We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent stay but rude receptionist” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Decent stay but rude receptionist”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

I've just returned from a one night stay at Auburn Lodge where 7 of us stayed the night. You get what you expect there considering the good value price paid, nothing special.

The stay had worked out well and we were all happy until it came to checkout. We were staying on a B&B package and had signed some sandwiches on to the room the day before. When we went to checkout we were told we owed €60 and were never presented with a print out of the bill.

I've been to many hotels of various classes all over the world and have always received a print out of the bill for me to check before paying. We queried what was costing this amount and it was found that a meal had been signed to our room by someone else. We queried that we did not consume this food to which was met by a response by the very rude and abrupt receptionist called Nuala "well it's on your room". I asked to see the signature and it was a completely different name to any of our 7 names, of which they had all of on their system. So a simple check by them and they would have seen that that person was not staying in that room.

Nuala eventually, very reluctantly, took this off our bill but left us all feeling that we "got away with it" even though we had nothing to get away with it. I wouldn't recommend this hotel as they don't trust their guests and most worryingly it seems very easy for someone to sign something on to your room. I wouldn't like to think people have to battle a very rude receptionist like Nuala when they are checking out after a nice stay but leave with a sour taste in their mouths after something like that happens.

It could have been handled in a nice manner very easily by Nuala realising it was a mistake and offering an apology but it was her attitude in dealing with it and lack of apology (at the end of the day it was the hotel's fault) that made it worse than it needed to be.

Customer service at its very worst.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    304
    159
    119
    86
See reviews for
225
362
42
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenmare, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

A fine hotel. Staff are friendly and very nice to deal with. Met a lovely woman called Tania and she was brilliant looked after all our needs. I would go back again just Brilliant and the food was fab too.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noirin1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paddy in Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

This hotel is perfect for families with young kids. The pool in the leisure centre is great and has a separate kids pool too. The changing room facilities are great too and include a nappy changing area and a play pen to put younger kids in while you are getting changed. The best thing though is this hotels kids club. You can have a lovely adult only dinner in their restaurant while they give the kids their dinner in the purpose built playroom supervised by hotel staff. It's so nice. They also provide a babysitting service that's only €10 an hour which I think is great value. My husband and I had a lovely dinner and then a few drinks in the bar while listening to the live music on there while our son was asleep in the room with the babysitter. It was lovely to have even a few hours to ourselves on our little holiday. The staff are lovely in the hotel as well. They are all so friendly. There's also a lovely lobby area with an open fire where you can sit with a drink and the paper. Lovely. The hotel is very clean and the food in the restaurant is really nice. I knocked off a star as the mattress on the double bed in our room was totally fecked. The springs were all gone on one side of it. I decided not to complain as I just slept in the other single bed while hubby slept on the good side of the double so it didn't really impact our stay. Also we got bar food on the first night. I ordered garlic mushrooms for 4.95 and it was literally 5 small mushrooms arranged in a circle around the plate with some salad in the middle. Felt a bit ripped off on that one!! I'll definitely be going back though to stay here again.

Room Tip: There's no lift so ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paddy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Clare, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

We had a civil ceremony in the auburn lodge and we had such a lovely day all of the staff were fantastic. They looked after everything.
Kiara; The girls and I stayed the night before and got ready at the hotel with hair and makeup coming to us. The hotel had no problem with anything we needed (even arranging my mother's electric wheelchair to be picked up and delivered!) I thought the ceremony would be stressful to arrange (with a HSE registrar and all of their rules) but again Ann Marie just said relax we'll take care of it... and they did, it was perfect. Afterwards our guests had drinks in the private bar while we had some photos taken (all taken on hotel grounds and look beautiful) At dinner everything was absolutely perfect. My husband is a picky chef and he was delighted with it :) Again no request was too much, a few of our guests told me afterwards that they had chicken which wasn't on the menu! The lady serving us was lovely and like the rest of the staff seemed really genuinely excited for us. We were delighted with the hotel right up to breakfast in bed the following morning and the beautiful thoughtful gift left in our room by the hotel. If you're a bride looking for you're venue, I highly recommend the Auburn Lodge.
Sean; We had a great day, so did our guests. Anyone who stayed were impressed with their rooms and the food was tasty with good portion size. The hotel staff from the cleaners to the managers were great everytime we visited in the run up and on the day and I know Kiara felt better knowing Ann Marie was on the case. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KiaraOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkee, Ireland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

had a very lovely lunch in the auburn lodge they were fairly busy at lunchtime the menu was great value a lovely homemade burger for €9.50 and a lovely cheesecake for €3.50 this was a very nice meal very busy

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
326 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Our room was okay - Down a long and winding hallway that could be fun if you can ride on your baggage. We had a bite in the pub and it was pretty good although the service was virtually non-existent because there was a match on. Another one night stay - In hindsight we ought to have kept driving.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank itchyfeetRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Just spend 2 nights in auburn lodge found the hotel very good, rooms were fine, ate in the dining room and had bar food second nite, food in both were very good as was the service it was also very good value for money, it was great to have the use of the leisure centre, i have to give credit to the staff of auburn lodge they were brilliant, everyone one of them that we dealt with from receptionists, dinning, bar, leisure centre and the girls doing the rooms were helpfull, friendly and accommodating, would def stay there again

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor with window facing the garden it was nice and quiet there
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patsy201433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
2.6 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
2.4 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
6.0 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre

Property: Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
Address: Galway Road, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 Star Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre is one of the leading Ennis Hotels which is famed for its traditional music and warm hospitality. The rooms at the Auburn Lodge Hotel Ennis are furnished with your comfort in mind and offer some of the best hotel accommodation Clare has to offer. The River Lodge Health & Fitness Club includes a Swimming pool, Gymnasium, Jacuzzi, Steam Room, Sauna along with four Beauty Treatment rooms, and is one of the most modern leisure facilities in the West of Ireland. Diners can enjoy traditional or continental cuisine at the Oyster restaurant. Tailor Quigleys Bar serves food all day and at night you can often enjoy a music session with many of County Clare's well known musicians. The Auburn Lodge Hotel in Clare is an ideal base for touring Bunratty, th Burren, Aillwee Caves and the Cliffs of Moher (20 minutes). Convenient to all local golf courses including Lahinch Golf Links Course. Shannon International Airport is just 15km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auburn Lodge Hotel And Leisure Centre
Auburn Hotel Ennis
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre Ennis, Ireland - County Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing