We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!!!”
Review of The Old Ground

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old Ground
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great!!!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

What a fun town I highly recommend this hotel it was old with charm extremely comfortable beds.
We had a blast in this little town.
Ennis is a must! It's close to the Cliffs of Moher which is a spectacular thing to see

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank colegang4519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    943
    455
    101
    52
    25
See reviews for
313
677
62
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed here as a couple for two nights on the recommendation of a friend. Greeted by lovely staff on arrival and given a large room on the ground floor at the back of the hotel. Had meal in restaurant on first night and the service was exceptional and food delicious. Breakfast was fresh and varied. Music in the bar most nights was very entertaining. Ate in the bar on the second night and again the staff were fab and food delicious. Would highly recommend the hotel to anyone especially as a base to explore local areas

Room Tip: Back of hotel off Main Street would be best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank munchiemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a beautiful- fun- historical hotel with a lot of class and in a great location-right in the town of Ennis! I enjoyed the adjoining restaurant and pub. The rooms were spacious and I had a wonderful view of the picturesque church right outside my window. I was also fortunate enough to hear some rocking Irish tunes from some of the members of the Willis Clan along with another band that I regrettably do not remember their names (but consisted of three very talented guys) in a fabulous setting in the hotel. The staff was friendly and the breakfast served in the mornings was delicious and very filling. It is an amazing place to stay for all and for any occasion and I hope to be able to return again!

Room Tip: There is an adjoining restaurant and pub that serves wonderful food and you are just steps away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
575 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Only stayed the one night for a business trip, but could easily have stayed here for a longer duration
The room was spacious with a large bed and pillows and duvet that you can disappear into
The desk had plentiful room if you needed to place your laptop to work from and the flatscreen tv worked perfectly well
Bathroom was also spacious with adequate toiletries - and most importantly, it was all clean.....only downside to the room was lack of bottled water
The hotel bar and accompanying restaurant are both well worth a visit and popular places for even the locals
Breakfast was well serviced and a good choice from both the laid out spread and the a la carte menu
I would actually be comfortable paying more than I did, that's how good the value for money it was

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank j100lok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

As soon as I returned from my first trip to Ireland, I've started planning my NEXT trip, and I will most definitely be booking at the Old Ground Hotel again. Can't wait to show the rest of my family what I've been raving about. Now, if you are looking for a Holiday Inn or Marriott experience, this clearly isn't it. The lobby is shabby-chic and usually filled with a variety of people, both locals and tourists. The Old Ground is quirky, cozy, and extremely warm and friendly, but it's one-of-a-kind and not your standard American-type hotel. I loved my fifth floor room at the end of the hall. The "lift" was right outside my door. Looking out over the steep rooftops and clay chimney pots of old Ennis toward the tall monument in the distance, it felt like I was in the Mary Poppins movie and half expected to see dancing chimney sweeps. The school next door is understandably noisy during the day with recess, so if you are counting on a daytime nap, bring a sound machine. People in my group had some issues finding their rooms, as this hotel links together about five different time periods. Up, down, around, across. Don't worry, once you find your room, you'll be glad you did! The kind staff was the strongest feature of The Old Ground for me. Day or night, anything I asked for was answered with a cheerful, "My pleasure." I got fresh scones at an off hour (Thank you, Kevin!), had my TV connected within five minutes of placing a call, and was able to take care of a telephone call home with minimum fuss. Do try the spectacular in-house restaurant and the Poet's Bar (lovely fish and chips). Both will exceed your expectations with wonderful food and attentive service. I stayed three nights and four days. If you are looking for a genuine Irish experience, look no further. You're home!

Room Tip: Go for the top floor at the end of the hall for the quietest sleeping conditions. Ask for help setti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YourTravelingFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on a whim when passing through Ennis and it was a good choice. The room was very nice, clean and although the bed was two singles pushed together (why can't hotels just have proper large double beds?) I have to say that it was one of the comfiest night's sleep I've ever had!!

The room was spotless and the bathroom had a great shower with instant hot water.
The only little gripe I'd have about my stay (and the only reason why I'm not giving 5 stars) is that the wifi connection was very poor in the room. In this day and age a strong wifi connection is a must, in every room, in every hotel, it's a problem that would be sorted immediately with just a few more wireless routers.

The restaurant and bar serve fantastic food and the Atlantic chowder is highly recommended. All of the staff were extremely pleasant and friendly, but this has always been the norm with people from Clare - they're great.

All in all I had a great stay and will be back. Ennis is a lovely and lively little town, I'd recommend it and this hotel to everyone.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank RonanMcGrath79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Stone, Virginia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We arrived in Shannon to start our Tauck tour of Ireland. After a quick ride to Ennis, we were met at the Old Ground Hotel by staff and escorted to our room, a small but comfortable set up with twin beds. The hotel is in the center of Ennis and all sights are within easy walking distance. The hotel sports a wonderful kitchen turning out excellent seafood and meat dishes along with great accompanying dishes. All in all a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Our rooms were assigned
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
1.9 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
445 reviews
0.1 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
821 reviews
0.8 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
5.2 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ground

Property: The Old Ground
Address: Old Ground Hotel O'Connell Street, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ground 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Old Ground Hotel is located in the centre of Ennis town, just 20 minutes from Shannon International Airport. With 83 newly refurbished deluxe rooms, a restaurant with superb cuisine, it is within easy reach of The Wild Atlantic Way, The Cliffs of Moher and magnificent and challenging links golf courses. The Old Ground Hotel is an elegant and stylish retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Old Ground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ground Hotel Ennis
Old Ground Ennis
The Old Ground Ennis, Ireland - County Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing