We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh so very Friendly”
Review of Temple Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Temple Gate Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Southend on Sea, Essex, England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Oh so very Friendly”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

On a recent trip to visit family in Co. Clare Ireland I stayed a couple of nights in The Templegate Hotel. After having been impressed on previous visits to both the restaurant and the Hotel Pub I decided a stay for a couple of nights was in order.

I was not disappointed; managed by owner John Madden and his son Paul, this hotel concentrates on service with a smile. From Mr. Madden Snr. down to the housemaids and kitchen porters you are met by smiles and the most helpful of staff - so very welcoming and all you would hope for in Ireland.

The rooms are more than basic and are comfortable – good value at the price. The food in both the Cordon Bleu Restaurant and the Pub is excellent value for money and again served with a smile and a friendly word.

The Templegate faces onto a little court yard from which an alleyway leads straight into the town centre, the shops and pubs. There are no massive international chain stores here just very friendly local establishments offering the very best that is Irish. A pub with restaurant to look out for is “Brogans” a two minute walk from the front door of the Hotel.

Visit the Templegate and enjoy Ireland as you would hope it would be.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuPaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. Your feedback will inform future guests what to expect when visiting the hotel. The Madden family and the team here graciously welcome your comments which are a further endorsement of the awards for food and service bestowed on the hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to Ennis and looking forward to welcoming you on your next stay with us at Temple Gate Hotel.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    259
    93
    55
    24
See reviews for
186
317
40
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Many modern hotels lack character, and are placed far from the historic center of town. This is an unusual exception. Although there is a new modern shopping mall next to the hotel, just on the other side of the hotel is the courtyard leading to the historic center. The location was perfect, as there are restaurants, shops, and sites just steps away. The staff at the hotel were friendly and pointed us in the right direction.
Would definitely choose this hotel again if I go back to Ennis (and I hope I do!)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the Trip Advisor community. The hotel has a fascinating and eventful history and the gothic style has been preserved throughout the premises. Temple Gate is a family owned and managed hotel which sadly is becoming a rarity within the hotel industry and we believe this adds character and warmth to the hotel. We like to believe we provide our guests a "home from home". Your feedback has been graciously received by both the owners and staff and we look forward in welcoming on your next visit to Temple Gate Hotel.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Small rooms, they looked much larger on-line. The have a great pub and the food is also good.
Great location to see Ennis. Hotel & Parking lot hard to find.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravSFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the Trip Advisor community. The hotel is an ideal base when visiting Ennis town and touring County Clare. The car park although located just outside the hotel front door may sometimes be difficult to find. Regretfully we are limited by the town council on the number of directional signs to the hotel. A good directional reference for Temple Gate is that the hotel lies opposite the Tourist office. I have shared your comments with the hotel team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Payne, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We were very pleased with our stay at Temple Gate Hotel. The staff was great, with the exception of some of the bartenders..... The hotel is centrally located and one of the very few places we stayed in Ireland where you did not have to pay for parking! The hotel itself is lovely and very comfortable and clean. We were within walking distance to everything!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southernx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

the restaurant in the Temple Gate Hotel it serves a wide and splendid choice of meals at reasonable value. Well worth a visit

Helpful?
1 Thank woosie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Stayed here following a transfer from another hotel. The difference was magical. the Temple Gate hotel provides everything you would expect from a superior hotel run by a managment with one eye on standards and the other eye on their customers.

From the friendly and helpful staff when you first arrive, to the impeccable decor, to the beautiful food and the excellent standard of service, there is nothing to fault about this hotel.

the rooms are comfortable, warm and boasting all of the facilities you would expect to find in a four star hotel. why this hotel only rates 3 Stars defies explanation. It is clearly 4 star quality.

Centrally located in a quiet location, it occupies a converted and fully renovated former convent - the former resident sisters now live in a house on the grounds. the architecture is fascinating and there are plenty of spaces to while away the time reading chatting or having a quiet drink.

My only criticism, and this is a small one, is that the bar counter and taps in the public lounge require a dust and a clean but this is a small detail.

Other than that i would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone.

Room Tip: any one of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank woosie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We recently stayed in The Temple Gate hotel, loved every minute of our stay. The staff especially Catherine at reception was all very helpful and welcoming. We also had a meal, again I can only compliment the staff for been friendly and extremely efficient, and the food was fantastic, lovely flavours and very well presented. The location was great as is right in the middle of town, beside all the shops.
We will be back. Well done Temple Gate.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ola12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience at Temple Gate Hotel with the Trip Advisor community. It will inform future guests what to expect when they stay at the hotel. Your feedback on accommodation, food and service are graciously welcomed by the hotel team. We are delighted for your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you on a return visit to Temple Gate hotel.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
2.0 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
446 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,576 reviews
0.9 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
0.4 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Gate Hotel

Property: Temple Gate Hotel
Address: The Square, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Temple Gate Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Temple Gate Hotel welcomes you to a charming, family owned and managed Hotel in the heart of Ennis Town, Co. Clare. Offering the perfect location to explore the Wild Atlantic Way and the rugged West Coast of Ireland including The Cliffs of Moher. Temple Gate Hotel, Ennis offers a unique blend of warm hospitality and friendly service. Discreetly situated just off Ennis Town centre, a short walk through the warm glow of the Victorian lamps in the cobblestoned courtyard leads our guests to the heart of the historical and vibrant town of Ennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Temple Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temple Gate Ennis
Hotel Temple Gate
Temple Gate Hotel Ennis, Ireland - County Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing