We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Ground Hotel will exceed your expectations however high.”
Review of The Old Ground

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old Ground
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old Ground Hotel will exceed your expectations however high.”
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Old Ground Hotel has history and as you enter the grounds you can feel it. Enter the lobby and approach the Desk and you will experience friendliness and exemplary efficiency from a front office staff who would a six star Hong Kong hotel proud. Our party of four experienced globetrotters have not experienced better.

My standard room - large, comfortable bed, soft, plump pillows surprised me, pleaantly. Good sized bath, gushing hot water and a shower system that belongs in an upper class golf locker room completed the requirements for a comfortable stay.

Residents have their own reception room but we spent most of our free pre dinner time in Poet's Bar. Good atmosphere, good service and good food. We dined at the adjacent Town Hall Restaurant most evenings - faultless service and excellent fare.

Location is in the centre of town adjacent to the cathedral. Visit Co Clare, visit Ennis and stay at Old Ground Hotel. You will not be disappointed, I promise you.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mptagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    920
    444
    98
    49
    25
See reviews for
303
657
61
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Quite simply a beautiful hotel. A home away from home.

The junior suites are gorgeous, very comfortable.
The staff are lovely - very helpful and pleasant.
The only word for the food is divine - we ate in the Town Hall or the Bar every night. We were even trying to think of a way to fit in lunch during the day just to eat there again!!

Ideally located in Ennis town, but yet the hotel is peacefully quiet.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandD-Wicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Knew this place was good as my friend had stayed here.

Parking - no probs

location - Could not get any more central

Restuarant - I dined alone . Tables were well spaced and for that reason it was not awkward at all to eat alone as it so often can be. Food was delic. Service could have been better. no red wine glasses , hey i like my red wine glasses. The waiter had to be new and i wonder what training he received. But he was pleasant.

Decor is so beautiful and relaxing. This hotel is one of the few left that has charm because it is not the same as all the rest. it has 2 small lobby areas, one only for hotel guests, where i sat and read my paper. The bedroom was beautiful however it was 2 single bed spushed together, which i think is the done thing now (according to reception anyhow) Couldnt sleep as there was a dip between the single mattresses.

Dealt with reasonably well the next morning, unfortunatley the girl at reception was unable to deal with it and had to call the manager. The manager removed the restauraunt bill from the total - which was large enough as i treated myself for dinner.
I would go back again, if in Ennis again but would be asking about the bed, cause lets face it if you dont get a nights sleep, hard to enjoy the next day

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinKyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2010

This was our first trip to Ireland and a friend had recommended the Old Ground in Ennis. We were greeted warmly upon our arrival and the hotel was very alive with young and old alike. Our room was fantastic - a big king suite with a lovely sitting area and flat screen hotel. Enjoyed the pub atmostphere of the Poet's Corner and the food was very good. The Old Ground was the perfect introduction to Ireland and we'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert_glendening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

This was our last chance break before my partner had her first baby she was tired and exhausted.We were so luckey to have googled this hotel. It turned out to be a v i p visit i can not fault this place, its old world elegence charmed me .We arrived tired and in need of a break and left feeling just like the bed we slept so well in "a king" There is no doubt we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpbrophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

The location of this hotel is brilliant, it is right in the center of Ennis.
The bar has traditional Irish music being played from 10.00pm onwards
The service was second to non, little touches like not being charged for coffee in reception, or crisps at the bar, or internet access really hit the spot.
The phone in the room was faulty and was repaired within minutes of being reported, even though it was late in the evening.
Breakfast was wonderful, we did not eat in the hotel apart from that but i gather that both the bar food and in the restaurant next door are worth trying.
The cathedral bells were loud in the morning and were a wake up call at 7.30, but this is not the hotels fault, the view of the cathedral outweigh the alarm call
Highly recommend this hotel and i will go back again

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyTring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

This hotel is located in the heart of Ennis, an attractive town well worth a visit. The hotel is nice and clean with an old charm.On our first night we dined in the Town Hall restaurant- the menu was varied and interesting and everyone enjoyed the meal. On the second night we dined in the O'Brien restaurant. The meal was quite nice, although the menu was a bit boring with all the usual suspects appearing.The service was excellent. Food at breakfast was good, however on both mornings we found the service at breakfast to be very poor, carried out by a young and inexperienced staff. This was a bit frustrating.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
1.9 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
796 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ground

Property: The Old Ground
Address: Old Ground Hotel O'Connell Street, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ground 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Old Ground Hotel is located in the centre of Ennis town, just 20 minutes from Shannon International Airport. With 83 newly refurbished deluxe rooms, a restaurant with superb cuisine, it is within easy reach of The Wild Atlantic Way, The Cliffs of Moher and magnificent and challenging links golf courses. The Old Ground Hotel is an elegant and stylish retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Old Ground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ground Hotel Ennis
Old Ground Ennis
The Old Ground Ennis, Ireland - County Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing