We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“thanks for your hospitality Mary”
Review of Grey Gables B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grey Gables B & B
Ranked #3 of 33 Ennis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“thanks for your hospitality Mary”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

My daughter and I spent two nights recently with Mary at Grey Gable
s. The accommodation was comfortable, the location very central and convenient, and Mary's hospitality was warm and helpful. Highlights include the sunny breakfast room where conversation flows easily between fellow travellers, sometimes aided by introductions by our hostess. Would thoroughly recommend Grey Gables B& B.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Bryony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    82
    26
    19
    12
See reviews for
66
137
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Grey Gables is within easy walking distance of the train station/bus depot. The rooms are generous in size, it is quiet and the breakfasts are superb. Mary is most helpful on how to get around in and near Ennis. We had no car (I would not dream of driving on what is for us the wrong side of the road) and Mary set us up with a qualified driver at a reasonable rate for a day trip to the Cliffs of Mohr and the Barren (sp?). Ennis is wonderful and we found there the traditional Irish music we were looking for. This music we could not find in Dublin. On our next trip to Ennis we will surely stay with Mary at Grey Gables.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raleigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon, Ireland
Level Contributor
344 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed here some time ago so am not sure how relevant this review is but here it goes anyway. I found the owner very curt and not very friendly but that was just my opinion. However the B&B itself really was beautiful and in a great location. The room was beautiful and very spacious. The towels however in the bathroom were tiny. I would not stay here again but I cant fault it for location and standard

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ciarammcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Although this review comes quite late, my friend and I visited Ireland last July and took the bus from Shannon Airport to Ennis and Grey Gables. We had previously taken a tour a couple of years ago and decided this time to do it on our own (and with the help of Rick Steves' great book we had a fantastic trip). We enjoyed Grey Gables so much! We arrived early morning, and as we knew that our room wouldn't be ready, had arranged to take the Ennis walking tour (very informative - www.enniswalkingtours.com) until our room would be ready. Mary invited us to come in and have tea before we left for town. We stayed there for two very enjoyable nights. Loved the room, the hostess and Ennis!

Room Tip: B & B is close to the bus and train station in Ennis and an easy walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caro71210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

After a last minute decision that morning, my husband and I decided to change our final city destination in Ireland to Ennis in order to be closer to Shannon Airport for our departure two days later. We found Grey Gables B and B in our Rick Steve's guidebook and rang Mary the proprietor on a chance that she would have a double en suite room for two nights on such short notice. She was at once lovely and accomidating. We arrived in from Dingle and sightseeing about 5pm to a beautiful B and B slightly away from town (able to avoid driving in town) and with its own car park (a luxury). She greeted us with a smile immediately and showed us to a wonderful room! The entire facility is so unique and gorgeous. It was by far the prettiest property we had stayed in the entire time in Ireland. There was even a coffee/tea bar that could be accessed at any time by the guests which came in really handy. We were planning on leaving for Shannon Airport (which was a very convenient distance away...about 20 minutes) at 4:45am on day of departure. Mary had cereal and juice out for us so we would have something to grab on our way out. This unexpected stop was a treasure for us in every way. GREAT EXPERIENCE!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizshugart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We're late in reviewing due to extended travel, but a family group of 5 of us on a genealogical tour stayed at Grey Gables on both our incoming and departure legs from Shannon. All the rooms were spacious, cutely furnished, immaculate, comfortable and quiet. Ensuite bathrooms were immaculate, well stocked and comfortable.The full irish breakfasts were the best we had anywhere, the charming grounds are beautifully landscaped and tended, and this B&B was just a 5-minute walk to town. Hosts Mary Keane and her son, Fergyl, made our stay fun, special, and warm. I cannot rave enough. When we return to Ireland, we'll stay at Grey Gables just to see Mary and have one more of her fabulous breakfasts!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms were a little bigger with views of the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEBORAH R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Fantastic little BnB. Very cute, well presented and decorated. Rented a single room which has a double bed. The bed was soft and so were the sheets!  It was so comfy you wouldn't want to get up in the morning. The ensuite bathroom was actually outside the room. But that's okay as it is for your private use.  The host, Mary, was very helpful and accommodating, serving breakfast earlier than normal due to the early start of our tour group. Breakfast was good - try her potato waffles! Only problem was wi-fi didn't quite reach my room. But got to sit in their pretty and cosy sitting room.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kmnyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ennis hotels
0.1 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,534 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
0.7 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Gables B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Gables B & B

Property: Grey Gables B & B
Address: Grey Gables Station Road, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Grey Gables B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grey Gables Hotel Ennis
Grey Gables Bed And Breakfast
Grey Gables B & B Ennis, Ireland - County Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing