We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and Dissapointing”
Review of Temple Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Temple Gate Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Deborah D's review, which I will quote here sums it up for me
"We booked this online based upon reviews "#2 hotel " in Ennis. I cannot imagine the others if this is ranked that high! Older furnishings, no hair dryer, no water kettle, stuffy (no ac) and a higher price in comparison to ALL places I've stated over 17 days ALL over Ireland. $120 euros = $163 US No coffee, no tea. Nada. The location is great, room is clean."
Our room was 155 Euros and about $210, so I guess its even worse. The pluses were excellent location, friendly staff, good parking and nice attached pub. We stayed in the Old Ground Hotel, about two blocks away the night before for about 15 Euros less and the Old Ground was way better in every aspect. It was a 4 star type hotel, where this is a two star hotel for more money than the Old Ground. Unfortunately the Old Ground was booked up the next night and we had to stay in the Temple Gate. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else, unless you are paying about 60 to 70 Euros at the Temple Gate. This place is about equal in room and furnishings to the typical budget oriented Super 8 Motel in the US to give you an idea of what you are in for.

Room Tip: Don't stay here unless you are paying around 60 Euros.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine M, Sales & Events Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Brian M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay. We are delighted you enjoyed our central location, complimentary parking, friendly staff & our Preachers Pub. As responded to Deborah D all of our rooms are equipped with hair-dryers & tea & coffee making facilities.
We have recently been reclassified as a 4 star hotel in recognition of our friendly service & excellent food to which you referred, this also included a full refurbishment of the entire hotel over the last 3yrs.

Again thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

Kind regards,

Geraldine Minogue,
Sales & Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (857)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 857 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

We decided to stay in the lovely town of Ennis on our visit to Ireland in May. We chose the Temple Gate Hotel because of its close proximity to town. In fact it is only 2 minutes from town but located in a very quiet area where you can't hear any noise except for the doves cooing outside your window. The parking outside is more than ample. The staff in this hotel are extremely friendly and the rooms are comfortable and clean. The breakfast /dining area is really large with lots of windows. The food is excellent and although we did not eat in the dining room in the evening it is renowned for its wonderful food and ambiance. We ate in the adjoining pub most nights and the food there was excellent too. I guess what I liked best about this hotel was the friendliness and the high quality staff... the front desk, the chef, the waitresses and waiters and the cleaning staff. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hockney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine M, Sales & Events Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Hockey,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review following your recent stay with us, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much and the friendlessness of all our staff & our awarding winning food added to your experience.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Geraldine Minogue
Sales & Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This hotel is located just off O'Connell Square in the center of Ennis. Absolutely walking distance to everywhere makes this a superb location for anyone staying in this quaint town. The room was comfortable and the windows opened, which was a real bonus as it was hot! Breakfast was excellent the next morning. Would highly recommend and definitely will be staying there again next time I'm in Ennis.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torontocanucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine M, Sales & Events Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear TorontoCanucker,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we are delighted you enjoyed our central location which is ideal for discovering our quaint town!
Looking forward to welcoming you back to Temple Gate Hotel & Ennis in the future.

King regards,

Geraldine Minogue
Sales & Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We booked this online based upon reviews "#2 hotel " in Ennis. I cannot imagine the others if this is ranked that high!

Older furnishings, no hair dryer, no water kettle, stuffy (no ac) and a higher price in comparison to ALL places I've stated over 17 days ALL over Ireland. $120 euros = $163 US
No coffee, no tea. Nada.

The location is great, room is clean.

Do self a favor and get a high end room for $95 Euro in limerick and just visit Ennis.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine M, Sales & Events Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Deborah D,

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we were so disappointed to read it. I would like to clarify that all of our rooms are equipped with a hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. The hair dryer is in the drawer at the dressing table and the tea/ coffee making facilities are situated in the wardrobe of every room. I am just sorry that you did not call reception and they would have advised you of the location of the facilities in your room.
All of our rooms have been refurbished within the last 4 years so we are again disappointed that you found them older. However we will take on board your comments and this can only help us to enhance our service to our guests.
If you would like to disuss this with me off-line my direct email address is gminogue@templegatehotel.com
We appreciate all feedback on the hotel. If you are ever planning to come to Ennis again in the near future please contact us and let us have the opportunity to redeem ourselves to you.

Kind regards,
Geraldine Minogue
Sales & Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

A great hotel in the heart of the city and in a converted convent which makes it even more interesting. Very clean, great rooms and a friendly staff. Within easy walking distance to everything in town including many restaurants and pubs. Many of the pubs have Irish music every night. The pub and restaurant in the hotel are very good. The only knock I had was they cater to bus groups who are on a tight schedule and don't handle the breakfast very well, which is the only reason I rated very good rather than excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine M, Sales & Events Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Jack M,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay.
Our central location is ideal for discovering the little cobbled streets of Ennis which make it so unique. Breakfast can get very busy at certain times we will of course take your comments on board.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to Temple Gate Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Geraldine Minogue
Sales & Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

After getting hooked in a Hostel. We transferred to the temple Gate. The service, the rooms, the food, the bar and the staff could not do more for you. We enjoyed the surrounding area. They offered the bus tour from Ennis to Dublin right outside the front door. This is an no hassle place to stay. If I ever go again to Ireland I will stay here again. You can not go wrong.

Room Tip: No words can explain this place other than just outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine M, Sales & Events Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Marty W,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel following your stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, your room, the food & service. The Dublin coach which drops & collects right outside our door is a fantastic service as you mentioned, too & from Dublin city centre.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Temple Gate Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Geraldine Minogue
Sales & Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Well I am so glad that I booked into the Temple Gate Hotel in Ennis (in fact i recommended it to another Aussie on our next stop in Killarney). This is simply a divine hotel right in the middle of Ennis. The staff are super friendly, the food in both the Bar and Restaurant were exceptional and the rooms were very comfortable. I would day is your planning a journey to Ennis check out this beautiful renovated hotel.
The only minor issue was the area where the parking lot is is a little noisy, but if you window is closed it shouldn't bother you too much.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kylie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine M, Sales & Events Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Kylie M,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay in Temple Gate Hotel and of course for recommending us to the 'Aussie' you met in Killarney! We are delighted you enjoyed your meal, bedroom and our friendly staff also.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Temple Gate Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Geraldine Minogue
Sales & Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
0.1 mi away
Old Ground Hotel
Old Ground Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,651 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
502 reviews
0.9 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
0.4 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Gate Hotel

Address: The Square, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range: £67 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Temple Gate Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Temple Gate Hotel welcomes you to a charming, family owned and managed Hotel in the heart of Ennis Town, Co. Clare. Offering the perfect location to explore the Wild Atlantic Way and the rugged West Coast of Ireland including The Cliffs of Moher. Temple Gate Hotel, Ennis offers a unique blend of warm hospitality and friendly service. Discreetly situated just off Ennis Town centre, a short walk through the warm glow of the Victorian lamps in the cobblestoned courtyard leads our guests to the heart of the historical and vibrant town of Ennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Temple Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temple Gate Ennis
Hotel Temple Gate
Temple Gate Hotel Ennis, Ireland - County Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing