We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry would not stay here again”
Review of Banner Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Banner Lodge
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Reviewed 8 August 2011

There was no one to greet us when we arrived, just a phone number on the wall to ring and then wait for someone to arrive with a room key. There were no parking facilities and we ended up parking two streets away. I have to say the sheets were clean also the Bathroom, but the bedroom had not been dusted in a very long time. There was about 12 inches between the end of the bed and the wall, if you were a big person you would not squeeze through. I found the whole experience quite grim.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ganfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2011

From the moment we arrived in Banner Lodge, we loved the atmosphere, Paulette was amazing craic and so obliging. There is no doubt we will come back to Ennis as it is a mighty spot and the Banner Lodge is the only place we will ever stay... Nothing negative whatsoever.

Room Tip: The twin room(s) with separate bathroom offers privacy while sharing, best ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CorkKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2010

We spent the weekend in Ennis and had a great time. We were lucky to find the Banner lodge as its location is very central to the shops, pubs, restaurants & night life. No busy night life passing the windows late so we were able to sleep and get up early for our tour of the Burren & The Aillwee Caves. Being 20 minutes from the airport was great as we did not waste time travelling and estimating how long it would take us to drive. The B&B was clean and welcoming and the price was good. We will definitely be back as we got value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LondonNovember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Excellent facilities for a family of 4 travelling on a budget. Fantastic accommodation: the children loved that they had their own privacy from the adults but were still in the same room. Location was very central to tour around the countryside. Breakfast was great, especially when the children are such fussy eaters! The owner was great and couldn’t help enough. There was a lovely Pizza restaurant downstairs which was great and meant you could leave the car. Excellent value for money and I would highly recommend to anyone travelling with children.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scot72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

This hotel is in the town center its rooms are spacious clean and comfy.We have stayed in this hotel before and we will be staying again the next time we visit Ennis

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chicken10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

When we arrived at 1:30 in the afternoon, there was no one in the hotel, and no one answered the telephone the sign told us to use to get help. We went back an hour later and still the same story. We finally went to the tourist office and they found someone. At 3:15 a guy showed up and told us breezily that he had been out taking along break, which we should undertand was sensible, because he would be stuck there on the job for the rest of the day. It took about three icy stares from us and a couple of times saying that it was pretty inconvenient for us before it dawned on him that he should say he was sorry. The room was dingy, the bed sagged toward the middle and the pillows felt like they were stuffed with damp newspapers. In the middle of the night (around 4 or 5 am) there was a lot of noise from a group of people on the street--presumably at the pub--shouting and laughing. We did not take breakfast. Later we saw a number of decent-looking B&B's for the same price with breakfast. Ennis is a cute, pelasant town--a good choice to stay if you're flyng out of Shannon. Banner Lodge is not cute or pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Newyorker10027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

If you are looking for sumptious surroundings and luxury move on, I you want value for money this is for you. We stayed at Banner Lodge in June 2010 for a weekend of food, drink and laughter, and we werent disappointed. We were greeted with a friendly smile and the host couldnt be more helpful. Bedrooms were clean and ideal for us. Banner Lodge is a perfect location in a small friendly market town. 72 pubs/restaurants make it ideal for a boys weekend away. Also a perfect base to visit Lahinch, Cliffs of Moher etc, etc. The only downside is that breakfast wasn't included but there are ample cafes nearby. Great Value Hotel and would definately return.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ennis hotels
6.7 mi away
Old Ground Hotel
Old Ground Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,659 reviews
8.1 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
6 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
861 reviews
7 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
7.9 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banner Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banner Lodge

Address: The Market Square, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range: £33 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Banner Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banner Lodge Ennis, Ireland - County Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing