We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what personal attention”
Review of The Old Ground

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old Ground
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
Wicklow
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“what personal attention”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

From the moment you arrive at the hotel you get the warm irish welcome. Enter the bar or
restaurant and it continues all the way. Rooms are very comfortable old world comfort. Do dine here in the restaurant or bar or town hall restaurant and you wont be disapointed We had a meal in the restaurant and the food was wonderful and the lady in charge of the restaurant was amazing, a full restaurant everyone looking to get a table and she was so good at her job.
Loved this hotel

Room Tip: We had a room on the bottom floor but such a good room it did not matter that we had no view. You a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    943
    455
    101
    52
    25
See reviews for
313
677
62
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, CA
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This old world hotel is staffed with wonderful people. Extremely helpful and friendly. Yes, parking can be a little tight, but not impossible.
The food in their restaurants is absolutely terrific served quickly, hot and very well prepared.
Plenty to eat at the included breakfasts with good choices.
Leave you car and walk around this special town of Ennis
The only negative is the chimes from the church across the street. They rang at odd hours, didn't tell the time and the tone is awful.
However, don't let that stop you from staying there.

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe room or a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1ajf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Had a really lovely stay at this hotel recently. Loved the warm atmosphere. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Our room was very small, nicely decorated with space used efficiently. Food was excellent. Only problem was parking. Front of hotel seemed to be the only parking available and was poorly managed. Impossible to drive to entrance.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Thankyou to all the lovely staff for making our stay so special !! We had 2 fabulous rooms on the 2nd floor, they were spacious with lovely bathrooms. Internet throughout the hotel was excellent. The breakfast was outstanding !
We were travelling as a family & we would highly recommend this hotel to other travellers.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor overlooking the high street, the room was quiet & great to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveslats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My friend and I recently spent the weekend in Ennis for the Book Fair, we had never even been to Ennis before and we were fortunate enough to stay at the Old Ground Hotel. We were delighted with our stay which was made all the more enjoyable by the lovely welcome we received upon our arrival. Our room was so comfortable and warm. It was a lovely surprise in the morning to discover a whole new breakfast menu other than the standard 'full Irish' (we enjoyed smoked salmon and eggs with delicious home made brown bread!) Dinner was a treat with a very professional dinner service and exceptional food. The public restrooms were always clean with lots of lovely soaps and hand lotions. The atmosphere was relaxing and there was wonderful attention to detail everywhere. Staff were very helpful with any queries we had and it was of no inconvenience to them to print us out maps of other venues in town and how to get there etc. A real treasure find for sure. We will be back first chance we get!

Room Tip: I would advise guests to reserve a room on the first or second floor as there can be a lot of activi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We had a very enjoyable short break in this hotel. Staff were more than welcoming and very helpful. The food in particular was very good both in The Poet's Bar and The Town Hall. Ennis is a very central location and we toured all over Clare.
Our room 222 had a lovely little conservatory which was very relaxing and the wifi available was fast and reliable. I would recommend this hotel and we plan to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madmartina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinterzarten, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

After driving all day from Dublin to Galway, the Burren, cliffs of Moher we found this lovely histroric Hotel. Huge Standard rooms, excelklent beds, poor WiFi, great irish breakfast in the very nice breakfast room. Good tableware, Used to be the fine Dining Restaurant of the Hotel.
Dionner we enjoyed in the poets Bar, where it's said lots of locals meet too. Great atmosphere.
Food was good, but unfortunately my partner's fish came cold (it was not mentioned that even the poched salmon was cold) but the taste was good. My Steak was fine with very good organic veges; Pear marinated in red wine with ice ctrteam was also very nice. Most People come for the atmosphere, most evenings Írish live Music.
Service at reception was very good and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reppi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
1.9 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
820 reviews
0.8 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
5.2 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,327 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ground

Property: The Old Ground
Address: Old Ground Hotel O'Connell Street, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ground 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Old Ground Hotel is located in the centre of Ennis town, just 20 minutes from Shannon International Airport. With 83 newly refurbished deluxe rooms, a restaurant with superb cuisine, it is within easy reach of The Wild Atlantic Way, The Cliffs of Moher and magnificent and challenging links golf courses. The Old Ground Hotel is an elegant and stylish retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Old Ground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ground Hotel Ennis
Old Ground Ennis
The Old Ground Ennis, Ireland - County Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing