We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, convenient hotel”
Review of The Old Ground

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old Ground
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The Old Ground has a lot of history and charm, good dining and pub facilities, and spacious, comfortable rooms. It is an easy walk to numerous restaurants, pubs and shops and an easy drive to many western Irish venues.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ceebee51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,599)
There are newer reviews for The Old Ground
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

797 - 803 of 1,599 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

This is a lovely old hotel with a long, and at times confusing history - all of which adds to it charms! (They found dungeons underneath it?? ; p) We had a lovely large room - not expected - complete with a window seat, massive wardrobes, two double beds, and the wonderful 'feel' of an old mansion converted to a hotel. Yes, the carpet was a little worn but everything was clean and comfortable. (If people are looking for something "like home" - stay there, and don't try to experience things in other parts of the world) Loved the little perks of buttery biscuits with the tea and coffee in our room. There were several beautiful patrons' lounges where you could sit and read a book, have tea or coffee, visit with friends, or just sit and soak it all in. It was a lovely breakfast in an crisp neat dining area. The pub looked very promising although we didn't visit it., The hotel is close to everything in Ennis - lovely walks to be had. I would happily stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank purpleKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

A large group of my friends and I stayed at this hotel on the end of week long journey in Ireland. We had stayed at 3 hotels in different cities prior so I feel like I got a pretty good taste of what hotels in Ireland were like by the time we made it to the Old Ground. We were greeted promptly as we walked in with our room keys, they explained that the hallways and room situations were a little confusing given it's an old hotel but we found our room quite quickly. The room was huge with one of the biggest king beds I've ever seen, the bathroom was gorgeous with very high ceilings and marble floors. This room out of all of our hotels was the most "Americanized" I say as the room was large, the bed was huge and there were even American plugs so we didn't have to use our adapters.

The breakfast was very good in the morning and the wait staff was attentive. The pub in the back of the hotel was ALWAYS very lively and very fun to hang out in. Every time I went into it, it was busy and full of people yet you were still able to get a drink quite quickly. A quick walk out of the pub's door led you to the main street in Ennis and everything was very close to walk to and enjoy.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We found the hotel really charming but this hotel definitely needs a clean up. It is really dirty!
When we arrived in our room we found hair in the bathroom, crumbs on the floor, on the chair, spider webs on the wall and ceiling etc. To say that the room was not cleaned properly is an understatement. We asked for it to be cleaned again. This was done but still not really spot clean.
Looking around the hotel we saw dust and dirt in every corner. I know the hotel is old but even when it is old, you can still clean it properly and this is clearly not done in this hotel. Everything you see and touch is dirty.

The room we had was average but okay. The bathroom was small and really below par for a 4 star hotel.
Breakfast was below average and offered very limited choice. The breakfast room is relatively small so we had to wait for about 10 minutes before we had a table. Staff in the breakfast room was quite stressed which is not good to start the day.
Parking was busy but okay. We always found a spot.
Check in and check out was efficient and staff was friendly.
And the pub is a really nice place to spent some time in the evenings.
We had dinner in the Town Hall which was truly excellent and staff was very friendly and provided great service.

Despite nice pub, good restaurant (Town Hall) we will never stay again in this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Donkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is a very comfortable hotel whose history goes way back. It is obviously old in that the way to the rooms can lead you up stairs and around corners, etc. The rooms are large and comfortable and the public spaces are quite welcoming. The staff is very friendly. Breakfast was excellent and the pub meals were very good. Our group had a special dinner which was really excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the front garden.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pspeerit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This was a quick 20 minute transfer from the airport. After an overnight flight, it was nice to be located in walking distance of so many shops/pubs/restaurants. The other reviews about the slow and small elevator are all true, but once we figured out the stairs and numbering scheme it was almost always faster to take the stairs. The poet lounge was also a good close place to eat and drink after a long flight.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank george h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed this quaint hotel. Staff very good. Breakfast includes entries to order. Dinner was very good. Room was small, but nicely decorated and very clean. Included toiletries of shampoo, soap, lotion, and showed cap. Flat screen 27 inch tv. Hair dryer, coffee service, and safe. Bathtub was high and a little difficult to step into. Beautiful dinning area and pleasant grass sitting area in the front.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
1.9 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
833 reviews
0.8 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
0.3 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
4.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ground

Address: Old Ground Hotel O'Connell Street, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range: £71 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ground 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Old Ground Hotel is located in the centre of Ennis town, just 20 minutes from Shannon International Airport. With 83 newly refurbished deluxe rooms, a restaurant with superb cuisine, it is within easy reach of The Wild Atlantic Way, The Cliffs of Moher and magnificent and challenging links golf courses. The Old Ground Hotel is an elegant and stylish retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Old Ground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ground Hotel Ennis
Old Ground Ennis
The Old Ground Ennis, Ireland - County Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing