We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Temple Gate Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn at Dromoland(Newmarket-on-Fergus)(Great Value!)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dromoland Castle Hotel(Newmarket-on-Fergus)
US$742
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (893)
Filter reviews
893 results
Traveller rating
426
280
107
56
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
426
280
107
56
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspreachers publegends restaurantexecutive floorconverted conventcentral locationcentre of townexcellent hotelwould highly recommend this hotelhotel restaurantdining roomshannon airportstayed two nightstop classcounty claresaturday nightbar foodchapel
Filter
Updating list...
695 - 700 of 893 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2011

I first stayed in Ennis in 1993. Since then, I have visited this great town more than a dozen times. I have stayed at all three hotels in town(the Queens, The Old Ground, and tthe Templegate) and they are all nice and have their positive attributes. I have, however, for the past seven years stayed exclusively at the Templegate. They have a warm and helpful staff, a great restaurant and pub, and clean and comfortable rooms. Additionally, there is ample parking and they are the best hotel for physical accessability. They always make you feel wecomed and appreciated. I am very much looking forward to staying there again next month. I can recommend this hotel without any reservation, and have done so many times. All of those people who have taken my advice on this have had a great time.- Dave Ring, New York

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Temple Gate Hotel. We are delighted to see that you always enjoy your time when staying with us. It is great to read your comments about your encounters with the staff which they graciously appreciate. We are delighted that you have recommended the hotel to others and we look forward to welcoming you on many return visits in the future.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

this hotel is lovely, a bit dated but its clean and staff cant be more helpful, and the restaurant food is fabulous, you can see why they won awards.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2011

Thank you taking the time to share your feedback with the Tripadvisor community following your recent stay at the hotel. While we are delighted to be recipients of many awards relating to food and service, customer feedback is graciously received and appreciated by the hotel team. We hope you will visit the hotel again in the near future.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Good hotel in a great location. The room was fine. They could do with a bit of an update though. Its been ages since I stayed in a hotel that still uses blankets & patterned bed covers. Would prefer to see duvets. Bathroom was clean & had an adequate supply of towels & toilletries.

We ate in the Restaurant & had a beautiful meal which was included in our package, Breakfast was lovely - especially the omelettes. The lady in reception was very helpful in recommending a restaurant for dinner on our second night there. We went to Rowan Tree Cafe. The food was excellent & very reasonable.

Overall we had a lovely stay & would consider it again in the future. Location is right in the middle of the town & close to everything.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 21Ross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2011

Thank you for sharing feedback of your stay in Temple Gate Hotel and visit to Ennis with the Tripadvisor community.
There is a fantastic choice of restaurants and cafés in Ennis and it is great that you had an opportunity to dine in our AA Rosette award winning restaurant, Legends. I have shared your feedback with the hotel team in particular the Chef. We are always happy to suggest other attractions and eateries when visiting Ennis and are delighted you enjoyed our recommendation of The Rowan Tree Café.
We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Temple Gate Hotel and Ennis town.

Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Temple Gate Hotel is right in the middle of town, a great base for leaving the car and exploring on foot. There is ample free parking. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and relaxing, not huge but not too small either. The pub has decent food and was a good place to meet for a nightcap or a drink before heading out for dinner. We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant one day (different from the pub), and found it overpriced and OK at best. Based on that experience we did not have dinner there. We thought that for the quality, location and convenience the hotel was very well priced.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebBSantaRosa_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2011

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us.We are delighted with your comments on your dining experience in Preachers Pub which was awarded “Best Place to Eat in Clare” during 2010. It is disappointing however that breakfast failed to meet your expectations. The hotel restaurant, Legends, is AA Rosette award winning which we believe offers great value to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

The location is probably the best thing the Temple Gate has going for it...hard to find if driving! It is right in the heart of Ennis which I loved! The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Ate in the bar/pub which was good...did not try the restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CFH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2011

Thank you for your review following your recent stay. Your comments have been graciously received by the team at the hotel. The hotel is located opposite the Tourist Office and this is a key landmark when finding the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Temple Gate Hotel.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews