We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming town and Hotel”
Review of The Old Ground

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Old Ground
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is a very comfortable hotel whose history goes way back. It is obviously old in that the way to the rooms can lead you up stairs and around corners, etc. The rooms are large and comfortable and the public spaces are quite welcoming. The staff is very friendly. Breakfast was excellent and the pub meals were very good. Our group had a special dinner which was really excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the front garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pspeerit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,624)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

825 - 831 of 1,624 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

This was a quick 20 minute transfer from the airport. After an overnight flight, it was nice to be located in walking distance of so many shops/pubs/restaurants. The other reviews about the slow and small elevator are all true, but once we figured out the stairs and numbering scheme it was almost always faster to take the stairs. The poet lounge was also a good close place to eat and drink after a long flight.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank george h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed this quaint hotel. Staff very good. Breakfast includes entries to order. Dinner was very good. Room was small, but nicely decorated and very clean. Included toiletries of shampoo, soap, lotion, and showed cap. Flat screen 27 inch tv. Hair dryer, coffee service, and safe. Bathtub was high and a little difficult to step into. Beautiful dinning area and pleasant grass sitting area in the front.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The initial confusion over the validity of a voucher was more than compensated on arrival, the staff at reception were very welcoming and informative. The foyer is warmly decorated keeping to the character of the history this hotel holds. Rooms very very spacious, well appointed and faultless in respect of cleanliness and comfort. The bar food is very tasty and generously portioned. The breakfasts a fabulous and cooked to order with a huge array of fresh fruit, juices and pastries on offer. The restaurant food is nothing short of delicious. As our stay went on the staff really were excellent. A lovely relaxing hotel, centrally located but it's best asset are the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

A fine hotel with all the amenities. The elevators didn't hold many people but, other than that we had a very pleasant experience. The pub was a great place to spend the evening. The rooms were well appointed as were the common rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ted R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

A nice place to stay right in the heart of town Ennis. The staff helped us in with our bags and suggested a few places to visit. We also ate ate the bar at the hotel and we had a wonderful meal. I would stay here again and tell all my friends to do the same.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ted W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This was halfway through our Ireland Trip and was a very nice comfortable room. Great food in the bar and bistro and a fine breakfast buffet. We used this as an evening to relax after a busy day headed to the Aran Islands and Cliffs of Mohr.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
1.9 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
477 reviews
0.1 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
841 reviews
0.8 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
4.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ground

Address: Old Ground Hotel O'Connell Street, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range: £72 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ground 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Old Ground Hotel is located in the centre of Ennis town, just 20 minutes from Shannon International Airport. With 83 newly refurbished deluxe rooms, a restaurant with superb cuisine, it is within easy reach of The Wild Atlantic Way, The Cliffs of Moher and magnificent and challenging links golf courses. The Old Ground Hotel is an elegant and stylish retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Ground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ground Hotel Ennis
Old Ground Ennis
The Old Ground Ennis, Ireland - County Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing