great time!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
1.9 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.1 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
4.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ground

Property: The Old Ground
Address: Old Ground Hotel O'Connell Street, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ground 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Old Ground Hotel is located in the centre of Ennis town, just 20 minutes from Shannon International Airport. With 83 newly refurbished deluxe rooms, a restaurant with superb cuisine, it is within easy reach of The Wild Atlantic Way, The Cliffs of Moher and magnificent and challenging links golf courses. The Old Ground Hotel is an elegant and stylish retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Ground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ground Hotel Ennis
Old Ground Ennis
The Old Ground Ennis, Ireland - County Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing