We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friary history”
Review of Ennis Friary

Ennis Friary
Ranked #1 of 37 things to do in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
Hockley, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friary history”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

If you like the history of the country you are visiting, then this is a stop to make in Ennis. The guide filled our heads with knowledge and allowed us the take all the time and photos we wanted of the friary.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank pjhamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    104
    27
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Well preserved, historically significant”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The ruins of the Ennis Friary are very interesting. It was started by the  O'Briens in the 13 th century. The town of Ennis then developed around the Friary. It was an important learning center and attracted large numbers of people. The Friary is an OPW site and was under renovation when we visited in September 2013 so no admission was being collected. Given the history alone, if you are visiting Ennis, the Friary should be tops on your itinerary. Considering its age, it is remarkably intact. It is on the main street through Ennis. We did not have a car, but street parking looked pretty full.  

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darbymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Exactly the kind of place I wanted to see while visiting Ireland. My father-in-law and I stumbled on it while the women in our family shopped. We eventually all ended up there and young and old alike were delighted. We had the whole place to ourselves and there was a very knowledgable guide. As he led us around we showed very minute details that were extraordinary. It was truly a delight to walk around and experience the history.

There is a perfect blend of restoration and history. If you are in Ennis you really should come see this very historical and peaceful place.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank NavyDevilDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visalia, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing from the 13th century”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The Ennis Friary is a 13th century site that is now preserved and open daily. There is NO charge to visit this historic site that allows one literally to touch stones from 1200 AD. A bonus is the fact that the docents are well-trained and very knowledgeable.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullica Hill, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Cool site to see and free”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

We really liked this site. Just driving and we ran into this. Definitely try to find it! You may pass it if you are not paying attention.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank johnny5ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ennis Friary also viewed

 
Ennis, County Clare
Bunratty, County Clare
 

Been to Ennis Friary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing