We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money, a must in these times!”
Review of The Old Ground

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Old Ground
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Value for money, a must in these times!”
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Just back from a two night stay in The Old Ground Hotel, having stayed in other hotels during my trip of the West this got our unanimous vote for best value by far. The hotel is ideally located, has a laid back old world charm. Staff at check in were friendly and courteous. Our room was spacious and in good order with wi-fi connection, our bathroom spotless and modern. The only drawback was although the room was designated non-smoking there was a distinct smell of cigarettes. We had a dinner in the restaurant one of the nights as part of our package. The dining room was heaving, bright and atmospheric. Menu gave lots of choice, the food was superb, well worth the set price of EU35 for non-residents. Couldn't fault the service, staff and turnaround times are second to none. They were full to capacity, you would struggle to be accommodated without a reservation, even on a Tuesday night! The bar next door is old-school, decent pint of Guinness at 4 euro a throw, no complaints there! Thrown in was some traditional Irish music, The Old Ground are making every effort to impress in a difficult times for hoteliers. Would highly recommend the hotel and would definitely stay again

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SalSte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    920
    444
    98
    49
    25
See reviews for
303
657
61
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
County Meath
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

This hotel is amazing, The rooms were fantastic, the food was fantastic and the atmosphere was excellent. All staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms were huge compared to where I've stayed before. Food in the Town Hall Restaurant was excellent, didn't eat in the Poets Corner but the food look fab.
Only downside was being given a smoking room when I requested a non smoking room but there was no smell of cigarettes whatsoever.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cjay05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louth ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

The hotel is as already described, on other sites, very clean, traditional Irish welcome from the staff. great diningroom waiting staff, bedroom was very clean. Lovely fresh smell off the pillow. Just like at home. Kingsize bed. The hotel specialises in trans-atlantic and mid European tourist traffic. The hotel cannot be faulted. BUT unless you have your own transport or are part of a touring group Ennis does not have great opportunities for sight-seeing afar. We were lucky to discover Barratt's had a passing tour to the famous Cliffsof Moher, and other famous Clare resorts. Otherwise check the bus and rail opportunities. I have no doubt the reception staff would help if asked. the meals were very well presented and more important very pleasant on the palate. Traditional Irish music in the hotel bar, very well played, is part of the delight. We are an elderly couple but still active. To sum up, OGH is excellent, but more suited for mature adults who like a relaxing day touring or golfing and a relaxing night with a drink, not necessarily alcoholic, listening to the sounds of the real Ireland,

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verilyemcfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Lovely hotel in heart of Ennis. Clean, large, comfortable rooms. Poet's Corner Pub extremely gracious and accomodating with our large group during World Cup. Good food.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JB168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAYO
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Myself and husband stayed 2 nights at weekend. The room very comfortable and very clean. We ate in the poets corner one night and food and service was very good, a very good atmosphere there. Ennis is a lovely town to browse and relax in. I would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaney90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2010

We stayed in the old ground hotel and found the staff very friendly and helpful,it is in the heart of Ennis so very convenient , the rooms were very nice with very comfortable beds and the evening meals were excellent , you feel at home in this hotel so get there quick and enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vapoureyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

This is an excellent hotel in the perfect location when visiting the South West of Ireland. It's centrally located in Ennis which is no more than 45 minutes from all the sites. The reception staff are warm & friendly. The rooms are large with comfortable beds, sitting room, ensuite shower with a proper power shower, tea/coffee making facilities, trouser press, iron and hair dryer in the room. The rooms are not air conditioned but a fan was provided promptly. Breakfast is continental or cooked or both and the full Irish is grilled with a choice of poached, scrambled or fried eggs. There's also a grilled plaice option which I found surprisingly light & tasty as a breakfast. There are two restaurant options in the hotel. The O'Brien Room would best be described as modern Irish and The Town Hall is more fusion food. We tried both and the food was excellent. There's also excellent Traditional Music sessions in the bar from Thursday to Sunday nights. All that coupled with the relaxing residents areas on the ground floor means you wouldn't need to leave the hotel at all. The bar/restaurant service was a little scatty but in the overall scheme of things, this was a very minor point.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DubDud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
1.9 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
797 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ground

Property: The Old Ground
Address: Old Ground Hotel O'Connell Street, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ground 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Old Ground Hotel is located in the centre of Ennis town, just 20 minutes from Shannon International Airport. With 83 newly refurbished deluxe rooms, a restaurant with superb cuisine, it is within easy reach of The Wild Atlantic Way, The Cliffs of Moher and magnificent and challenging links golf courses. The Old Ground Hotel is an elegant and stylish retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Old Ground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ground Hotel Ennis
Old Ground Ennis
The Old Ground Ennis, Ireland - County Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing