We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff - avarage B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ennis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Magowna House Hotel
Ranked #29 of 33 Ennis B&B and Inns
Israel
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice staff - avarage B&B”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This is a small hotel with very friendly staff. We arrive to the hotel a bit late as we had problems finding it even with the assistance of a GPS system. The restaurant of the hotel was our only option to eat dinner as the hotel is located far from the city. The lady at the front desk asked the restaurant to wait for us and not close the kitchen - which was very nice. The rooms are very big and comfortable but the shower is in poor condition with not enough hot water and it did not feel very clean. The hotel walls are very thin and we could hear the family staying next to us loud and clear. Breakfast was also a bit disappointing with not enough options to choose from. For a one night stay I guess it's OK but I would rather look for a better place next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiDa_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    2
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Athlone, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in early July. We are a family of 9, so I was worried how we would manage in a hotel as we usually go self catering. We were treated as though we were part of the family, very friendly staff, who were very anxious to please. An informal, laid back athmosphere which suited me down to the ground, and I was totally relaxed. Lovely rooms, comfortable and clean and large. Very good food in evening and very good value for money. Ideally situated to see Co Clare's many attractions.

Room Tip: All rooms unique, fabulous!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

a lovely family run hotel great rooms ,and the rates not bad for summer,nice bar (used by locals thats a good sign) our little one loved it and we felt she was safe,close to all the main visitor centers in the Clare and limerick area.
phone -065-688-9009

the m golf is a BIT over grown,

Room Tip: book early,dancing on sunday nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ballymount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We didn't stay in the hotel but went as a group for a party with a few kids. All the meals ordered were very good and the staff very helpful. They did all they could to ensure that the day was perfect. Will go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHD_Clare1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I recently organized a family event there and it was a fantastic day for everyone.
The staff didn't spare their efforts to make everything perfect!

The food is also generous and of high standard and I returned several times since just for diner.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SilverBarrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Lake, MN
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Daughter Bridget and I stayed at Magowna the last week of October, 2012, and due to hurricane sandy closing the airports, were welcomed by Steve and Corina to stay the two days more forced by the storm. They went out of their way to cater to us as family, the great food showed that Steve is a first class chef, and the bar and group hall make it a complete facility for any gathering, wedding, benefit, or just a time to meet long lost cousins. Mike O'Loughlin, Maple Lake, MN USA Bridget O'Loughlin, Ft. Lauderdale, FL USA

Room Tip: We had a room on the parking lot in front and had no trouble, some noise from the bar on occasion bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MPOLOUGHLIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Small hotel/guesthouse, very friendly young couple running the place. They did everything to make our stay as enjoyable as possible.
Had a newly decorated modern room which was very comfortable with a lovely view looking over the pitch & putt course & surrounding area. Had a gorgeous meal with a fine helping in the cosey traditional style bar where we met locals alike over a few drinks.
Breakfast was first class and we will definately be caling again to stay for a couple of nights with friends & alsolooking forward to try out the pitch and putt course.

Room Tip: Ask for the balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holidayworldgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ennis hotels
2.6 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
821 reviews
2.4 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Knocklyon House B&B
Knocklyon House B&B
#3 of 33 in Ennis
41 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ardilaun Guesthouse
Ardilaun Guesthouse
#9 of 33 in Ennis
98 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rowan Tree Hostel
Rowan Tree Hostel
#1 of 9 in Ennis
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magowna House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magowna House Hotel

Property: Magowna House Hotel
Address: Inch, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magowna House Hotel is reopened under new management. The Norah Daly bar and Mount Callan Function room are ready for business. We are hosting weekly dances in our function room and taking further bookings for weddings, christenings, conferences and other functions for its use. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Magowna House Hotel Ennis, Ireland - County Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing