We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel will use again!”
Review of Temple Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Temple Gate Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Corofin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel will use again!”
Reviewed 15 July 2011

I have used the Temple Gate several times and found it be a great hotel, very central location for Ennis and surrounding areas. All staff were very friendly and service is always good. Food in both the bar and hotel is excellent and function room is beautiful. Would very much recommend.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CR0bbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
Thank you for your positive feedback. Your return visits are greatly appreciated and are testament to the level of service we endeavour to offer all guests visiting Temple Gate Hotel. Your comments have been graciously received by the team here. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to the hotel.
Kind regards,
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    251
    87
    54
    24
See reviews for
175
308
39
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel as part of a CIE Tour group. The room was average size with a nice bathroom with bathtub. Our room was quiet and had both a double and single bed. There was a hairdryer in the room but no safe. There was free Wifi but we could not get a signal in our room and had to go to the lobby to log on. We enjoyed the breakfast and dinner (part of our tour). No safe in room.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Califaloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to send your feedback. The hotel is a family owned and managed hotel and prides itself on food and service. Guest feedback is greatly appreciated and further testament to awards bestowed on the hotel. Hopefully you will have an opportunity to visit us once again at Temple Gate Hotel.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2011

After reading some of the comments, we were a little wary of the standards of this hotel. However, we have just returned from a fabulous stay in this very well run hotel. We also stayed in a suite and although the furniture is a little tired, the room was spacious, clean and extremely comfortable. The staff were amazing, from the front desk who were extremely helpful, to the bar staff who could not do enough for us. The Great Hall was a stunning venue for a wedding and we would definitely return for another stay at this well located Hotel. Thank you to all the Management and Staff, especially Una, for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ballymac13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. Your comment referring to the Great Hall as a “stunning wedding venue” is graciously appreciated. The hotel rests on the site of a 19th century convent of mercy and the gothic style has been preserved throughout the hotel. The history of the hotel is most evident in the Great Hall. Its stained glass windows, vaulted ceilings and oak beams combine to create the most original wedding venue in this region.
We look forward to welcoming you on a return visit to Temple Gate Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Stayed 4 nights at the hotel, the staff were very helpful and made us feel welcome. The room was lovely, fresh, clean, and very comfortable, this hotel is value for money, it's a beautiful hotel(former convent) in a perfect location, the shops and pubs and other places of interest were a stones throw away. The breakfast was excellant! good variety of choices, would reccomend the full clare breakfast. The food in Preachers pub was great, the pub staff were very attentive and friendly. Will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManchesterBeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2011
We were delighted to read your positive review following your recent stay. As you noted the hotel has a fascinating history and the gothic style has been preserved throughout the hotel. Your comments on food and service are testament to awards bestowed on the hotel including an AA Rosette and “Best Place to Eat in Clare” Thank you for taking the time to send your feedback.
We look to welcoming you on your next visit to Temple Gate Hotel.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We always stay at Temple Gate Hotel, each year when we visit our son in Ennis. The accommodation is spotless, the staff are always very helpful and the food in the restaurant stunning. The position is very good, close to the shops and the hotel is an ideal base to explore all the surrounding areas.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the museum side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank TimIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay at the hotel. I have shared your comments with staff and they are truly grateful. We look forward to welcoming you back once again during you next visit to meet with your son in Ennis!
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

Clean & comfortable. Close to city center, walking distance. Free WiFi in main lobby area - not in rooms. Breakfast included.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ma413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2011
It is very much appreciated that you took the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor. As you mentioned, the hotel is ideally located within 2 minutes walk from Ennis town centre and provides complimentary guest car parking. Wi-Fi, in addition to all public areas, is also available on two bedroom floors.
We look forward to welcoming you on a return visit to Temple Gate Hotel.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Yuck! Not certain why this hotel gets such high marks. I do wonder if there is another Temple Gate Hotel. We initially booked a standard double. Room was very small, had a full size bed, dirty carpets and old bathroom. After nearly paying double for the best room - a junior suite - we still were treat to a very outdated room. Wallpaper was peeling, tiles lost grout in the bathroom, coverlet and drapes looked ancient, beaten up furniture, giant cobwebs. Just overall dark, dingy and dated. Did I also mention that the free wifi is spotty at best! The only place to get it is in the lobby.

Thank goodness we are only staying one night before our flight back leaving from SNN. Temple Gate hotel is leaving very bad last impression on an otherwise amazing trip. I have heard the hotel has been renovated, unless our room was the only one not competed. I do not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank btari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We welcome all constructive criticism, as it allows us to build on our strengths and look into any issues that may surface.
The hotel underwent extensive refurbishment in 2008, results which you would have viewed on the ground floor. While many bedrooms also underwent refurbishment some bedrooms are awaiting the next phase of refurbishment. Unfortunately for this reason it is possible the entire hotel did not meet with your expectations. I have passed your comments on to our Accommodation Manager.
I do hope you will give us the opportunity in future to restore your faith in Temple Gate Hotel.
Kind regards,
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
0.1 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,536 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
406 reviews
1.5 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
5.2 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Gate Hotel

Property: Temple Gate Hotel
Address: The Square, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Temple Gate Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Temple Gate Hotel welcomes you to a charming, family owned and managed Hotel in the heart of Ennis Town, Co. Clare. Offering the perfect location to explore the Wild Atlantic Way and the rugged West Coast of Ireland including The Cliffs of Moher. Temple Gate Hotel, Ennis offers a unique blend of warm hospitality and friendly service. Discreetly situated just off Ennis Town centre, a short walk through the warm glow of the Victorian lamps in the cobblestoned courtyard leads our guests to the heart of the historical and vibrant town of Ennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Temple Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temple Gate Ennis
Hotel Temple Gate
Temple Gate Hotel Ennis, Ireland - County Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing