We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and Unique B&B”
Review of Newpark House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ennis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Newpark House
Ranked #2 of 33 Ennis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful and Unique B&B”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night on our road trip across Ireland. We stayed in a few B&Bs in Ireland and this one was by far the most unique. The house had so much character. The sitting room was large and full of antiques. Another room was full of Ireland travel books. The owners were so wonderful and gracious, making sure we had everything we needed. You could not find a lovelier couple.The room was cozy and felt like we were staying in someones house. Our room even came with a balcony that you could sit on. Breakfast was great and we loved eating at the large dining table. If we ever travel through Ennis again well be sure to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CurranWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    36
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
41
80
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We were initially only going to stay at Newpark House for one night, but after spending a couple of hours, decided we'd forgo the next B&B and stay another night here. It was an absolutely beautiful home. For the first time on our trip, we found a place that had a matching interior to its exterior. I honestly felt like I could envision people living in this house in another time period.
Both our room and our friends' room were beautiful with window seats and antique furniture. The bathrooms were AMAZING - gigantic bathtubs and the most impressive hot water we saw the entire time we were in Ireland. The dining room was beautiful and was set each morning with fine china and the breakfast was delicious.

When we checked in, Declan told us that he'd be more than happy to start a fire for us in the common room if we were interested. After seeing the common rooms at some of the other B&Bs, I didn't think I'd be too keen on it. Then I saw this common room. It was amazing! We spent our entire last night by the fire in that room and had one of the most memorable nights of our trip. Declan was so nice and chatted to us about his time in the states and was so friendly.

All in all, we totally recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Oregon, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

When we arrived at the B&B, the gentleman host led us to our room and quickly hurried off. We were not givin a tour of the place; where we could hang out at, or the history of the house. Throughout our whole stay, we felt like an inconvenience to the family and not really wanted. We were not sure if we had said or done something to make the family upset in any way. The gentleman host seem to be nice and accommodating to all of the other guests. He wasn't necessarily rude to us, but definitely didn't seem genuinely nice. Our room was clean and bed was ok and we even had a balcony that we could go out and have a sit on. The bathroom was nice as well; however, the water pressure was iffy and the hot water did not stay hot too long. The breakfast was average, and the server lady seemed to be in a rush to get you in and out of breakfast fast. She seemed nice but not willing to be personable and chat. When we left, the gentleman host was no where to be found to see us off or for us to pay for our stay. The lady was there, took our payment and was very short with us. Didn't even say thank you for coming or we appreciate your business. Would not recommend this place if you want a social atmosphere. Only if you want a unique house with character.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Thank you Declan and Bernie for sharing your wonderful home with us. We thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of our stay from the supersize shower with heaps of hot water, to the absolutely delicious breakfasts. It was our only stay which served yummy berries for our cereal.
Your family history expertise was an added bonus Declan as we are experienced researchers but still learnt heaps from you. We would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussienanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This family owned mansion is the perfect place to stay in Ennis. We stopped by for one night as we were flying out of Shannon, and I wish we could have stayed longer! It is quiet, charming, and run by the best hosts. We stayed at a lot of places during our two weeks in Ireland, and this was the best one! We could have not asked for a better B&B and will come back again. Thanks Declan and Bernie!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klanahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

As we drove into modern Ennis, we were thrilled to make the turn into the Newpark house drive. Suddenly, we were transported to a different time. The house seems like the setting for a Merchant Ivory film. The house is charming, located on acres of lawn and wooded property. The rooms are comfortable and the bathrooms were clean. The public rooms, including a library, are filled with books about the area, period furniture, and family photos. One member of our party said, "it's like staying with a grand-aunt." Given the sense of seclusion, you may forget you are in the middle of town. However, we were just a short walk from the local pub, where we had dinner. Breakfast was delicious. Fresh berries, eggs, sausages, and a variety of other offerings made this a scrumptious start to our day. If you're looking for a modern hotel, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for charm, an historic feel, a warm welcome, good food, and comfort, this is definitely the place to stay while visiting the west coast of Ireland.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TryingoutTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Spezia, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

One night is not enough for us in this wonderful place.
Rooms were incredible,like an ancient castel but with all comforts.
Really a lovely place and all was very good
Thanks for all to Declan and if we come back in Ireland this will be our first place to go!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claudio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ennis hotels
3.1 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
420 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,555 reviews
1.2 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
1.9 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newpark House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newpark House

Property: Newpark House
Address: Tulla Road, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Ennis
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Newpark House Hotel Ennis
Newpark House Ennis, Ireland - County Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing