We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Temple Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Temple Gate Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

This was our second stay at the Temple Gate during the Ennis Trad Festival. It's literally in the center of all of the city activities during the festival. Park the car and walk during the festival! The hotel is clean, comfortable and welcoming. For day trips, such as Kilkee or Doolin, Ennis is a good location to launch from. The staff is very accommodating. We were especially impressed with Mags at the front desk. From directions to recommending a late night restaurant she was right on target. Since it is a former convent and in the center of town, not all rooms will have panoramic views. Suggestion, if booking ahead, ask for a room facing the Glor Theater.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Glor Theater. There is one pay for use computer in the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Conley1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the Trip Advisor community following your stay at Temple Gate Hotel. The hotel and Ennis town are an ideal base when visiting the unique attractions dotted throughout county Clare. We look forward to welcoming you on many return visits to the hotel.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    239
    85
    54
    23
See reviews for
166
298
37
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

We recently did 3 rooms for 3 nights at the Temple Gate and loved it. Great reservations service (Thanks Kate), wonderful rooms, centrally located and Preacher's Pub was a the perfect way to end the day. I've stayed at the Old Ground before, and liked it okay, but Temple Gate is my choice going forward.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaySexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your stay with us at Temple Gate Hotel. Your comments have been shared with Kate and all the team at the hotel. Preachers, which was awarded “Best Place to Eat in Clare” in 2010, has an inviting and friendly atmosphere which both guests and locals enjoy.
We are delighted Temple Gate is your preferred choice of hotel in Ennis and look forward to welcoming you on many return visits in the future.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Lovely Hotel and Staff were excellent very helpful and we were upgraded on arrival for no reason.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you for sharing your comments with the Trip Advisor community following your recent stay at Temple Gate Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to the hotel.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

we went to ennis for the trad music and ennis is buzzing, its a great place to visit.
we stayed in the temple gate hotel and it was ok. Nothing out of the ordinary here
bar service slow and staff not very friendly.Rooms were large but only average.
Hotel is in a good location, within walking distance
to anywhere in ennis. We didn't book breakfast but we had a meal when we arrived and again it was only ok, we were hungry after our journey and it filled a gap, but we didn't eat here again as there are plenty of nice places to eat locally.
As I said ennis is buzzing a great place to visit
we will be back but we will stay in a different hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank The4ofus2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your stay at Temple Gate Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Ennis Trad Festival however it is disappointing that the hotel did not meet with your expectations.It is also regrettable that you did not express your concern during your stay when we would have addressed any specific issues. While your feedback was the only negative feedback we received during the weekend it is disappointing to read it. I hope you will grant us an opportunity in the future to restore your faith in the hotel. Please contact me directly if you would like to return to Temple Gate Hotel.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

Unfortunately we only got to stay one night before we feft the country. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, no noise, great night's sleep. Upon check-in, Kate phoned Bunratty castle for us to arrange a dinner at the medieval feast although I could have sworn that no spaces were available when I checked their website myself. Kate also arranged for a taxi to Bunratty. I will return.

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VAtubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. Kate and her team are delighted to recommend and assist guests with inquiries of the many local attractions and activities to enjoy while staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you on your return visit to Temple Gate Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

Ennis was the last stop :( on a wonderful tour of Ireland. My room was clean and very comfortable, probably the best bed I slept on all week, and all were good. Food was wonderful and staff very helpful, friendly and knowledgeable about the history of the building. I would highly recommend Temple Gate Hotel for anyone visiting Ennis.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happy1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience following your stay at Temple Gate Hotel with the Trip Advisor community. It will inform future guests what to expect when they stay at the hotel. Your comments on accommodation, food and service are graciously welcomed by the hotel team.Thank you for your recommendations and we look forward to welcoming you on return visits to Temple Gate Hotel.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

Large rooms that were airy and clean. The location was very near the downtown.The staff was extremely helpful and the pub food a delight.

Room Tip: The front of the Hotel has a lovely view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wonderlust458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Thank you for your kind testimonial and a belated happy anniversary to both of you! I have shared your feedback with the hotel team. Your comments on food in Preachers Pub are graciously received. The pub was awarded “Best Place to Eat in Clare” last year and your comments are further endorsement of this award.
Hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you on a return visit to Temple Gate Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
0.1 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
1.5 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Gate Hotel

Property: Temple Gate Hotel
Address: The Square, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Temple Gate Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Temple Gate Hotel welcomes you to a charming, family owned and managed Hotel in the heart of Ennis Town, Co. Clare. Offering the perfect location to explore the Wild Atlantic Way and the rugged West Coast of Ireland including The Cliffs of Moher. Temple Gate Hotel, Ennis offers a unique blend of warm hospitality and friendly service. Discreetly situated just off Ennis Town centre, a short walk through the warm glow of the Victorian lamps in the cobblestoned courtyard leads our guests to the heart of the historical and vibrant town of Ennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Temple Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temple Gate Ennis
Hotel Temple Gate
Temple Gate Hotel Ennis, Ireland - County Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing