We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated and Not Worth It! Even for a 400 Year Old House!”
Review of Newpark House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ennis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Newpark House
Ranked #2 of 34 Ennis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

So different than our other experience in Ennis staying at Glenomra! Bernie was very nice but Declan gave us the impression he was too busy or maybe just sick of having guests. The next morning when we went down to breakfast and asked for tea, Declan asked why we hadn't made some in the room. And then when we told him we were out of toilet paper, he argued that he had put 2 rolls in. There was only part of one roll when we arrived and we only stayed one night. Bernie seems like the one who should be out front dealing with the guests, although her scones were very good too! The dogs were probably the best part of staying there and although the room was nice, for E100, it just wasn't welcoming enough.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Constance S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

Both Declan & Bernie - dynamic hosts, extremely flexible and accomodating to ones needs. The house has a beautiful dining area where one can spend hours talking whilst eating fresh home made food. Breakfast was available even for my very early morning departure. Thank you.
The bedrooms were clean, spacious, comfortable and excellent bathroom conditions. I was very pleasantly surprised at immediate hot water in the bathroom, given the age of the house. Well done.
Considering the age of the house, interior wood structures etc, it had a fragrance of age. One must expect this and let it grow on one, plus take in the history of the house and its surroundings.
The library and formal sitting area with open hearth fire were lovely. Declan is a well versed geneologist and offers great assistance using his large reference library.
The house location offers quiet, relaxation and a place to gather ones thoughts. It is also only 10 minutes easy car drive to Ennis town.
Thank you for the marvellous time and I look forward to coming once again.
Rob.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert_SF3918OX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We booked at Newpark House on the recommendation of family. It was the perfect introduction to a gracious Irish country home and just a 5 min walk from a great pub/restaurant as well. The charm of the home and grounds, the lovely breakfast presentation, and the welcome of two sweet dogs allowed us to quickly adjust for jet-lag and continue our travel plan. It was like returning home to spend our last night in Ireland here and it was a perfect ending to our trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaroChampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

We booked here to catch an early flight out of Shannon. It is a lovely property, and feels like your miles away from town. The old house is a little creaky and musty smelling on the main floors, but our room was fine. We actually had the best sleep here on our entire trip-bed was super comfy! 25 min to the airport, so can't beat the location. Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agent_Becksey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Drove up to house and it looked just like the pictures. Large sitting area with antique decor and fireplace burning peat. Library with tons of books on Ireland and geneology. Unfortunely we don 't have Irish ancestors. Room lovely with half canopy over bed. Two large window seats. I made some tea and sat in window seat with sun streaming in and pretended I was the lady of the manor:) Bathroom very nice. Only thing I had problem with was shower. It was heated by a propane heater in shower. Only had a half min window of warm water. Otherwise it was scalding hot or freezing cold. Breakfast good. Easy walk to small shopping center with grocery and two resteraunts. Would book here again despite the shower.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ludwig001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

Just finished a two-night stay here while visiting friends in Ennis. Feels like you're a million miles from town, yet two minute walk to Roslevan center (restaurant, grocery store) and still an easy walk to downtown Ennis. Lovely old house with amazing grounds. If high water pressure and downtown traffic noise is your preference, this may not be for you. But if you want the character of a 300 yr old house and very gracious hosts, I would recommend you stay here. Hope to stay again the next visit I have to Ireland. Thanks to Declan and Bernie for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hikerm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We enjoyed our 1-night stay in this lovely house. We had some issues with a flight cancellation that caused us to arrive about 11:30pm, but the owner, Declan was very understanding and was so nice to wait up for us. The next morning, the breakfast was superb. I highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seeitall417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ennis hotels
1.3 mi away
Old Ground Hotel
Old Ground Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,675 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
525 reviews
1.2 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
870 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
2 mi away
Knocklyon House B&B
Knocklyon House B&B
#4 of 34 in Ennis
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newpark House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newpark House

Address: Tulla Road, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Ennis
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Newpark House Hotel Ennis
Newpark House Ennis, Ireland - County Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing