We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel, great location”
Review of Temple Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Temple Gate Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Temple Gate is a lovely hotel right in the centre of Ennis. We spent a lovely weekend here and the hotel was very comfortable, clean and central location was so handy. It was a convent way back in the day, but has obviously had some renovations/changes since then. The Preachers Bar has high ceilings just like the convent would have had I presume. Then the Great Hall, where I presume conferences/functions would be held is where the Church part used to be. It is quite atmospheric, I could imagine church services being held here all those years ago. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and just the general ambience was very relaxing. Our bedroom was ample and the bathroom had a very good power shower over the bath. Tea and coffee facilities and complimentary bottled waters were refreshed daily. I loved the little jar of lollies provided also! I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Ennis, which is itself a good basis for a tour of the local Co Clare area.

Room Tip: Ask when you are booking for a room to suit your needs, ie a quiet room, a high floor or a room on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ballinascreen93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (857)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

475 - 481 of 857 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

The Temple Gate Hotel is located in the heart of Ennis within walking distance of places to eat and shop. The hotel is very nice and there is a pub and restaurant on site. The hotel staff was very nice and we totally enjoyed our two night stay. The pub and restaurant serves very good food at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank golferkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I recently attended a function in the dining room of the Temple Gate. It was a retirement function for a colleague. There were 57 of us in attendance and the food service and value for money were all excellent. Many thanks to John Madden and his great team for taking such good care of us.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The Temple Gate has a grand entrance, lovely reception room and a distinctive drawing room. Also a nice pub and a fine dining restaurant, which has to be commended for its food. Breakfast is more basic, but it was probably the time of year that there wasn't an awful lot on offer. Regarding the room - it certainly was clean and well maintained but rather dated. Standard is probably mid 1990's and room is rather cramped and not very comfortable. Also bedroom windows were with no net curtains, which would have been useful since the windows were facing out to a large car park and bus station and the room was located on ground floor. Apart from that hotel is grand.

Room Tip: Definitely not out the front facing the car park and on ground floor. Can't comment on other roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed one night while touring the area. The hotel was once a convent which really interested me being a catholic. We loved the history of the place. The room was clean with all the amenities one needs. The location was central to town. Everything was in walking distance. We enjoyed a drink & dessert in the lounge. Breakfast was a little difficult as the hostess was curt & not helpful at all. Once settled we did enjoy the meal.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank josflowerbasket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Central, quiet location that's handy to all that Ennis and the local area offer visitors. Good value bar menu and prompt service at lunchtime, with a great trad session in the evening that was unexpected and thoroughly enjoyed by both of us! However, a busy breakfast room, with poor food presentation/limited choice, and slow/unobservant staff detracted from the overall experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We had our wedding banquet then spent the night at the Deluxe Suite. Everything managed and ready by Geraldine Minogue (SALES & EVENTS MANAGER), delighted with her. Restaurant is spotless, food is perfectly cooked and served. The Deluxe Suite is absolutely luxurious, we had breakfast at the room free of charge.

Really pleased with Temple Gate Hotel, would definitely come back!
Sergio.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sergio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gminogue, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Sergio,

Thank you so much for your kind words, it was our pleasure to look after you both on your special day.I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and breakfast of course. Looking forward to welcoming you back to Temple Gate Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Geraldine Minogue
Sales & Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
0.1 mi away
Old Ground Hotel
Old Ground Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,651 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
502 reviews
0.9 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
0.4 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Gate Hotel

Address: The Square, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range: £67 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Temple Gate Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Temple Gate Hotel welcomes you to a charming, family owned and managed Hotel in the heart of Ennis Town, Co. Clare. Offering the perfect location to explore the Wild Atlantic Way and the rugged West Coast of Ireland including The Cliffs of Moher. Temple Gate Hotel, Ennis offers a unique blend of warm hospitality and friendly service. Discreetly situated just off Ennis Town centre, a short walk through the warm glow of the Victorian lamps in the cobblestoned courtyard leads our guests to the heart of the historical and vibrant town of Ennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Temple Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temple Gate Ennis
Hotel Temple Gate
Temple Gate Hotel Ennis, Ireland - County Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing