We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to the City Center”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grey Gables B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grey Gables B & B
Ranked #3 of 35 Ennis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Close to the City Center”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

My husband and I stayed with Mary at the Grey Gables for 3 nights in mid-May. The room was comfortable and clean. Our only complaint was that the hardwood floors in the hallways and rooms creaked and echoed quite a bit. We didn't know if we were disturbing anyone else or not but we felt like we had to be exceedingly quiet (and to walk on tip-toes) to avoid disturbing others. The big breakfast room is decorated well and Mary makes a nice effort to introduce her guests to each other to help get the conversation flowing. The town is quaint and the B &B is a 5-minute walk to the City Center and to the bus/train station.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carpediemejc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    80
    25
    18
    12
See reviews for
65
132
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland OH
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Mary is a friendly hostess with a lovely B and B painted in gorgeous, bold colors. I loved seeing the sun come in on her yellow and orange walls in the afternoon. Very cheery. We had breakfast at a large table in her dining room, joined by other travelers, which made for good conversation and a lively breakfast. Mary recommended a good place for dinner, too, in town and within walking distance of Grey Gables. Another positive Irish bed and breakfast experience!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JackieCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Mary Keame's Grey Gable has beautiful, modern rooms and is close to the great pubs and restaurants. The price was very reasonable. We definitely recommend a stay at the Grey Gable! Mary is a very sweet host.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BJMegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Md
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

My niece and I enjoyed staying at Mary Keane's Grey Gables. I attended a recent genealogy conference in Ennis, and we stayed with her for six nights. We always looked forward to the large breakfast in her cheery dining room. The museli was outstanding. Our room was large and comfortable, and we slept very well in the beds. One really nice thing Mary provided for her guests were sheets of directions to a number of places where many tourists would like to go. We used them a number of times. Mary also wanted to make sure that we were enjoying ourselves and getting out and seeing things. We would definitely stay there again. The b and b was also a very convenient walk to the places I needed to go for talks and meetings.

Room Tip: I don't have any information on this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MdEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

First time in Ireland from the US. We found this hidden treasure quiter by accident. Turning down a wrong road while looking for lodging, and found this place. This B&B is setup in cozy little sections. The room is setup so nicely. I loved the bed (like a princess bed) Great sleep,,, Everything looks like it is brand new, and very cool. Had free Wi-Fi.. that was a plus. The morning breakfast was fabulous too. First time I have ever hear of potatoe waffles, but yummy.. Thing to note is.. bring Cash.. no credit cards here. Worth it:)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia_Yue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

Mary was so friendly that by the end of my stay i felt like part of her family . we arrived late at night and it was very cold getting into bed , but in the wardrobe were extra duvets so we used them it was not a problem , Mary asked how we slept and we said it was cold , she then left the heating on until 2 in the morning for us . The rooms were spotless and there was everything we needed ie. hair dryer , hot drinks maker , good bedding , good hanging space and drawers ..and the service was second to none , the food was excellent and she made sure we had plenty of fresh and hot drinks . There was a hot drinks station in the hall way no matter what time of day or night you could have a nice cup of tea or coffee .This bed and breakfast is right on the edge of the town centre and within walking distance

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gina w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

We took advice from a restaurant waiter..not smart! As soon as we arrived...Mary did not even welcome us..she just commented on how much luggage we had. Our bed were very old (pulled back the sheets and looked at the mattresses...did I mention sheets? The were mismatched and ancient probably bought at a second hand store. I am glad I took my own pillow! The next morning she told us we had to wait for breakfast because there were not enough tables. The breakfast was not very good..they had very little to choose from. The wifi was only available in the very small sitting area. Mary was still unfriendly...(she probably shelpt on an old, hard icky bed too). It was also not too easy to find....This was the worst place we stayed on our whole trip of 10 days....Sorry Mary.

Room Tip: The best room is in another bed and breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jodi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ennis hotels
0.1 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
0.2 mi away
Banner Lodge
Banner Lodge
#7 of 9 in Ennis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Gables B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Gables B & B

Property: Grey Gables B & B
Address: Grey Gables Station Road, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Grey Gables B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grey Gables Bed And Breakfast
Grey Gables Hotel Ennis
Grey Gables B & B Ennis, Ireland - County Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing