We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to town shame about the noise”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Railway View House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Railway View House
Ranked #11 of 35 Ennis B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Close to town shame about the noise”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Denis was helpful and location is within easy walking distance to the town centre. Our room was number 2 . The mattress an pillows were not up to standard expected. The bed squeaked every time you rolled over and the fan from the adjoining room's shower was very noisy. Breakfast was average. Would not stay again and wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darkie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    15
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
21
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We found Kathleen and her family a wonderful hostess. Location is convenient to County Clare attractions and Shannon Airport. Kept missing the lane into the B&B off Tulia Road while getting familiar with driving on the left and shifting gears with my left hand. We enjoyed breakfast and made use of the lovely sitting room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisitian_Supporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Denis and Kathleen were hospitable and patient as we prepared ourselves and our hired bikes for a tour of the south west of Ireland. Our room was good and breakfast excellent, although there wasn't quite enough seating for all at one time. Railway View House is well positioned relative to the town centre.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

I spent six wonderdays with Denis and Kathleen at Railway View House. They treated me like a member of the family and nothing was too much trouble. My room and facilities were superb, the location very quiet and the breakfast sumptuous. As I was cycling for a week Kathleen took the trouble to give me a large bowl of porridge to start with each morning. The house is a short distance from Ennis and its many restaurants and pubs, a delightful town. If in the same locality again I wouild always stay at Railway View House.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

I've stayed here many times over the years, and it's still my first choice of place to stay in Ennis. I've always been most comfortable here, and Kathleen and Denis are excellent hosts. I love the location, set back off the main road so there's no traffic noise, but just a 15-minute walk from Ennis town centre. It's great if you're traveling without a car, as I usually do--but there's also a large parking area well off the street for those driving. The rooms are spotless, the dining-room well laid-out and appointed, and the breakfasts ample for this traveler. What more could one ask from a B & B?

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brookline1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Traveling couple w/ two children. This was the largest room we had the pleasure of spending a night in through our travels in Ireland.

We arrived later in the evening & were warming greeted by Kathleen. She was so very kind to us, especially our children---which was a very nice touch.

We were only there overnight and for an early breakfast and then had to leave for more traveling.

The breakfast was very good. The coffee served at breakfast was the best I had in two weeks in Ireland and England.

The property was clean, inviting, and spacious and the gardens were gorgeous.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

Railroad View B&B was a great place. We didn’t have many reservations on our 10 day trip around Ireland – so when we got to Ennis and many of the B&B’s close to town were full – we were thinking we may have to stay in a more expensive hotel room. We drove out of town and ran across this B&B. It’s a little ways away from center of town, but completely walkable. Lovely B&B – the hostess couldn’t have been nicer. Great room – great breakfast. Great music and conversations with locals (or long-lost relatives?) made our night and made Ennis one of our favorite stops.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsmbridget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ennis hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
1.1 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ardilaun Guesthouse
Ardilaun Guesthouse
#7 of 35 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railway View House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railway View House

Property: Railway View House
Address: Tulla Road, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on secluded, wooded grounds in the heart of Ennis town just 8 minutes walk to the town centre, Railway View House is a purpose-built bed and breakfast with six guest rooms and quality breakfasts. Hosts Kathleen Cahill and her husband Denis provide pleasing bed and breakfast accommodation in a quiet, residential setting. Railway View House is easy to reach by car and just a short walk into town. Kathleen is a sweet and kindly lady, pleased to dispense advice. Each of the six guest rooms are decorated in a relaxed, country-cottage motif, with wooden floors. Bedrooms are all en suite with power showers, TV and tea/coffee making facilities. There is a comfortable lounge also at your disposal with a TV and library should you feel the urge to unwind after your day's travel. Just fifteen minutes drive to Shannon Airport. Ennis provides the ideal stopover point on the first or last night in Ireland or as a base to explore all the wonderful sights the west of Ireland has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Railway View House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Railway View House Ennis, Ireland - County Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing