We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I have just recently stayed at the Auburn lodge on the 30/03 for two night’s with the recommendation of a friend. We got a great deal, the room was lovely clean , modern with everything that we needed. The double bed was huge, the staff were very friendly and accommodating and the residents bar stays open late. We asked for a number for a restaurant in town we had been recommended (Seasons 52) which was great value for money and the food was exceptional in value and also taste. It was no problem for the receptionist to book us a table and order us a taxi and even come into the bar to let us now the taxi was there. The leisure centre is clean and well maintained. The hotel is located about 30 to 40 mins drive to the cliffs of Mohar with Lehinch on the way which is well worth a visit. The receptionist allowed us a late check out and also wrote us down directions to get to Lehinch. We were recommended the carvery at the hotel but we didn't have time. I would definitely recommend this hotel and come back again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paula1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrelandICH, General Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Thank you for your lovely review and I'm delighted to you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Yolande Nieman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (967)
There are newer reviews for Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

752 - 758 of 968 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed at the auburn lodge Hotel in Clare from the 16th to 17th of March, we came accross it online and it looked nice and had a good rate. The images used on there web site were not really misleading but not really accurate..
The decor in the hotel lobby was nice and uptodate, but once you leave there its like a step back in time to the 80's.. bad lighting in the hallways dark wooden trim and doors and same inside the rooms. Normally when staying in a hotel you always notice how hot it is in the halls and rooms...not so much here..it was so cold in the room we had to use a second duvet, the central heating in the room gets turned off at 10pm ??

We had one eve meal free with our package which was really nice but service was very slow and it was not because they were busy. The staff were really nice and helpful but it looks like the hotel is running on min staff, 1 person working at the bar on St. Patricks night?? took a while to get a drink.
We had planned to stay for an extra night but that changed after the first night sadly.
This hotel appeals to the much older couples 65+

Room Tip: Try get one of the newer rooms..
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank logginsirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrelandICH, Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Thanks for the review. It is very disappointing to hear your comments. We always welcome both positive and negative feedback from clients. The Auburn Lodge Hotel will continue to upgrade and improve service and standard in the bedrooms and all other areas within the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Situated on the edge of Ennis, this hotel has seen better days. Some rooms are modern and clean, but the rest are dingy and dated. The food is nothing special, and the barman takes an age to realise he has a customer. The TV reception in the rooms and bar is dreadful and would freeze or completely lose signal several times per night. Its one shining light is its fitness centre which, although small, is very clean and welcoming.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 16,024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrelandICH, Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Thanks for the review. The Auburn Lodge Hotel is constantly improving the quality and service provided in all areas. The Auburn Lodge Hotel has full Leisure facilities, Car Parking on site, WIFI throughout the entire hotel, Conference and Wedding Suites along with other Meeting Rooms. All clients and specific requirements are catered for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

my boyfriend and I stayed here with our three children. we got a great deal. the food and leisure facilities are excellent. Our room was cold when we arrived and the water was cold. we rang down and within the hour the problem was solved! The bar staff could do with smiling as The hotel was not very busy. the receptionist and the housekeeper staff were very helpful with any queries we had. The selection available for breakfast was nothing special, just the basics! it was great value for money. we also got free pass tickets for the barneys activity building next door! We will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eireen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrelandICH, Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Thanks for the review. It is great to hear the positive feedback from clients. The Auburn Lodge Hotel is constantly improving the quality and service provided in all areas. Come and enjoy your own experience while staying at the Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

had dinner there not so long ago it was fab nice food cooked well is what everbody should get when eating out.
After when my husband an i inquired about the leisure centre from the receptionist who was on duty, (who was very helpful,)
she seemed to be very busy but still took the time to deal with my inquiry which i appreciated
in my opinion its good staff that makes a good hotel...
i will be back

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sdillon076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrelandICH, Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Thanks for the review. It is great to hear the positive feedback from clients. The Auburn Lodge Hotel is constantly improving the quality and service provided in all areas. The Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre is an ideal base for visitng Ennis Town and touring the many wonders of County Clare & the West of Ireland. All are Welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

My boyfriend and I got a great two night deal to stay here. I did check Trip Advisor before our trip so I was sceptical arriving and I'm glad I did otherwise I would have been very disappointed. Our room was so plain and lifeless, some art work would have made all the difference and our concrete view left us with no desire to open the curtains in the morning.

The leisure centre is what makes the hotel a 3***. It is faultless. It's clean, modern facilities (such as a swimsuit drier) are such a contrast to the rest of the hotel so needless to say we spent a lot of time in the pool! The walk to the pool is an interesting experience as the closer you get to the pool the better the rooms get, as in they do a full circle. I'm not sure if it's luck whether you get one of these rooms or they can be requested but I would recommend trying it.

No doubt the staff are friendly but the receptionist we spoke to was so uninformed on Claire. We asked directions to get to somewhere in the Burren and her response was 'Oh I'm not from here' and the next lady said 'Why would you be going there, it's just rocks', and she then proceeded to tell us directions to Father Teds house instead! Not exactly the attitude we were expecting.

I wouldn't stay here again but it wasn't an awful experience, staff are friendly, the leisure centre is superb and we loved the 'rocks'!

Room Tip: Request the rooms beside the leisure centre.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WiseOwl_0902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrelandICH, Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Thanks for the review. It is very disappointing to hear your comments. We always welcome both positive and negative feedback from clients. The Auburn Lodge Hotel will continue to upgrade and improve service and standard in the bedrooms and all other areas within the hotel. The Auburn Lodge Hotel has full Leisure facilities, Car Parking on site, WIFI throughout the entire hotel, Conference and Wedding Suites along with other Meeting Rooms. All clients and specific requirements are catered for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

My husband booked us a night away in the Auburn Lodge a few weeks ago. It's in a good location just outside Ennis on the Galway Road. We were checked in very quickly, our room was located at the back of the hotel on the ground floor. It was very spacious, clean and nicely decorated, the bathroom was the same. We had a drink in the bar before dinner, the bar is nice and big and it has a lounge area aswel. The only thing was the bar area was quite cold, as if they had air con on and there was no need for it. We had dinner in the restaurant and to be honest it was only average, we were a little disappointed with it. We headed back to the bar for a drink afterwards and there was live music, the musician was very good. Breakfast was fine but there could be more on offer they just had the basics. We went for a swim after breakfast, the pool area & changing area were spotless. They have a nice Jacuzzi, steam room & sauna. All in all the hotel was very nice, our room was lovely, food a little disappointing , good location and good value for money, and if your a Guinness drinker your in the right spot . Would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CiDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrelandICH, Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Thanks for the review. It is great to hear the positive feedback from our return clients. The Auburn Lodge Hotel endeavours to make all customers to have an enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
2.6 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
466 reviews
2.4 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
833 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
5.9 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre

Address: Galway Road, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range: £50 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 Star Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre is one of the leading Ennis Hotels which is famed for its traditional music and warm hospitality. The rooms at the Auburn Lodge Hotel Ennis are furnished with your comfort in mind and offer some of the best hotel accommodation Clare has to offer. The River Lodge Health & Fitness Club includes a Swimming pool, Gymnasium, Jacuzzi, Steam Room, Sauna along with four Beauty Treatment rooms, and is one of the most modern leisure facilities in the West of Ireland. Diners can enjoy traditional or continental cuisine at the Oyster restaurant. Tailor Quigleys Bar serves food all day and at night you can often enjoy a music session with many of County Clare's well known musicians. The Auburn Lodge Hotel in Clare is an ideal base for touring Bunratty, th Burren, Aillwee Caves and the Cliffs of Moher (20 minutes). Convenient to all local golf courses including Lahinch Golf Links Course. Shannon International Airport is just 15km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auburn Lodge Hotel And Leisure Centre
Auburn Hotel Ennis
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre Ennis, Ireland - County Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing