We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint...but not the best”
Review of Temple Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Temple Gate Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This is a nice hotel in a nice little village (Ennis, Ireland). It's an old convent converted to a hotel. The problem is, they stopped remodeling when they got to the guest rooms. I thought the ghost of Sister Mary Harry was punishing me for not finishing my prayers. Really. No air and the room was right next to a wall -- so even with the window open it was stuffy & hot. Not the best to sleep. Plus, the TV was older than the MTV network -- honest. I thought it was black & white until we noted a faint hint of red in one of the shows. Oh yeah, 8 channels and 3 were duplicates so technically, only 5 (3 soccer!!!). OK, I know we shouldn't be watching TV when visiting Ireland but when you can't sleep because you are so hot you get bored so you turn on the TV. That said, the restaurant and bar/pub are very nice and the food is pretty good.

Room Tip: If you stay during the winter, it will probably be fine -- don't stay during summer!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rufus54548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine M, Sales & Events Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Rufus,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us in Temple Gate Hotel. Ennis is as you say a beautiful quaint town and we are nestled right in the heart of it. During your stay we were experiencing a rare very warm spell so I can appreciate it was warm in your room.
Upgrading of the televisions is an ongoing process which we are working our way through unfortunately the room in which you stayed is one of a few we still need to upgrade.
As we are located right in the centre of the town it is very hard to guarantee a nice view to all guests however our very central location does compensate for this.

Again thank you for your review, looking forward to welcoming you back to Ennis & Temple Gate Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Geraldine Minogue
Sales & Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (861)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 861 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

We recently stayed at the Temple Gate Hotel for a quiet weekend away and had a fantastic experience.
The staff were very charming and attentive - a real asset to the hotel! They made us feel very welcome and looked after us throughout the whole stay.
We dined in the restaurant which was fabulous. The food was superb and served in a great surroundings. The breakfast choice was also great!
The room we stayed in was spacious and well decorated and the hotel itself is perfectly situated for exploring the stunning Irish West Coast.
We highky recommend this hotel and can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 1610stephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine M, Sales & Events Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Stephanie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with the Trip Advisor community. Your gracious comments on the hotel, food, service and central location are greatly appreciated.
Your feedback will inform future guests what to expect when they visit Temple Gate Hotel.

Thank you once again for your strong endorsement following your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Geraldine Minogue,
Sales & Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Been meaning to write this review for a while so it's a bit late but better late than never.
On St Patricks weekend this year 2014 we celebrated my daughters 30th birthday in The Temple Gate Hotel , Ennis.
We started out with a bubbly reception in the beautiful Library for 21 family members . This was followed by dinner in the Legends Restaurant. There was a very broad choice on the menu and something to suit everybody . Food and service was excellent and after dinner we moved out to the bar for a nightcap.
We had booked a number of rooms for family members who were all delighted with the value and quality of the rooms.
Thanks to all for a wonderful night

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YvonneR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine M, Sales & Events Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Yvonne,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review following your daughters birthday celebration with us it was a pleasure to host your group and all at the hotel graciously appreciate your kind comments.

Looking forward to welcoming you to The Temple Gate Hotel for more family events in the future.

Kind regards,

Geraldine Minogue
Sales & Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I visited friends in Ennis and decided to stay at the Temple Gate Hotel. I found the hotel to be lovely. What struck me most was how friendly and welcoming the staff were. Nothing was too much trouble! The service was great and it is definitely the place to stay in Ennis!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 160AdamT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine M, Sales & Events Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Adam,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us we are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Geraldine Minogue
Sales & Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Deborah D's review, which I will quote here sums it up for me
"We booked this online based upon reviews "#2 hotel " in Ennis. I cannot imagine the others if this is ranked that high! Older furnishings, no hair dryer, no water kettle, stuffy (no ac) and a higher price in comparison to ALL places I've stated over 17 days ALL over Ireland. $120 euros = $163 US No coffee, no tea. Nada. The location is great, room is clean."
Our room was 155 Euros and about $210, so I guess its even worse. The pluses were excellent location, friendly staff, good parking and nice attached pub. We stayed in the Old Ground Hotel, about two blocks away the night before for about 15 Euros less and the Old Ground was way better in every aspect. It was a 4 star type hotel, where this is a two star hotel for more money than the Old Ground. Unfortunately the Old Ground was booked up the next night and we had to stay in the Temple Gate. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else, unless you are paying about 60 to 70 Euros at the Temple Gate. This place is about equal in room and furnishings to the typical budget oriented Super 8 Motel in the US to give you an idea of what you are in for.

Room Tip: Don't stay here unless you are paying around 60 Euros.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine M, Sales & Events Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Brian M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay. We are delighted you enjoyed our central location, complimentary parking, friendly staff & our Preachers Pub. As responded to Deborah D all of our rooms are equipped with hair-dryers & tea & coffee making facilities.
We have recently been reclassified as a 4 star hotel in recognition of our friendly service & excellent food to which you referred, this also included a full refurbishment of the entire hotel over the last 3yrs.

Again thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

Kind regards,

Geraldine Minogue,
Sales & Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We decided to stay in the lovely town of Ennis on our visit to Ireland in May. We chose the Temple Gate Hotel because of its close proximity to town. In fact it is only 2 minutes from town but located in a very quiet area where you can't hear any noise except for the doves cooing outside your window. The parking outside is more than ample. The staff in this hotel are extremely friendly and the rooms are comfortable and clean. The breakfast /dining area is really large with lots of windows. The food is excellent and although we did not eat in the dining room in the evening it is renowned for its wonderful food and ambiance. We ate in the adjoining pub most nights and the food there was excellent too. I guess what I liked best about this hotel was the friendliness and the high quality staff... the front desk, the chef, the waitresses and waiters and the cleaning staff. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hockney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine M, Sales & Events Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Hockey,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review following your recent stay with us, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much and the friendlessness of all our staff & our awarding winning food added to your experience.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Geraldine Minogue
Sales & Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This hotel is located just off O'Connell Square in the center of Ennis. Absolutely walking distance to everywhere makes this a superb location for anyone staying in this quaint town. The room was comfortable and the windows opened, which was a real bonus as it was hot! Breakfast was excellent the next morning. Would highly recommend and definitely will be staying there again next time I'm in Ennis.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torontocanucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine M, Sales & Events Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear TorontoCanucker,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we are delighted you enjoyed our central location which is ideal for discovering our quaint town!
Looking forward to welcoming you back to Temple Gate Hotel & Ennis in the future.

King regards,

Geraldine Minogue
Sales & Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
0.1 mi away
Old Ground Hotel
Old Ground Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,659 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
511 reviews
0.9 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
4.7 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,308 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Gate Hotel

Address: The Square, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range: £67 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Temple Gate Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Temple Gate Hotel welcomes you to a charming, family owned and managed Hotel in the heart of Ennis Town, Co. Clare. Offering the perfect location to explore the Wild Atlantic Way and the rugged West Coast of Ireland including The Cliffs of Moher. Temple Gate Hotel, Ennis offers a unique blend of warm hospitality and friendly service. Discreetly situated just off Ennis Town centre, a short walk through the warm glow of the Victorian lamps in the cobblestoned courtyard leads our guests to the heart of the historical and vibrant town of Ennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Temple Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temple Gate Ennis
Hotel Temple Gate
Temple Gate Hotel Ennis, Ireland - County Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing