We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked my room but staff need training!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Letterkenny, Ireland
2 reviews
“Liked my room but staff need training!”
Reviewed 23 October 2012

I went there in September for 2 nights, lovely reception area bar. Long walk to room but that was fine. Room was fine nothing extra, ordinary cant say i found a smell like others did mines was fine. Hard beds all the same , some people will like that me not so much. some staff where friendly not all might i say. Now for parts i didnt like..
Breakfast on both nights not good and im not fussy with food, eggs i couldnt even eat. Milk containers for the cereal must not of been cleaned out correctly both mornings as there was a thick blob of creamed milk came on to my cereals ( o that so turns me off). I was at a party booking in the hotel and they just didnt seem to be ready for us coming at all. was no one in the bar when we arrived and was only 1 then 2 serving but a few more came to serve after a while. When we were called in for dinner they where defo not ready for the main party to arrive in as we where sitting at tables for a good wee while. Now some unforeseen situations did happen so i have allowed extra time for this as it could not be helped. timing between each course was some time. Meal was just ok but I was taking to people that did not enjoy food at all. Dessert now you could do better I think. Tea and coffee is always after the meal right, right for some people that could stop a waitress and ask them for a cup. some young waitress was running around with a big pot of tea or coffee after meal. did we have cups NO! did we get a Cup, NO! Very badly organised 1 girl going around i only saw 2 tables getting tea or coffee. and they had to stop waitress going passed when she was giving out cups and she didnt even return with more cups but i did see her passing 3-4 times with a pot and seeing no cups. Get staff organised people! With breakfast the next day was not up to too much it wasnt a great experience for me. I sadly say i will not recommend this hotel to others and i will not be returning to it.

Room Tip: If you do stay at this hotel , I would eat else where. there is an amazing pizza place in the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrelandICH, Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
It is unfortunate you came across numerous issues with the hotel. Any error or problem which occurs at the hotel, they are taken care of immediately and noted the same does not happen in the future. Staff training has been implemented, all menu's have been changed and prices accorrdingly. The Auburn Lodge Hotel will continue to upgrade and improve service and standard in all areas within the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    320
    180
    126
    93
See reviews for
243
386
48
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

stayed there last month for a wedding really enjoyed it .we were attending a wedding there, lovely friendly staff ,the receptionist was very nice and was great chatting with... the room was tidy even got a late check out the next day which was much needed after the night before :)..my hushand an i really enjoyed our stay i would like to stay again very relaxing ..we will return x

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdillon076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrelandICH, Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
The Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre is located just outside of Ennis Town in a quiet and peaceful area. Short walks nearby along with all local amenities, attractions and Golf Courses. Shannon International Airport 15km.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Cork
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Stayed in the Auburn lodge last week for 2 nights. Cannot understand all the bad reviews I had no problem with it, now some areas could do with a lick of paint. The room was fine nice and clean. The breakfast was good it was self service with plenty of selection. We ate in the restaurant one night there were 6 of us and everybody was happy with their meal . The leisure centre is lovely the pool is nice and warm. Its a good distance from Ennis town too far to walk. The staff were lovely would not hesitate in going there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASTRA5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrelandICH, Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Thanks for the review. It is great to hear the positive feedback from clients. Come and enjoy your own experience while staying at the Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre.Any request is never too big to deal with at the Auburn Lodge Hotel - just ask! We are hear to help and make your stay more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

The Auburn Lodge is an average experience, hotel reception staff were friendly and help full as was the staff in the restaurant on the friday night,
The decor of the bar is a bit tired and dated, the lack of a decent coffee as the machine was broken was disappointing I ended up walking a mile to get a take away coffee!
The pool facility is good for the kids and they enjoyed it
For what we paid u could not expect much more i suppose

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daithimacliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrelandICH, Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Thanks for the review. It is great to hear the positive feedback from clients. The Auburn Lodge Hotel is constantly improving the quality and service provided in all areas. Try our Coffee now from our new state of the art Coffee Machine. All are Welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

I was a member of a tour and unfortunately this was rated in the bottom third of the hotels we stayed at. It was very spacious (7 metres x 4 metres) but the decor and furniture was quite dated which was disappointing. Lots and lots of rooms so the place was a bit of a maze. Nevertheless the food at breakfast was good.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Geremiahc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrelandICH, General Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Dear Geremiahc

Thank you for your review and we appreciate the feedback. In terms of the hotel being dated I will bring your feedback to the directors who are currently putting in place a plan to improve / modernise the rooms.
I'm delighted you enjoyed our breakfast and this is something that we pride ourselves in, offering guests a good hearty traditional Irish breakfast.

Yours sincerely
Yolande Nieman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Four of uswent to this Hotel 2 from Dublin, 1 from Austeralia and 1 from Germany. we all said we would not go there again as service was very poor at times. breakfast was cold and service was very bad. The staff kept forgetting to bring orders and thats when you could find staff. also the hotel book in the room said entertainment most but we atayed 3 nights and there was none. we asked staff and was told there was some on friday night so we stayed in but there was only the tv in the bar.

Room Tip: Ask for 1 near the front as the back rooms can be a long walk on the and a lot of the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justmeDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrelandICH, General Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Dear justmeDublin_Ireland

Thank you for your review and I appreciate the feedback in order to improve our services to our guests. I apologise that you found your breakfast to be cold and service poor and I have spoken to the respective department in order to ensure this doesn't happen again.
With regards to entertainment in the hotel, during the summer the hotel does offer entertainment on a regular basis. However, out of season we would provide entertainment on Saturday nights. During busy times or fesitivals the hotel also offers entertainment on other days and I apologise that you didn't experience this during your stay.

Once again my apologies about your disappointing stay in the Auburn Lodge Hotel. With your feedback I will ensure that we will move this forward as a team to ensure we offer a better service to future guests.

Yours sincerely
Yolande Nieman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Toured Ireland September 2012.
Stayed in 7 different hotels around the island.
This was the worst one by far.
Non smoking room smelled... I am not sure of what.
Musty, smoke, body odour??
Black mould on bathroom ceiling
Beds hard and uncomfortable.
Hair dryer did not work properly
Terrible soap/shampoo
Just overall not a good place.
I see it is ranked #3 of 9 in Ennis.
I shudder to think of how bad the other 2 are.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you sign up for it. You may go someplace else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeatherT40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrelandICH, General Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Dear HeatherT40

Thank you for your review and I hope you enjoyed your trip around Ireland. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us in the Auburn Lodge Hotel.

All our rooms in the hotel are non smoking however it is extremely difficult to control when people do decide to smoke in the rooms. We have since implemented a system whereby guests are charged if they smoke in their rooms to cover the cost of the hotel to try and get the room to its original smoke free state.
The mould on the bathroom ceiling has been rectified by our maintenance department. The hairdryers that we have in the hotel are of hotel standard. They are not as powerful as a home hairdryer but all our hairdryers are checked on a monthly basis to ensure they are in working order.

The Auburn Lodge Hotel does strive to ensure that all its customers leave having had a great experience and I apologise that you did not experience this.

Sincerely
Yolande Nieman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ennis hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
2.6 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
447 reviews
2.4 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
821 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
5.9 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre

Property: Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
Address: Galway Road, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 Star Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre is one of the leading Ennis Hotels which is famed for its traditional music and warm hospitality. The rooms at the Auburn Lodge Hotel Ennis are furnished with your comfort in mind and offer some of the best hotel accommodation Clare has to offer. The River Lodge Health & Fitness Club includes a Swimming pool, Gymnasium, Jacuzzi, Steam Room, Sauna along with four Beauty Treatment rooms, and is one of the most modern leisure facilities in the West of Ireland. Diners can enjoy traditional or continental cuisine at the Oyster restaurant. Tailor Quigleys Bar serves food all day and at night you can often enjoy a music session with many of County Clare's well known musicians. The Auburn Lodge Hotel in Clare is an ideal base for touring Bunratty, th Burren, Aillwee Caves and the Cliffs of Moher (20 minutes). Convenient to all local golf courses including Lahinch Golf Links Course. Shannon International Airport is just 15km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auburn Lodge Hotel And Leisure Centre
Auburn Hotel Ennis
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre Ennis, Ireland - County Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing