We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Old Ground Hotel Ennis
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay where our group met to begin our bicycling tour. Lobby has many cosy places to chat and read. But lots of street noises ( there is a constant whistle going off now!) and doors slamming.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank ltarpley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

869 - 875 of 1,649 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Great Location, right in the centre of town. Good atmosphere. Comfortable lounge. It is 3 years since I last stayed at The Old Ground. Many of the staff are still there and have been for years but there used to be a few bad apples who let them down. This is no longer the case and this time round I was really impressed, excellent in all areas, the bar, the reception and the restaurant. They anticipated well and got it right most of the time. The bar service in particular was quick and very efficient. The rooms have been refurbished and they look good with pleasing colour schemes, good temperature, not too hot or too cold. I love the toiletries. The free wifi worked reasonably well. The service dropped at certain times of the day but I did get quite a lot of work done. Another improvement was the food which was imaginative, tasty and piping hot. The portions were huge and excellent value, perhaps a little too big, not complaining but a little wasteful. Minor niggle, a lot of noise from the garden.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathieO3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We were very disappointed by the room, on the 5th floor overlooking the kitchen (I think it was room 523). Room was hot and smelled strongly of kitchen grease. We could not keep the bedroom window open because all the vents were below us and added to the smell and hot air. There was no air conditioning in the room, which in another wing of the hotel would not matter, but in our room it was needed...given the proximity to the kitchen fans. Bathroom toilet was not flushing properly, and tiles in bathroom were in need of regrouting. Room felt extremely over-priced for what it was. Relatives stayed in room 513 and it was completely different, with fresher decor, clean carpet, and air conditioning. Hard to sleep in our room, due to the smells and heat in the room. rarely write poor reviews, but this room should not be billed as a 4 star hotel room. Dinner, in contrast was excellent. And staff were nice. But I would have preferred to have a good night's sleep in a room that did not smell of kitchen grease. Others in our party who stopped by our room commented on the bad kitchen grease mell that permeated our wing. Especially disappointed as this was a trip i'd planned months ago for a group, and we seem to have gotten one of the most problematic rooms in the hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid 523 at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank thekma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryGleeson, General Manager at Old Ground Hotel Ennis, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest from Chicago,

We were disappointed to read your review and realise that we had not met your expectations. If it were possible, we would have liked to have moved you to a different room. Currently, we don't have an issue with kitchen smoke in this area and we are unclear as to what happened during your visit to cause you a problem - we are really sorry about this. In the room that you mention, there is a large window looking out on the front garden which should provide adequate ventilation.
Please advise me in advance of your next visit and we will ensure a nice upgrade for you.
Once again, our sincere apologies,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Old Ground Hotel as part of a tour package. This is a charming old hotel, but well maintained. We lucked out and were assigned to an air conditioned room with a king size bed. Most of the people in our tour did not get air conditioned rooms. The room was large and beautiful. It is also ideally located - the small quaint town is just outside the restaurant door. A big cathedral is right across the main entrance of the hotel. We ate at the pub one night and the restaurant the next night. Both meals were wonderful. Breakfast is made to order. Which is good when you are not in a hurry, but time consuming when you are.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank indycolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryGleeson, General Manager at Old Ground Hotel Ennis, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Indycolt

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to our hotel and the lovely town of Ennis.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Loved this spot as it was in a wonderful location where you could walk to the center of town. Shopping was just right out the door & the rooms were comfortable & clean. Loved the restaurant/pub with wonderful food & the staff was top notch. I would definitely recommend this place & would stay here again...lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GalwayGirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This is a restaurant/hotel. We did not stay at the hotel, but attended a musical evening there. The performance included dinner at the restaurant, which was yummy. After dinner they moved us into another large room for the Irish House Party's performance. It was much more entertaining than I had originally thought it might be. The Irish House Party is a group that performs local Irish music and story telling, and a little bit of dancing. The group was warm and amusing, drawing many laughs from the crowd. It was an enjoyable evening. It is definitely geared more towards the tourists, but hey, there is nothing wrong with that!! Definitely a great idea to indulge yourself a wee bit, especially if you're tired of pub crawling!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Belinda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We recently stayed at the old ground hotel in Ennis for weekend break and thoroughly enjoyed it!, when we booked the hotel our room was upgraded to a superior room as it was our 1st wedding anniversary, when we went to our room we had a complimentary bowl of fruit from the hotel which we thought was a lovely gesture.
The rooms are spacious clean and very comfortable! Breakfast was excellent with something for everyone, we had dinner in the hotel on Saturday night which was very very tasty, good portion size and fast efficient service.
If you are looking for a hotel in ennis look no further !!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank kevc82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
0.1 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
857 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
502 reviews
0.8 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
5.2 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,543 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Ground Hotel Ennis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Ground Hotel Ennis

Address: O'Connell Street | Clonroad Beg, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range: £71 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Ground Hotel Ennis 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Old Ground Hotel is located in the centre of Ennis town, just 20 minutes from Shannon International Airport. With 83 newly refurbished deluxe rooms, a restaurant with superb cuisine, it is within easy reach of The Wild Atlantic Way, The Cliffs of Moher and magnificent and challenging links golf courses. The Old Ground Hotel is an elegant and stylish retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Old Ground Hotel Ennis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ground Hotel Ennis
Old Ground Ennis
Old Ground Hotel Ennis Ireland - County Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing