We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a wonderful find”
Review of Newpark House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ennis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Newpark House
Ranked #2 of 34 Ennis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I found Newpark manor on Tripadvisor when I was looking for a place near Shannon to spend our last two nights in Ireland. It looked interesting and a bit quirky, and sounded like just the place for us, including the references to genealogy since my wife is Irish-Canadian on both sides. It was everything we hoped for and more. Beautiful antiques-filled manor house surrounded by 50 acres of quiet grounds with ruins, paths, cows, chickens, dogs and a cat. This place is probably not for everyone -- it is not like staying in a new hotel -- but I am recommending it to everyone I know who travels to Ireland, and I wouldn't consider staying elsewhere on our next trip. Really unique and lovely. If you go, take Declan's advice (he left the brochure in our room) and take the two - three hours Burren walk with Tony Kirby. It was one of the highlights of our trip. One of the many, many highlights, I might add. Bed was great, reading material rich and deep, and only 20 minutes to Shannon airport. Make sure you understand that it isn't a chain hotel and you'll love it.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a larger bed than the other rooms we looked at. If you're well over six feet as I am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HowardPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013

In Nick Carraway's words (Fitzgerald), "not everyone has had the advantages I have had," and I am most blessed to have been able to travel to Ireland and land at the Newpark House in Ennis, County Clare, for a week. Accompanied by my husband and joining siblings and their spouses across the pond was exquisite, and sharing our trip with the proprietors extraordinaire (Declan and his Mum Bernie), elevated our experience to beyond expectations. The house is gorgeous, homey, historic, secluded yet close to conveniences, and story-book picturesque.
The location was perfect for all our day trips, to the Cliffs of Moher, the Dingle Peninsula, the Aran Islands (via boat out of Doolin), Milltown Malbay for the Willie Clancy music festival, Spanish Point, and of course, the lovely town of Ennis with many shops and unique boutiques and quaint historic pubs alive in the evenings with traditional Irish music.
The included breakfast was a daily feast with many choices for all tastes; I especially loved the variety of fresh breads and scones and biscuits and the many flavors of homemade jams and marmalades, special "sides" to whatever breakfast chosen.
As is typical when you return from a magical experience, you are quick to plan a return visit. My husband (Dan) and I are already looking forward a future trip that includes a stay at the Newpark House. We highly recommend it! Char (and Dan) Hall

Room Tip: Rooms 2 and 3 share a large balcony overlooking the ruins on the grounds below and the charming gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My husband and I spent our last two nights at Newpark House four years ago and it was our absolute favorite of the eight days we were in Ireland. We liked it so much that when we planned a return journey for this summer with my sister and brother and their spouses, I wrote to Declan to secure rooms for an entire week. We asked for our beautiful room with canopy bed, window seats and sitting area (Room 5) back again and he offered the two rooms that share a balcony (Rooms 2 and 3) for the other two couples. It was perfect! I hadn't realized how big the balcony is; it was like having an extra room that we all shared, especially in the evenings after busy days, overlooking the lovely garden and yard. The property is secluded and peaceful, the house is historic and Bronte-esque with gorgeous and appropriate furnishings; the rooms and ensuite baths are very roomy and clean; the hosts (the very gracious Declan and his wonderful Mum Bernie) do anything and everything to ensure that their guests are comfortable and happy and have all the best information for nearby attractions and best travel routes and just everything right down to researching their ancestry. They truly go above and beyond and are great conversationalists to boot! Breakfast is exquisite; so much variety even if you don't choose the delicious full Irish breakfast with eggs from their own hens and finally done to perfection. The fresh fruit, unique yogurts, and homemade porridge are topped if you wish by fresh berries picked right there on the property. Even the resident pups are a pleasure to know! (Our favorite was Jesse with the bushy eyebrows and Irish face!) It is just so comfortable and homey, yet so elegant at the same time, it is a place you just have to experience to really appreciate. And Ennis is the perfect hub for short trips to Doolin, the Cliffs of Moher, Galway, Bunratty, the Burren, and our favorite, Milltown Malbay for the annual Willie Clancy Music Festival. Shannon Airport is a quick and easy 20 minutes away.

Needless to say, we can't wait to return to Newpark House. It gets our highest recommendation.

Cathie (and Rick) Barry

Room Tip: Please see above for our favorites, but we peaked at every room and they are all lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick and Cathie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Newpark House in Ennis. The historic property is charming and surrounded by many acres of woods and pastures to explore. Our room was very comfortable; breakfasts were excellent. Our hosts, Bernie and Declan, were delightful and very accommodating.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We were in Ireland on our Honeymoon and I really wanted to stay in a castle; so I was sad when I found out they were 500 EUR a night!!! When my husband found this B&B I was so happy because it was really like a minature Castle. Kind of like something you would see in a pride and prejudice era. The whole house was decorated and don eup so nicely. There is a drawing room and a big dinning room. Breakfast was served at the big table and gave guests a chance to chat about where they were from and where they had been. The food was great. The rooms were neat and the bed was one of the comfiest we had throughout our trip.
Also, the grounds were neat to check out and it was only a 5minute drive from the city centre. It felt like you were out in the country with no noise and there was even a beautiful field full of buttecups out front.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caitlin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Newpark House is a great place to stay in a country setting. It is beautifully decorated and there are lots of comfy places to lounge and relax. Our rooms were spacious and comfortable and breakfast was delicious. We all appreciated the lovely ambiance of the house and the warm hospitality of the hosts. Our stay here was a special treat.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank corkybleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed at the Newpark House for one night in May 2013 and it was really beautiful and on very nice grounds. The room was nice, the decor in the entire house was beautiful. I wish we would not have been so rushed and could have spent more time walking around the grounds and getting to know Declan, our host a little better. The breakfast was very good. If I ever come back to Ireland, I will plan on staying here again and seeing if I can find out some more about my ancestry. I didn't get a lot of chances to talk to Declan very much during our visit but whenever I spoke with Declan via email before our trip he was always very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dreamchaserme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
1.3 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,624 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
477 reviews
1.2 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
4.8 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,244 reviews
1.9 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newpark House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newpark House

Address: Tulla Road, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Ennis
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Newpark House Hotel Ennis
Newpark House Ennis, Ireland - County Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing