We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location,very friendly and helpful staff not to mention great bar food and spotless rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Temple Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Temple Gate Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
cork,Ireland
1 review
“Excellent location,very friendly and helpful staff not to mention great bar food and spotless rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed in this hotel for the weekend , from the moment we arrived we were welcomed by the very friendly receptionist. Our room was extremely clean. We sampled the bar food on our first night and it was really good and great value. Our stay was in total 140 euro which included a full breakfast on both days. A great hotel to stay in if you are looking for excellent service and value for money

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2011
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay and for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. Your comments regarding food in Preachers Pub, which has been awarded “Best Place to Eat in Clare”, have been graciously received by the Chef and his team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Temple Gate Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    239
    85
    54
    23
See reviews for
166
298
37
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

I do not see how anyone can complain about this hotel. The room I had was excellent and service both at reception and in the restaurant was first class. Wi-Fi is available in the reception area and there is plentiful seating to allow a guest to pick up emails and surf the net. All in all a very pleasant experience and one I will definitely repeat. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keano046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with all staff at the hotel. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

We chose this hotel based on their website (which shows lovely, renovated rooms) as well as the relatively good reviews posted here on TripAdvisor. However, I will say that our experience at the Temple Gate Hotel was nothing close to acceptable! The first issue we had was a miscommunication regarding where the hotel has WIFI. We were under the impression that the rooms had WIFI but upon check in we were informed that only the renovated rooms included this perk. The manager did work with us to attempt to make amends for the miscommunication, which was appreciated.

However, the real problem for us was that the room was the most filthy hotel room imaginable. The bed skirts had DISGUSTING stains all over them, the carpet was also VERY dirty and stained, the room was not clean and neither was the bathroom. Additionally, in the morning we were forced to take a shower in dangerously scalding water and had no way to moderate the temperature. For a family room, I would NEVER have been able to allow my child to bath in such hot water.

Upon check out we noticed the hotel post cards on the counter, displaying the lovely, renovated rooms. When asked if we had enjoyed our stay we laughed. Maybe if we had received one of those lovely rooms (which we thought we had booked) we would have been comfortable. As it was, the room we were assigned has clearly not been thoroughly cleaned in a very long time....if ever!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay at the hotel. We welcome all constructive criticism, as it allows us to build on our strengths and look into any issues that may surface. I am pleased that our Manager assisted with your complaint. Our website shows images of each bedroom category in the hotel and I believe you reserved a standard bedroom. Regretfully the hotel had limited availability on the night of your stay so we were unable to relocate you to another room. Unfortunately we were not aware of the excessively hot shower water temperature as this could have been rectified. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available to guests in executive bedrooms and throughout all public areas of the hotel.
The hotel commenced extensive refurbishment two years ago, results of which you would have viewed on the ground floor. Some bedroom floors are awaiting the next phase of refurbishment. Unfortunately for this reason it is possible the entire hotel did not meet with your expectations. Once again thank you for your constructive feedback as it helps us to get better. I hope you will give us an opportunity in the future to restore your faith in Temple Gate Hotel.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

This is my first visit to Ireland, and The Temple Gate was wonderful to call home while here. Location is right the heart of the city, so you can walk to shops, restaurants, cafe's, and pubs (and there are a lot of them). The hotel's restaurant is very good for breakfast, and outstanding for an elegant dinner. The executive rooms have a king bed, good work desk, and ample electric plugs for your gear. Free Wi-Fi too! Parking is free if you drive. However, it's easier to get taxi or a chauffeured tour service to/from Shannon airport or any of the nearby sights. Staff very helpful. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Hotel prices rooms with and w/o meals, so know which one you want. There are plenty of restaurants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schuler_CD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback following your stay. Temple Gate hotel is an ideal base when visiting Ennis town and when visiting the many attractions dotted throughout county Clare. It’s proximity to Shannon Airport also makes it a popular hotel for oversea visitors. I note your description of Legends Restaurant as an elegant venue so perhaps on your next visit for a more casual dining experience you can try the hotel pub “Preachers” which was voted “Best Place to Eat in Clare” We are delighted to read that you will stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granite Springs, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

Temple Gate Hotel in Ennis Ireland was lovely upon arrival. Before you even get to the hotel you pass by lovely trees and flowers and lamp posts. The gardens were beautifully kept. We also happened to see two tiny little kittens in the flowers, which made it even more enjoyable for us. They were snuggling together and the staff made sure to feed them each day. Inside the lobby was warm and welcoming. There was a real feeling of serenity. We were on a tour and really needed to relax from a hectic day. The room was immaculate with twin beds for me and my daughter. It was bright and airy and we felt safe and comfortable. There was a beautifully decorated breakfast room where traditional and American foods were served each morning. We stayed two nights and I would highly recommend The Tample Gate Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timsmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay. Temple Gate Hotel is the proud recipient of many awards, the most recent being a Certificate of Excellence from Trip Advisor. While we are delighted to receive each award bestowed on the hotel guest feedback, which we graciously welcome, is paramount. We continuously strive to ensure that our guests return to enjoy more of the same time and time again!
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

This hotel is fantastic. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. I definitely recommend the Executive floor which is fantastic value and the room quality is definitely 4 star. You can tell they have completed a refurbishment on this level and I think they did a great job and FREE WIFI! Now I know Ireland is friendly...but come on, the staff were super friendly and attentive and nothing was any trouble, from printing my boarding passes to offering local advice. I know this is a family run hotel and I don't think anyone works as hard as Paul Madden, GM, to try to supply the best experience for every guest. I definitely think he is doing a fantastic job at the Temple Gate and I would not stay anywhere else while on business or pleasure. Love those executive rooms! Thanks for a great stay. I will be back.

Room Tip: Executive Room - book the 3rd floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelexpert001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a very detailed and positive review. Temple Gate Hotel has received many awards for food and service and while we are delighted to be in receipt of these awards, feedback from guests is greatly appreciated and humbly received by Paul and staff at the hotel. We like to think guests feel the hotel is a “home away from home” and possibly being a family owned and managed hotel further reinstates this. I also note your great comments on this site's Restaurant Section regarding Preachers Pub which I will reply to accordingly. We look forward to welcoming you on many return visits to the hotel.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fayetteville, ar
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

It was acceptable, and saves money from what you would pay at the old guard, but not worth the savings very friendly staff and quaint place, but needs some updating

Room Tip: ask for an updated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bennyray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Thank you for posting your feedback following your recent stay with us. Your comment relating to friendly staff is graciously received and is testament to service awards bestowed on the hotel. While much of the hotel underwent refurbishment within the last two years, it continues to be a work in progress. We hope you will visit the hotel once again in the future.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
0.1 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
1.5 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Gate Hotel

Property: Temple Gate Hotel
Address: The Square, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Temple Gate Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Temple Gate Hotel welcomes you to a charming, family owned and managed Hotel in the heart of Ennis Town, Co. Clare. Offering the perfect location to explore the Wild Atlantic Way and the rugged West Coast of Ireland including The Cliffs of Moher. Temple Gate Hotel, Ennis offers a unique blend of warm hospitality and friendly service. Discreetly situated just off Ennis Town centre, a short walk through the warm glow of the Victorian lamps in the cobblestoned courtyard leads our guests to the heart of the historical and vibrant town of Ennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Temple Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temple Gate Ennis
Hotel Temple Gate
Temple Gate Hotel Ennis, Ireland - County Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing