We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food”
Review of Preachers Pub

Preachers Pub
Ranked #23 of 107 Restaurants in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$32
Cuisines: European
Restaurant details
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We ate here twice during our stay in ennis and were pleased both times. the food was wonderful and the service was excellent. couldn't say enough good things. definitely a place to check out.

Thank tinyrucat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan H, Manager at Preachers Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Dear tinyrucat,
Thank you for your feedback on Preachers Pub. Preachers has been awarded “Best Place to Eat in Clare” and your comments are a wonderful endorsement of this award. We hope you will visit us again in the near future.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for Preachers Pub
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 75 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2012

Don't let the ranking fool you -- this should be up the chart a good bit in my opinion. Our group of 5 has eaten here daily at various times of the day and not been disappointed. My favorite, odd as it may seem for a Texan, has been the warm, grilled chicken salad tossed in a honey & mustard dressing -- it appears in "Starters" but can be ordered as a main course. I tried it as a starter and came back for it as a meal. Delicious!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Bandoheme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We recently lunched at Preachers bar and were very disappointed. During lunch hours you are limited to a carvery lunch.
The chef on duty definitely needs to be reviewed. He was completely unhelpful and as it quickly became obvious not a very good cook either. When we asked for the chicken option, he told us he was out so we opted for the fish dish, only to see chicken arriving literally a minute later
We had four lunchs - 2 chicken and 2 deep fried sole. The fish was cold and the chicken dried out and tough.
We complained and the lady at reception was very courteous but when she called the supervisor, we got the impression that she was not very interested in what we had to say. The kind lady at reception did offer us a free coffee and dessert but at that stage, we had lost trust and went elsewhere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank C O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Preachers Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

It is with great regret that I read your comments following your recent lunch in Preachers Pub. Quite obviously and understandably the occasion did not meet with your expectations. I hope you will give us an opportunity in the near future to restore your trust in the food and the service offered in Preachers. I would be delighted if you contacted me directly to make arrangements to join us once again to redeem your lost trust in Preachers.
I look forward to hearing from you.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

Im writing on behalf of my parents who are not quiet computer literate however they wanted their comments to be known. They received a voucher for Sunday lunch & ate here on 27th May. They said the mashed potatoes & veg were freezing cold, the veg was stringy, totally in edible & the hottest part of their meal was the plate!!! They were utterly disappointed & will not be returning,which is a shame as they are locals. Serious improvement needed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank imafairy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Preachers Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Thank you for sending feedback on behalf of your parents. It is regrettable that the food did not meet with their expectations. I would like to invite them back again to redeem their faith in the hotel. Please contact me directly on their behalf and we can arrange a further visit which hopefully will restore their faith in the hotel.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

My wife and I have been watching Eurovision every year since we first moved to Ireland in 1996. Some experiences, as well as the performances, better than others. This year was one of the better as we settled into the Preachers Pub for 7 hours of viewing over three nights.
The staff was very accommodating in keeping the TV sound at a level we could hear over the normal chatting crowd, that is a rarity for non-sporting events. They also participated with us and the few other watchers in commenting on the show. We felt very comfortable.
Of course the pints were good as well as the desserts we had. We have yet to eat a meal at this pub but are encouraged by what we saw on neighboring tables. We will be back for sure, even before next May's Eurovision.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paroshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Preachers Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your visit to Preachers Pub. We hope you will have the opportunity to visit us well in advance of next year’s Eurovision and maybe enjoy a meal from the Bar Food menu. We look forward to welcoming you soon again to Preachers Pub.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Preachers Pub also viewed

 

Been to Preachers Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing