We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, mid-size but cozy hotel, perfect for our week-long stay”
Review of Old Ground Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Old Ground Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2010

The Old Ground Hotel was perfect for our stay in Ennis. The hotel is clean, and the rooms are comfortable, updated, and spacious. The hotel has a great pub, The Poet's Corner -- the waitstaff there was incredibly friendly and fun, and we got to see lots of live, traditional Irish music right there at the hotel. The Old Ground is located very close to many of the other pubs in Ennis, so you never have to go far for a good pour of Guinness! Many friends stayed down the road at the Temple Gate, which was also very nice, but The Old Ground felt a lot more old-school Irish (if there's such a thing). :) PS - If you're debating on staying in Ennis vs another nearby town, I'd highly recommend Ennis for the quaint shops (lots of good shopping!), 2 locations of O'Connors bakery, and the nearly 50 pubs in town!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Looking_4_Adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,427 - 1,433 of 1,659 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2010

Went back to this hotel last wk after been there many times before...this time is was not great...room was dark and dismal...old decor..beds not comfortable..bathroom terrible..good location on the main street for walking around but very dated and needs re-decorating badly.Another major disturbance to a good nights sleep was the church bell which is beside hotel and keeps ringing very early in the morning.......

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geraldine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Enjoyed this hotel and really enjoyed the Poet Corner Pub.

Little hard for our GPS to find but once we got our bearing it was a great place to stay.

Really enjoyed the atmosphere in the Pub.

Would stay here again to play Lahinch and see the Cliffs.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parcapecod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

very comfortable,friendly nothing too much trouble and the meals ..well ..superb,looking forward to our next visit

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kendol15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

I just spent a week at this hotel. The staff was great...especially Maria in Reception. My first room was right by a door which proved a bit noisy, and they had no problems moving me to the most delightful room complete with a window seat. Lovely antiques and artwork. Great food in the adjoining restaurants and good craic in Poet's Corner Pub. Ennis made a great home base for day tripping using the train or Barratt Tours. Great shopping in Ennis as there are countless boutiques. Also highly recommend Numero Uno's for great pizza and pasta, and the trad sessions at Brandon's and Poet's Corner. B Kelly's had a couple of guys called the Clare Celts singing Irish folk songs which was a fun way to end a fabulous vacation. Thank you to the Old Ground and the wonderful people of Ennis!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onefortheroad39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

this was the last hotel we stayed at during our trip, it was obviously the town center literally and figuratively. The room was clean and spacious, the bathroom was a little tight but recently updated and clean. The hallways were a little run down and strong smoke smell but not anything to dwell on. We had breakfast two mornings, could have used a few more hot choices but pricing was good. Dinner at the O'Brien room was good and was included in our 3 night package. We also had dinner at the Town Hall that was outstanding. Poets Corner pub was great, good music, service, the locals were friendly and we met great people there. We didn't eat in the pub but the food looked delicious. Parking was great and the location was perfect for our flight out of Shannon and to see the Cliffs of Moher.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fossbomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

I regularly visit the old gound hotel. The staff are so friendly. The food in the poets corner bar is fantastic and very reasonable. I particularly the o brien room restraunt where we have enjoyed lovely meals surrounded by very friendly staff. The selection of food to choose from is amazing. I would highly recommend this hoyel to anyone who visits Ennis.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brendan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
0.1 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
861 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
514 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
1.6 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
4.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Ground Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Ground Hotel

Address: O'Connell Street | Clonroad Beg, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range: £75 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Ground Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Old Ground Hotel is located in the centre of Ennis town, just 20 minutes from Shannon International Airport. With 83 newly refurbished deluxe rooms, a restaurant with superb cuisine, it is within easy reach of The Wild Atlantic Way, The Cliffs of Moher and magnificent and challenging links golf courses. The Old Ground Hotel is an elegant and stylish retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Old Ground Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ground Hotel Ennis
Old Ground Ennis
Old Ground Hotel Ennis, Ireland - County Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing