We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Happy”
Review of Banner Lodge

Banner Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Banner Lodge
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Happy”
Reviewed 29 March 2010

Stayed in Banner Lodge For the weekend and found it very suitable.We found this hotel great value for money in a great location central to shops and restarants,We had a family room that was clean and spacious,found staff very nice and friendly and they even provided hot choclate for the kids tea and coffee was also available.The restarant downstairs also provided us with beautiful food and again value for money.We will definitly be using this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chicken10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    15
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
7
19
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2010

Arrived at Lodge and attempted to phone the staff to check-in with no answer for 30 minutes. Once checked in I sat on the bed, it was rock solid as was the pillow. There was no head in the building until the night, which left the room frigid during the day. Attempted to contact staff to ask about the heat via phone for 2 hours with no joy. No coffee/tea service in the rooms. Lighting made the room feel similar to a medevil dungeon. The room was very clean as was the rest of the building.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mphillip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ennis hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Galway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2010

Not my choice to stay here and would NOT recommend it. Front door remains open until 1-2am, despite the fact guests being given the key. It is located next to two takeaways and a number of pubs and comes with the scary prospect of revellers wandering into the building at any time of day or night. Noticed another review had a Man U jersey stolen, not surprised given that level of security.

It is a hodge podgy of dark, dreary furniture in the hallway and bedroom. The bedroom smelled both musty and greasy (no doubt from the attached takeaway), had no kettle or hairdryer which are standard in most places now. Bathroom floor had worn, dirty lino and the equivalent of a "tea light" in one of the lights. When I asked for the blown bulb to be replaced in the other light I was told it would be, but it wasn't (maybe best that I couldn't see the full extent of the grime).

Cost €33 for room, with breakfast an additional €7.50 and no parking available. Friends who were attending the same event got lovely B&B's for €40 with delicious breakfasts, secure parking, kettle, hairdryer and iron. Quite a scary place to be honest and I did my stomach a favour by having breakfast in one of the lovely cafes that abound in Ennis.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Tyrone
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

We were more than pleased with the Banner Lodge - cheap as chips, friendly and all that but then, my son's brand new Manchester United football shirt mysteriously went missing from his room - never to be found. Now that really spoilt our holiday. It really is a sad state of affairs when people you are trusting can't leave your items alone!! Won't be going back and will certainly now not be recommending this place. I feel really bad as we checked everywhere - yet no real assistance was given! I know we are in a recession but come on!!

Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank CountyTyroneLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donegal
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2008

well its a lovely clean place to say but the man himself was lovely but there was no air con n i was sick as a dog because i couldn't breath they were wee small rooms with you double bed in it.... i can't fault the people runnin it tho they were lovely :)

  • Liked — the people who own it
  • Disliked — the rooms to small
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank twin121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2005

If you are on a tight budget, and you need a no-frills, reasonably clean place to rest your head in the middle of Ennis town, this place may be suitable. With a single room priced at 35 euro for bed and breakfast, you can't really argue with the price - 10 or 15 euro cheaper than the standard. This somewhat bizarre guesthouse is situated above some kind of pub/restaurant that is undergoing renovations - I looked through the window downstairs and saw a lot of rubble. You book a room by picking up a phone in a little hall at the side of the building, and then you are instructed to come upstairs. When I was there there were two women of moderate friendliness working there. They don't exactly roll out the red carpet, but they have a certain subdued charm. The upstairs landing is surprisingly plush with a mock victorian feel. My room was small, quite cosy with a telly, desk,ensuite shower and wc. It is not the sort of place to swing a cat, or a hamster. They have tea-making facilities down the corridor.
The bed was as lumpy as boarding school porridge, and I could not really sleep all that well. The traffic noise didn't help.
Breakfast was rather good, although the milk for the cereal appeared to be a little sour. I brought this to the attention of the woman on duty; she wasn't exactly apologetic and insisted it was fresh from the carton; but she brought me some fresh milk, nevertheless. Curiously, she seemed a lit bit more friendly after my sour milk complaint.
One of the benefits of this quirky establishment is that is near the centre of Ennis, while plusher guest houses are on the outskirts, which are not very attractive. It is only a hop, skip and a jump away from the pubs and the Old Ground hotel, where I enjoyed a fine supper. Fortified with a few pints of Guinness, you might be inclined to ignore its foibles.

Helpful?
8 Thank kpbdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ennis hotels
0.1 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
0.2 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
0.2 mi away
Rowan Tree Hostel
Rowan Tree Hostel
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banner Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banner Lodge

Property: Banner Lodge
Address: The Market Square, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Banner Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banner Lodge Ennis, Ireland - County Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing