We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
meath
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dreadful Place”
Reviewed 6 May 2011

Looked this hotel up through Tripadvisor looked lovely had a very good deal for a family of 4. Well pictures were obviously taken by a professional & touched up because the rooms looked nothing like they really are. We booked by phone for a family room, 1 double bed & 2 singles. When we checked in, reception nice, we went to our room, oh my god, it was filthy, there was mould on the windows, the room smelled, the bathroom was a step back in time to the 70s, there was 1 double & 1 single. So we just couldn't stay there. My husband went to complain & was just handed back the money straight away no apology. They must be used to it. So we had to spend the next 3 hours searching for a place to stay after already driving 3 hours to get there, with 2 very tired small children wondering where we were going to sleep. Very upsetting. Think Tripadvisor should go & check out these places themselves. Shocking!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meathblondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrelandICH, Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 3 June 2011
The Auburn Lodge Hotel will continue to upgrade and improve service and standard in the bedrooms and all other areas within the hotel. Any error or problem which occurs at the hotel are taken care of immediately and noted so the same does not happen again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    320
    181
    126
    92
See reviews for
243
387
47
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Auburn for a funeral in Ennis. The cost was 90 euro per night, including breakfast. Very expensive for this type of hotel. We WERE staying 2 nights.

Upon arrival, we were met with an old musty smell in the area that serves food during the day. Obviously, put us right off. We waited for 5 minutes for someone to come back to the cash register so we could pay for coffee, that was now cool. Had to get the woman dishing out dinners to go find someone.

Our room was a fine size with sparse furniture. The bathroom was clean enough, with one tiny round soap for two people. We found it chilly and asked how to turn on the heat. It is controlled by reception and they said it would not be turned on again until the next day between 9 and 10 am! They sent up a heater at our request. We asked to change rooms. There was nothing available.

There was another part of the building facing our window and had lights that stayed on all night. My husband played with the curtains to keep the light out, which he did, except for the top that still had the light shining in. We went to bed at about 10 pm for an early start and found the noise from other rooms, people walking in the hallway, televisions, toilets flushing, showers running, doors slamming to be outrageous. We finally slept and at 1am we were awakened by a loud bang and laughing and talking above us and next to us.

I called reception and told the male porter that this was unacceptable. He said he would investigate. He called us back about 10 minutes later and said he was standing in the hall way and could only hear some loud televisions and dismissed my husband. We listened to someone's television for another hour in either French or Italian.....we couldn't tell.

The bed creaked every time you moved and although there was a duvet on the top, the bottom sheet was not fitted, so every time you moved, the mattress was exposed. Yuck.

There were cobwebs on the walls, 2 lights didn't work and we had to move the mirror from its high vantage down to the table by the plugs.

We had been told by friends not to expect much for breakfast.....they were correct. Everything, eggs, sausage, bacon was cold, served buffet style set-up. A man at the next table said he was there before and you had to ask if you wanted it hot. My husband asked the waitress and she came back with fresh 5 minutes later.

We went to reception to discuss the room and last night's horrible sleep. The woman was very nice, but said the night porter was also the night manager and didn't think there was anything that bad! We would not receive a discount of anything per him! I said we were checking out and paid the 90 euro. She was apologetic when i told her that i was going to put a review on every website i could find to warn others.

The waitress at breakfast and the woman at reception were nice. That is the best i can say about this hotel.

It is too far to walk into town and i would say that any review that calls this even a 2 star hotel is not telling the whole story. It is far to expensive for the area and the quality and the economy.

After checking this site (would have normally done, but all happened too fast), we checked into the #1 hotel on trip advisor for our second night and paid the same price. There was no comparison. It was lovely and convenient to every thing in Ennis. We met a couple from NYC who had also been at the Auburn for one night a week ago and had left due to their room. They didn't get a refund either.

In this day and age of smart travelers, it is beyond me the way this hotel operates. I have seen the pat management responses today to bad reviews. That is the same attitude they have in person.

Ennis is a beautiful town with much to see and do. If we were there as first time visitors, this hotel would have put a true damper on our trip.

I hope this review helps others avoid the night we had to endure.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alish2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrelandICH, Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 3 June 2011
Thanks for the review. It is very disappointing to hear your comments. We always welcome both positive and negative feedback from clients.The Auburn Lodge Hotel will continue to upgrade and improve service and standard in the bedrooms and all other areas within the hotel. Any error or problem which occurs at the hotel are taken care of immediately and noted so the same does not happen again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ennis hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2011

we stayed here for a week during the all irelands feis.
the older part of the hotel needs updating, but leisure centre very good.
the staff were excellent and went out of there way to help you.
especially steve in the bar.
food was very good,
overall not a bad week just felt the rooms at the back of the hotel let it down a bit,
near enough to town, and you have to visit Lahinch.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackocomms28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrelandICH, Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 3 June 2011
Thanks for the review. It is great to hear the positive feedback from clients. The Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre is an ideal base for visitng Ennis Town and touring the many wonders of County Clare & the West of Ireland. All are Welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
motherwell
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Hi we arrived in Shannon and got a taxi to hotel (standard 35 euros from shannon apt) It was only then I realised just how far out of town the Auburn Lodge really is. There is a Lidl next door but nothing else for at least a mile nad then its a couple of shops and Mcdonalds. Thankfully as the food was very average in the hotel with expensive prices. nearly 12 euros for 2 scoops of mash, 2 sausage and hard boiled carrots and brocolli.

The rooms are very very basic but clean enough and reception staff were friendly as were the waiters/bar staff.

If you dont mind a good half hour walk into Ennis centre its the place to be.

In my opinion there are far better hotels in the centre for similar prices

Room Tip: Car essential plenty of parking space
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MotherwellTravellass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrelandICH, Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 3 June 2011
Thanks for the review. It is great to receive feedback from our clients. The Auburn Lodge Hotel endeavours to make all customers to have an enjoyable stay. The Auburn Lodge Hotel is constantly improving the quality and service provided in all areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TIPPERARY
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

hi arrived here just a couple of weekends ago, were stayin with my husband and 3 daughters, i booked our room, which i booked through a voucher i had recieved and booked another room later for my friends from england. the room i got was awful, springs commin through the mattress, smelly, old fashioned and a manky stained carpet that i hated even walkin on. when i got to the room i texted my english friends to warn them about the conditions of the rooms.. that night we all met up in the bar and had a few drinks, my english friends were content with there room which supprised me. that night sleepin was impossible as the spring were comming through the well used mattress. i went to see my friends room to check their condition. there room was fab, cream clean carpet, clean bathroom and a bright and airy room. i complained straight away and was upgraded from the slums. it seems that this hotel has two different floors, one awful and one good. i cant understand why then they put people in these awful dated room. its 2011 and people will not take crap anymore.. pity that we had to endure that.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VALEKIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrelandICH, Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 3 June 2011
Thanks for the review. We always welcome both positive and negative feedback from clients.The Auburn Lodge Hotel will continue to upgrade and improve service and standard in the bedrooms and all other areas within the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2011

My boyfriend and I flew into Shannon on 14th March 2011 for an impromptu Ireland trip. We did our research and decided we were going to visit Clare and Kerry. We booked the Auburn Lodge for our first night having earlier emailed re our early arrival. They let us check in at 8am in the morning for no extra charge and were very helpful about everything. Our room was very clean and pretty modern. Very satisfied with same but it was really the friendliness of this hotel that stood out and this was to be the trend for all of our trip.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbiedesmarais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrelandICH, Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 24 March 2011
Thanks for your review. The Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre is an ideal base for visitng Ennis Town and touring the many wonders of County Clare & the West of Ireland. All are Welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

From reading the reviews on here after booking I was really worried about where I'd end up but I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is a little tired in some areas but maybe I got lucky because my room was lovely (except for the view which was of the illuminated German supermarket sign nextdoor!). I was pleased with the quality for the price.

The restaurant food was very good at both breakfast and dinner and the drinks at the bar were mega cheap (always a bonus!).

It's a little out of the way so I probably wouldn't stay again, but for the price I couldn't fault it!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glasker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrelandICH, Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 23 March 2011
Thanks for the review. It is great to hear the positive feedback from clients. The Auburn Lodge Hotel is constantly improving the quality and service provided in all areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
2.6 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
449 reviews
2.4 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
821 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
5.9 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre

Property: Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
Address: Galway Road, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 Star Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre is one of the leading Ennis Hotels which is famed for its traditional music and warm hospitality. The rooms at the Auburn Lodge Hotel Ennis are furnished with your comfort in mind and offer some of the best hotel accommodation Clare has to offer. The River Lodge Health & Fitness Club includes a Swimming pool, Gymnasium, Jacuzzi, Steam Room, Sauna along with four Beauty Treatment rooms, and is one of the most modern leisure facilities in the West of Ireland. Diners can enjoy traditional or continental cuisine at the Oyster restaurant. Tailor Quigleys Bar serves food all day and at night you can often enjoy a music session with many of County Clare's well known musicians. The Auburn Lodge Hotel in Clare is an ideal base for touring Bunratty, th Burren, Aillwee Caves and the Cliffs of Moher (20 minutes). Convenient to all local golf courses including Lahinch Golf Links Course. Shannon International Airport is just 15km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auburn Lodge Hotel And Leisure Centre
Auburn Hotel Ennis
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre Ennis, Ireland - County Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing