We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten track but great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track but great value!”
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on a deal with evening meal ... It was good nice hotel nothing fancy food was very good. Staff were friendly and there was great Craic in the bar til all hours!!! We would stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaikai5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    318
    175
    124
    91
See reviews for
239
383
47
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Not a bad hotel, does exactly what it says on the thin i.e its advertised as a 3 star and that’s the service it gives. I found the rooms to be fairly spacious and the sleep quality not too bad. Walls are a bit thin on the ground level and I did notice some noise traveling from other rooms.
In room features were adequate for a 3 star hotel. ( to be honest we didnt spend alot of time in the rooms so I couldn't say if my opinion would be more negatively impacted change if I was there for a longer term.)

Hotel layout internal feels more like a nursing home or old hospital. Wonder if the hotel has such a role previous.

Receptionists were hit and miss. Some friendly, some are not. There was a young girl on reception at the weekend that was particularly friendly. The rest, well, were a little bit grumpy.

Town centre is about 5 minutes away by taxi and it costs about 8 euro to get there.

I just used this hotel to rest my head during my travels so cant give a more detailed insight.However for that purpose, all in all, a not terrible average 3 star.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyBigMistake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traralgon, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
572 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 862 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The room met my needs as a traveller, giving me a bed to sleep in after a long day of tours. However, it does have a rabbit warren feeling to this hotel. The gardens were nice, the staff were pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystalline4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We were a little disappointed on check-in, which made us a little wary as to how the remainder of our break was going to progress. We felt we had to ask all the questions???...as we had never stayed here before naturally you expect the receptionist to be welcoming and informative...our receptionist was neither!
We booked our dinner on arrival (with reception?) and headed up to our room to freshen up and get ready for our dinner. On arriving at the restaurant we found they had no record of our booking? Thankfully they sorted this out quite promptly and we were shown to our table. Dinner was lovely and our waitress very friendly. The bar was very busy and lively!!!
Overall we had an enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Celtic2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Booked this hotel for 3 nights and it was a good choice. The hotel staff were very helpful and made the hotel very inviting. Breakfast was included in the deal and was excellent. good quality sausages and bacon.

The room we stayed in was to the back and was quiet enough overlooking the garden. The heating made the room a little overpowering at times but the strange thing was the corridors were really cold as was the bar area although we did use the bar as the food was lovely.

The leisure centre was great, if travelling as a couple it might be of interest that children are not admitted in the evening so it is quieter.

All in all this hotel is pretty good if the heat were turned up a bit in the winter time it would make it a bit better
TIP: I booked this hotel by using Trivago and the distance noted on the Trivago site is 1.3 km from the town. Google will tell you that its 1.9 km and i would agree with this one. The hotel is not within easy walking distance of the town, the road is busy even at 11 at night and can be quite dark. Take a taxi but it will cost about 8 euro

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank powerIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

I recently travelled here with my husband on a 2 night pigsback break. On arrival the receptionist was very pleasant and our check in went well. When we got to our room it was like walking into 1970 though! Very clean, but very old. We had massages booked in and we both thoroughly enjoyed them. The beautician was so professional and really good at her job. We are in the bar that night, which again was very nice. The choice for breakfast was small in comparison to most hotels, however, you still had choices of both hot/cold breakfasts. The breakfast staff were very pleasant. The leisure centre was nice, and most importantly clean!! I would return again, however, would like to see an updating of the room decor!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank deekk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

I've just returned from a one night stay at Auburn Lodge where 7 of us stayed the night. You get what you expect there considering the good value price paid, nothing special.

The stay had worked out well and we were all happy until it came to checkout. We were staying on a B&B package and had signed some sandwiches on to the room the day before. When we went to checkout we were told we owed €60 and were never presented with a print out of the bill.

I've been to many hotels of various classes all over the world and have always received a print out of the bill for me to check before paying. We queried what was costing this amount and it was found that a meal had been signed to our room by someone else. We queried that we did not consume this food to which was met by a response by the very rude and abrupt receptionist called Nuala "well it's on your room". I asked to see the signature and it was a completely different name to any of our 7 names, of which they had all of on their system. So a simple check by them and they would have seen that that person was not staying in that room.

Nuala eventually, very reluctantly, took this off our bill but left us all feeling that we "got away with it" even though we had nothing to get away with it. I wouldn't recommend this hotel as they don't trust their guests and most worryingly it seems very easy for someone to sign something on to your room. I wouldn't like to think people have to battle a very rude receptionist like Nuala when they are checking out after a nice stay but leave with a sour taste in their mouths after something like that happens.

It could have been handled in a nice manner very easily by Nuala realising it was a mistake and offering an apology but it was her attitude in dealing with it and lack of apology (at the end of the day it was the hotel's fault) that made it worse than it needed to be.

Customer service at its very worst.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ennis hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
2.6 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
420 reviews
2.4 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
807 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
5.9 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre

Property: Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
Address: Galway Road, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 Star Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre is one of the leading Ennis Hotels which is famed for its traditional music and warm hospitality. The rooms at the Auburn Lodge Hotel Ennis are furnished with your comfort in mind and offer some of the best hotel accommodation Clare has to offer. The River Lodge Health & Fitness Club includes a Swimming pool, Gymnasium, Jacuzzi, Steam Room, Sauna along with four Beauty Treatment rooms, and is one of the most modern leisure facilities in the West of Ireland. Diners can enjoy traditional or continental cuisine at the Oyster restaurant. Tailor Quigleys Bar serves food all day and at night you can often enjoy a music session with many of County Clare's well known musicians. The Auburn Lodge Hotel in Clare is an ideal base for touring Bunratty, th Burren, Aillwee Caves and the Cliffs of Moher (20 minutes). Convenient to all local golf courses including Lahinch Golf Links Course. Shannon International Airport is just 15km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auburn Lodge Hotel And Leisure Centre
Auburn Hotel Ennis
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre Ennis, Ireland - County Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing