We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Ground

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Ground
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed this quaint hotel. Staff very good. Breakfast includes entries to order. Dinner was very good. Room was small, but nicely decorated and very clean. Included toiletries of shampoo, soap, lotion, and showed cap. Flat screen 27 inch tv. Hair dryer, coffee service, and safe. Bathtub was high and a little difficult to step into. Beautiful dinning area and pleasant grass sitting area in the front.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    864
    425
    94
    49
    24
See reviews for
289
616
59
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Letterkenny, Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

The initial confusion over the validity of a voucher was more than compensated on arrival, the staff at reception were very welcoming and informative. The foyer is warmly decorated keeping to the character of the history this hotel holds. Rooms very very spacious, well appointed and faultless in respect of cleanliness and comfort. The bar food is very tasty and generously portioned. The breakfasts a fabulous and cooked to order with a huge array of fresh fruit, juices and pastries on offer. The restaurant food is nothing short of delicious. As our stay went on the staff really were excellent. A lovely relaxing hotel, centrally located but it's best asset are the staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
158 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

A fine hotel with all the amenities. The elevators didn't hold many people but, other than that we had a very pleasant experience. The pub was a great place to spend the evening. The rooms were well appointed as were the common rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

A nice place to stay right in the heart of town Ennis. The staff helped us in with our bags and suggested a few places to visit. We also ate ate the bar at the hotel and we had a wonderful meal. I would stay here again and tell all my friends to do the same.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshalltown, Iowa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This was halfway through our Ireland Trip and was a very nice comfortable room. Great food in the bar and bistro and a fine breakfast buffet. We used this as an evening to relax after a busy day headed to the Aran Islands and Cliffs of Mohr.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson Ma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Old Ground has a great location right in the center of town in Ennis. A short walk allows you access to hundreds of local shops and pubs. The room was spotless where you touched not so clean (dusty) where you don't touch. Not a huge deal but a lack of attention to detail. The staff was very attentive and catered to your every need. There are no fridges and you have to ask for ice.
The tubs were typical Europe narrow but surprisingly had no anti scald.... watch your kids ! Some rooms can be noisy from guests and hotel activities

The food was so so for the level one would expect.

All in all from the choices available the Old Ground is a great place to stay given its location. It is not however a four star hotel

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor facing the school are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TRFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrillville, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

This place was fabulous. Without exception the staff were all wonderful. Food was excellent at all times and we ate in all three of their locations. We also enjoyed the reunion in a function room where 80 of us enjoyed a three course meal, again top class. Nothing seemed to be any trouble and the staff were friendly and very professional. Our rooms for three families were perfect, all air conditioned , which I believe not to be the case throughout.
We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone wanting to enjoy the very best of Ennis, Co Clare.

Room Tip: If it is the summer months that you're staying there, then do stipulate that you want air condit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
1.9 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
1.6 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
0.8 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ground

Property: The Old Ground
Address: Old Ground Hotel O'Connell Street, Ennis, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ground 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Old Ground Hotel is located in the centre of Ennis town, just 20 minutes from Shannon International Airport. With 83 newly refurbished deluxe rooms, a restaurant with superb cuisine, it is within easy reach of The Wild Atlantic Way, The Cliffs of Moher and magnificent and challenging links golf courses. The Old Ground Hotel is an elegant and stylish retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Old Ground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ground Hotel Ennis
Old Ground Ennis
The Old Ground Ennis, Ireland - County Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing