We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in the middle of everything”
Review of The Old Ground

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old Ground
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Totally charming courtyard and entrance. The "lift" is the size of 2 phone booths (kids, ask your parents about that reference). Pros: (1) Welcoming and helpful front desk staff, (2) the kind of charming restaurant and pub I expected for an old hotel, (3) One of the most updated rooms I stayed in out of 5 hotels, (4) The ground floor has multiple comfortable and welcoming sitting areas if you are waiting for your guests or just wish a pot of tea, (5) Good scones and pastries at the continental breakfast; I would like to see cured meats, cheeses, and smoked salmon like I have had at other hotels in Ireland, (6) step out of the hotel door to the shops, pubs and bakeries of Ennis. Cons: (1) Minor irritation that the breakfast staff just wants to get you the heck out of there. They walk about like they are being punished. One needs to beg for a second cup of coffee; they are not shy about bussing a table to hasten your departure. (2) No AC available; the windows crack open about 3". Thankfully Ireland's temperatures are mild in the summer months.

Room Tip: The "lift"/elevator is small; do not expect to get more than 3 people with luggage to sque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KAP20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

831 - 837 of 1,648 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

I traveled to Ireland for many years. My first stop is always the OLD GROUND. It's close to Shannon and a good starting point for the rest of the trip. The reception staff is very friendly. Our room was not ready when we arrived because of the early flight into Shannon from New York. Although we had to wait a while for the room, they upgraded us to one of the suites. There's a restaurant and pub right downstairs. The food in the restaurant is top notch. They have a pre-fixe dinner option on the menu which was well worth it. The pub in the hotel is awesome. Live traditional Irish music there Saturday night. A lot of the locals attend and chatting them up was fun and informative. I always go back to the Old Ground.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We stayed only one night , but thoroughly enjoyed our time there. Hotel has a wonderful friendly and classy atmosphere, evident as soon as you arrive. The sight of a blazing wood fire was most welcome, even in July! Rooms were cozy and well-fitted. Both meals were well served and very satisfying, in a delightful dining room. The next door, but integral to the hotel, pub, had great Irish live music and a wonderful clientele of locals and other visitors not staying at the hotel. The hotel is centrally located in the quaint town of Ennis, and across the street from an impressive church, which is very creatively lit at night. An odd feature of the hotel is the very tiny elevator, necessitated by the wish to preserve much of the original building's internal structure.

Room Tip: 3rd and 4th floor rooms may a little on the small side, but would be further away from the musicin t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank midastaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The charm of this property and the condition of the room our group had were great. The breakfast is very nice, especially for American travelers who want more than cheese and fruit.
The location is awesome, close to walk to everything.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bouldercityvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The Old Ground Hotel is a great hotel to stay in while you're in Ireland.
We stayed at this hotel one night the day we flew into Shannon since Ennis is close
to the airport and we knew we'd be tired.

The hotel staff was very friendly. The room was fine. There's a restaurant and pub right downstairs. The restaurant requires a reservation so we went to the pub instead. The food was ok.

The only downsides to this hotel are that Ennis traffic can be heavy at times due to the narrow one way streets and the hotel parking lot fills up quickly.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhotosFromNature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Stayed here for one night on a trip throughout Ireland. Room was nice, grounds very nice. The reception staff were helpful and friendly, but the dining room staff were awful. They absolutely did not seem to want to be there. They were not at all warm or welcoming, which was the attitude we had become accustomed to in this beautiful country. A real turn off.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Betherp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryGleeson, General Manager at The Old Ground, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Betherp

we were alarmed to read your review - it is our policy to ensure staff are warm, pleasant and welcoming and your comments have been the subject of serious discussion with our team.

I am sorry that this aspect of your visit here impacted on the enjoyment of your visit and assure you that this matter is not typical of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

my daughter and I stayed here for two nights. We had dinner in the restaurant the first night and the service was excellent.. The food was magnificent... The bedroom was beautiful and the beds were very comfortable, if a bit too soft.... the only downside was the heat in the room... for some reason it got unbearably hot during the night, even with the windows wide open.... and then at 7.30 in the morning, the bells would ring in the church across the road.... now I know the ringing bell are not the fault of the Hotel.... so what could you do but get up and get ready and go down to breakfast... Breakfast on the first morning was wonderful, but on the second morning... well, lets just say, it was not to the same standard, the first was butcher quality but the second was plain shop quality... that was so disappointing... we had dinner in poet's corner the second night and it was excellent.... Would I recommend this hotel???? YES!!! the second mornings breakfast was obviously an oversight on their behalf... and I assume not the usual... We would definitely stay again when we are in the area... All the staff were amazing....

Room Tip: rooms on the back are probably quieter than the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trisha2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryGleeson, General Manager at The Old Ground, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for visiting and for the positive feedback. We take your constructive comments on board and will work to ensure total consistency. I hope you get the opportunity to visit again and assure you of our very best attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
0.1 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
857 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
502 reviews
0.8 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
5.2 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,540 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ground

Address: Old Ground Hotel O'Connell Street, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range: £69 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ground 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Old Ground Hotel is located in the centre of Ennis town, just 20 minutes from Shannon International Airport. With 83 newly refurbished deluxe rooms, a restaurant with superb cuisine, it is within easy reach of The Wild Atlantic Way, The Cliffs of Moher and magnificent and challenging links golf courses. The Old Ground Hotel is an elegant and stylish retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Ground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ground Hotel Ennis
Old Ground Ennis
The Old Ground Ennis, Ireland - County Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing